HD4650: few deinterlacing options/fan control - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2008, 03:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

i have installed this HD 4650.

After installing latest Hotfix drivers (CCC 8.10 Hotfix) i can only select Bob or Weave as deinterlacing option. Nothing changed after deinstallation of 8.10 and installatiion of 8.11RC1.

Then i applied those regtweaks:
Code:
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Control\\Video\\{FAC79B42-7125-47A3-B8B4-B9B2875AE150}\\0000]
"UseBT601CSC"="1"
"vforcedeint"="6"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Control\\Video\\{FAC79B42-7125-47A3-B8B4-B9B2875AE150}\\0001]
"UseBT601CSC"="1"
"vforcedeint"="6"
i have double checked if the regtweaks are really in there where they have to be. Reboot: Nothing changed.

Is there any more regtweak available to get the missing deinterlacing options?


Furthermore the fan control works well. Nevertheless, the minimum value, which i am able to adjust in CCC, is 20%. I cant find those fan settings in the registry - did a search for fan in the entire registry. Any hints? Is there a chance to go beyond 20% or is it really the minimum value?
topcaser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2008, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same card and also only see Bob and Weave deinterlacing modes. Haven't checked the fan control, since the card is virtually silent as it is (which is the main reason why I got this particular card, as there is no passive solution on the market that fits in my HTPC case).

Also, as I already wrote in the other 4600/4800 thread, the controls for denoising and sharpening are disabled under advanced settings. Is this the case for you as well?
Rigby Reardon is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 05:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you already posted the problem in another thread? Have you got a link for me?

Here, the deinterlacing options are also disabled. Did you had a look in the registry? There you can adjust the values manually. Maybe there is a trick, that you get it enabled in CCC.
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcaser View Post

Have you already posted the problem in another thread? Have you got a link for me?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post15005211
Quote:


Here, the deinterlacing options are also disabled. Did you had a look in the registry? There you can adjust the values manually. Maybe there is a trick, that you get it enabled in CCC.

Just to clarify: The deinterlacing slider in CCC works, but I can only select between Bob and Weave (but not the advanced adaptive modes). On the other hand, the sliders for Denoise and Sharpening under "Advanced Quality" are simply greyed out and cannot be operated at all. I would specifically like to turn off Denoise (which is activated with a value of 64 by default), but it's apparently not possible.

Whether there are any registry hacks to adjust the parameters, I don't know. I would rather have the possibility to adjust them in the user interface.
Rigby Reardon is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some stuff can only be adjusted in the registry for a long long time. I used to it anyway.

If you want to switch off denoise: open the registry editor, HKLM/System/CurrentControlSet/Control/Video//0000 and 0001/UMD/DXVA

Find there the denoise option and set in both 0000 and 0001 the min value to 0. Thats it.
Maybe there is also an entry which brings back the option to do it in CCC direcly. Ask Arfster, he is best known with this stuff.

Hope that helps.
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the registry tip!

Anyway, it's good to know that it's not just me. Hopefully it's just a bug in the Hotfix driver that causes these features to be disabled. The hardware of a 4650 should support them.
Rigby Reardon is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you opened a ticket @ATI for the deinterlacing stuff?
Which card do you have?
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcaser View Post

Did you opened a ticket @ATI for the deinterlacing stuff?

No. It doesn't bother me so much because I mostly use the HTPC for Blu-ray and HD-DVD playback where interlaced content is very rare. The forced denoising concerns me more, because I suspect it impacts picture quality.
Quote:


Which card do you have?

Exactly the same that you linked to in the first post.
Rigby Reardon is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
lstepnio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampa, Florida USA
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is just perfect. I have a HD4650 on it's way to replace my 7950GT due to unresolvable issues with 1080i playback with DXVA enabled. You guys running XP or Vista? I'll be installing the card on my XP based HTPC over the weekend.
lstepnio is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use dxva checker to set reg options, that way it's always in the right place.
arfster is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

Use dxva checker to set reg options, that way it's always in the right place.

Arfster, dont know, what you mean. Do you mean, that the lost deinterlacing options will come back by using dxva checker?

Quote:


Exactly the same that you linked to in the first post.

Some german guys reported no problems at all with deinterlacing options, but they have another vendor (HIS). That you have the same problems as me points to a VGA BIOS problem
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcaser View Post

Arfster, dont know, what you mean. Do you mean, that the lost deinterlacing options will come back by using dxva checker?


Dunno - depends if you're putting the reg keys in the right place :-) DXVA checker is just useful for doing that.
arfster is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

Dunno - depends if you're putting the reg keys in the right place :-) DXVA checker is just useful for doing that.

Arfster, can you advice me what to do?

Thanx again for help.
LL
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcaser View Post

Some german guys reported no problems at all with deinterlacing options, but they have another vendor (HIS). That you have the same problems as me points to a VGA BIOS problem

It's possible. But it could also be a bug in the driver that causes it not to recognize the card correctly. E.g., I also noticed that CCC reports 1GB video memory even though the card only has 512MB. I guess Hotfix in this case means that support for the 46xx/45xx cards was "mit heisser Nadel gestrickt". The 8.11 should be out soon; if it isn't fixed then, I will open a ticket with ATI.
Rigby Reardon is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rigby,

the Palit site hosts a driver, which has RC2 in its name. Maybe it is the 8.11RC2 driver and supports the graphics card.

I just download it...
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This did the trick. All deinterlacing options are available now. Also you can enable denoise and that stuff.

Be happy with this graphics :-)
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
lstepnio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampa, Florida USA
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for reporting back! I ordered the "VGA HIS H465P512P HD4650 512M RT" version which is passive cooled. I'll give the drivers you suggested a try if the official ATI drivers don't do the trick right out of the box.

Can you confirm it's actually working too?
lstepnio is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Works great here. Nevertheless in a few days new 8.11 (official) will be released. Furthermore german guys, who ┬┤have exactly this passive HS version, said, that there is no problem with 8.10 Hotfix drivers.

Now there is only one problem left: where can i modify percentage of the fan? It is not in the registry. Arfster, have you any ideas?
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcaser View Post

This did the trick. All deinterlacing options are available now. Also you can enable denoise and that stuff.

Be happy with this graphics :-)

Good news. Are you referring to the 8.54-RC2 driver? That's actually older than the current Hotfix on the AMD site.
Rigby Reardon is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The driver from the Palit site, which has RC2 in its filename, has version number: 2008.0910.2138.36940

can you post yours - i havent it available any more.
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcaser View Post

The driver from the Palit site, which has RC2 in its filename, has version number: 2008.0910.2138.36940

can you post yours - i havent it available any more.

The CCC version number of the Hotfix driver is 2008.1003.1759.30358. The driver package is version 8.542-081003a-070928E. So this driver is dated Oct. 3rd, whereas yours is from Sept. 10th. But who cares if it works. Anyway, since the problem is not very severe for me I will wait for the official 8.11 which should be out soon.
Rigby Reardon is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IMO that is a very bad Software development. i hope, that all features from this older version will find their way in the new 8.11 release. Sometimes i want to have a view in this software development.....
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Bignickfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe only Vista had supported enhanced AVIVO options. I did notice my hd2400pro now has new options with Cat 8.10 and XP sp3
Bignickfly is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are enhanced AVIVO options?
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Bignickfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcaser View Post

What are enhanced AVIVO options?

Denoise, Edge Enhancement, Dynamic Contrast and Colour Vibrancy.

Check to see these options are in Advanced AVIVO section of Catalyst control center
Bignickfly is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
lstepnio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampa, Florida USA
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm awaiting my card to arrive and new to the ATI cards for HTPC. What exactly does one loose running XP with these cards? Please tell me this doesn't include any of the deinterlacing features does it?
lstepnio is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No worries,

all of the features are there in XP, too.

Dunno why Bignickfly thinks, it is not available. Nevertheless, you will switch off those "enhancer" anyway.

The only thing you need is: Vector adaptive deinterlacing and PDVD codec.
topcaser is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 06:09 AM
Newbie
 
nemrod95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I have a Gainward ATI Radeon HD 4650 and i have same problem with deinterlacing/denoise options. All are disabled
This happend with 8.10 Catalyst hotfix II and with 8.11 beta.
I have tried the 8.10 catalyst from Palit but same problem...
I hope this will be solve in the final 8.11 Catalyst......
nemrod95 is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 02:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: The Catalyst 8.11 drivers are now available on the AMD site. Unfortunately they do *not* solve the problems with the missing deinterlacing modes and greyed out advanced options for me (Xpertvision 4650 "Super" as linked in the first post).
Rigby Reardon is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 04:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
topcaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rigby,

i have not tried it and wont try it if you say that it dont work.
Nevertheless, please open a ticket with ATI and write an Email to technical support of Palit.

The more people tell them the earlier they fix this issue. That is the plan
topcaser is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off