htpc ong distance away from screen and usb devices - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-22-2008, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
magron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heya -- was just looking into the possibilities to have the HTPC some distance away from the place where the screen and interaction devices would be. Now, just googling this stuff quickly it seem that both DVI and USB cables are quite limited and cant rally be used more than 5 meters away or such.

Has anyone made a setup where the HTPC might be 100 meters away (cable length) or such? How would one go about doing such? Is there noticable lag as USB (keyboard, mouse) signals travel to the HTPC and then "back" through the DVI cable?

thanks!
magron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 10-22-2008, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
bobn4burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Definitely possible. I have mine setup that way now. However...100 meters is a long ways away. Mine is currently about 35 feet away. You can get HDMI/DVI cables up to 100-150 feet or so (might need an active repeater/extension). I have my USB using 2 15 foot active repeater cables. However...you can only daisy chain so many usb active repeaters, so if you have to go a real long distance then you'd be better off getting a USB extender via cat5. You can get usb 1.1 extended a long ways with cat5 for 40 bucks or less. If you need usb 2.0...I think you still can, but it gets quite a bit more spendy for the extender.

Let me know if you have any other specific questions. Short answer...yes you can do it. You can easily and fairly cheaply do distances of 50 feet or less. If you need longer distances 100+ feet...you can still do it, but it starts to get spendy.
bobn4burton is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 10-23-2008, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
perpetual98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The active extenders are basically like powered USB hubs, kinda-sorta?
perpetual98 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 10-23-2008, 09:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
PaulKohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have used passive USB Extenders that use CAT 5 cable up to 50 feet without any problem (latency or otherwise).

Take a look at this site - while not the exact model I used, it is representative.

http://www.networktechinc.com/usbc5.html
PaulKohler is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off