HTPC inside an old Tivo case - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2008, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pnkrckj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently completed a project to build a HTPC inside an old Tivo case. This provided the perfect compact size.

I used a ASUS P5N-EM HDMI nvidia nforce 7100 chipset with an E8400 C2D to run XBMC.

The link detailing the construction is in my signature.
LL
pnkrckj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-08-2008, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Morphyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More pictures please! Loos great. Where does the HDD disc go?
Morphyne is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
JustABDFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
+1 for good use of an old case, the environmentalists smile. You could probably use an 8gb flash drive to boot from and eliminate the HD if it supports booting from usb flash.
JustABDFan is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pnkrckj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It does not use a hard drive. Everything is loaded on a 4GB USB flash drive. All the media is played over an external hard drive attached to the network.

No hard drive makes it much quieter.

I tried to post a link to some more pictures, but I can't post links yet.
pnkrckj is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pnkrckj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pnkrckj is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 01:40 PM
Member
 
Eldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent project! I love the creative use of existing items.
Eldron is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 02:36 PM
Member
 
Cooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very Nice!
Cooch is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
mr007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pretty slick
mr007 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
JustABDFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nice setup you got there. a 360 and a wii, all you need now is a ps3 and you're set.
JustABDFan is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 04:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Morphyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are you doing with this machine? DVR? HD or SD? Also, I am assuming that you are running some flavor of linux since you are booting from a 4 gb flash drive.
Morphyne is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pnkrckj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its used for both HD and SD content as well as playing music. It was built primarily to handle 1080p content.

The machine runs XBMC on top of Ubuntu linux.
pnkrckj is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off