Vista Codec Packs - Shark 007 - K-Lite - Good or Bad? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
T^2
Member
 
T^2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So are Codec Packs a good idea or not? Should you stay away from them or go for it? Why or why not? Should you just go with the How-to for FFDShow in this forum or what?
T^2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
People seem to be overall rabidly against codec packs. For me, I installed CCCP and everything worked and continues to work as smooth as silk. I suppose YMMV.

I suppose I could have just installed Ffdshow, Haali and whatever else on their own, but the codec pack was easier and worked well. I was prepared to redo my entire system if something went wrong. It didn't.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 1,967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I have used CCCP, with no real issues, but it does have alot on it, more than most need. I now use K-lite, which I am very happy with, and was very easy to set-up.
jdcrox is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
voranand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
K-Lite here too but installed CoreAVC seperately. Silky smooth from the beginning plus I can play MKV file in VMC without having to hack Windows registry.
voranand is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
sh1ft3rDtCom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I feel that a CLEAN install with a SINGLE codec pack is fine. I have had great results with KLite, including the x64 version.
sh1ft3rDtCom is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arrgh, codec packs, arrrrrrrgh *fume* *explode*

DO NOT TOUCH.
arfster is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 07:26 PM
Member
 
leonowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

Arrgh, codec packs, arrrrrrrgh *fume* *explode*

DO NOT TOUCH.

Agreed. It's best to always know what is being used in the filter chain while something is playing. It will save you headaches down the road.
leonowski is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nm88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 2,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

Arrgh, codec packs, arrrrrrrgh *fume* *explode*

DO NOT TOUCH.

Exactly.

These people mess up their systems with codec packs then wonder why things don't work right or why PQ isn't as good as it should be.

If you care about quality and reliability, don't install codec packs!
nm88 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 07:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was pleasantly surprised to discover after installing vista 64 bit, that 64 bit and 32 bit version of wmp11 played mpeg2 nativly as well as out put DTS to my receiver (though that may have been thanks to my p5q-em MB). It seemed to me mpeg2 playback PQ looked better on 64 bit version. Anyways, I installed 32/64 bit vista codecs from shark for my mkv's, avi's ect. but then decided against it and uninstalled both. I opened Graphedit x64 and played a mpeg2 but the path seems a little more convoluted now. Can someone tell me the default or simplest way the path should look? Or tell me how to post here my Graphedit path results? Is there a step I should take to assure no undesirable codec parts remain?
leiff is online now  
post #10 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nm88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 2,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post

Is there a step I should take to assure no undesirable codec parts remain?

Reformat, and don't make the same mistake again.

These codec packs can mess with the system settings in unpredictable ways which cannot be easily undone. That is one reason why you never install them if you care about your system.
nm88 is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 09:17 PM
Member
 
leonowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post

I was pleasantly surprised to discover after installing vista 64 bit, that 64 bit and 32 bit version of wmp11 played mpeg2 nativly as well as out put DTS to my receiver (though that may have been thanks to my p5q-em MB). It seemed to me mpeg2 playback PQ looked better on 64 bit version. Anyways, I installed 32/64 bit vista codecs from shark for my mkv's, avi's ect. but then decided against it and uninstalled both. I opened Graphedit x64 and played a mpeg2 but the path seems a little more convoluted now. Can someone tell me the default or simplest way the path should look? Or tell me how to post here my Graphedit path results? Is there a step I should take to assure no undesirable codec parts remain?

If you can find out the names of the .dll or .ax files for the filters, just unregister them with regsvr32 /u. There are some tools out there that can help you. In fact, I just found this:

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/DXMan.htm

It lists all the filters and lets you remove them. Just find out the names of the codecs installed by these packs (I'm sure there is a list of what they install somewhere) and use the utility to remove them.

Be careful - don't delete anything that you may need. To play it safe, you can simply unregister the file and not delete it. I'm not sure what this DXMan app does - unregister and delete or just unregister.
leonowski is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 10-29-2008, 11:11 PM
Member
 
jayntguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marietta, GA, USA
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shark007's is awesome. I can't imagine *not* using something like that. It has them all stripped down with config in one place, ffdshow, the works. Installing individual codecs and managing all that with every single one? Bleh.

-Jay
jayntguru is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 10-30-2008, 01:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
pacemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
you got me worried now i need codecs for avi support so i used vista codec pack and just installed the xvid codec
pacemaker is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 10-30-2008, 02:25 AM
Member
 
rhysevans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never install codec packs, all I install are the following, and i've never come across a file i could not play fine in WMP (or any other direct show app):

ffdshow
haali splitter
real alternative
quicktime alternative

might have missed one (not on the pc now) but i think thats it!
rhysevans is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 10-30-2008, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why install a codec pack? What's the point? Install only what you need.
arfster is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 10-30-2008, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, since I'm one of "these people" using a codec pack, I'll disagree. You don't see me on here complaining or asking for help.

Codec packs work and work well for a lot of people.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 10-30-2008, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

Why install a codec pack? What's the point? Install only what you need.

For me, simple 1-click trouble free installation and operation.

Then again, I may not be the kind of genius that frequents these forums. I attribute my success to the following:

I don't know any better--ignorance is bliss
I have no idea what good quality picture/audio is like
beginner's luck

So, for the ignorant like me, codec packs work. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 10-30-2008, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I once installed a KLite codec pack years ago on my XP and I regret it. Don't do it.

The only time you install codec pack is when you don't know what you are doing.

You will end up replacing some perfectly fine codecs in your OS and adding 3 or more flavors of codecs capable of decoding the same media.

If you still want to do it, at least setup a restore point using System Restore.
pixelation is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 10-30-2008, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or, like me when you do know what you're doing and want ease of setup. In all three recent instances, I installed the codec packs on brand new builds. I didn't have to fart around with anything other than getting the MPC-HT drivers for hardware acceleration. I'm sure there are a lot of people on here that would kill to have the same "problematic" experience that I did with the codec pack.

Although, I do agree that being prepared to undo the install is a good precaution.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 10-31-2008, 08:21 PM
Member
 
skrubol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nm88 View Post

Reformat, and don't make the same mistake again.

This often takes less time than figuring out which friggin' codec I need.

I've been haphazardly installing the K-lite codec pack on every PC I've needed to play a weird video on and haven't had a major problem yet (other than some filter I uninstalled randomly popping up when I manipulated video files.)
skrubol is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off