EDID Override Thread - Page 109 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 3264 Old 12-14-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
AFAIK, no.
Sebastiii likes this.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 3264 Old 12-14-2014, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Sebastiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok


What i have do is : Connect HDMI1 to VP and HDMI2 to AVR


So all seems working but i need to set Extand display even if i see only one display but it's working
Sebastiii is online now  
post #3243 of 3264 Old 12-16-2014, 09:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I spent the last day trying to fix my problem, so any input greatly appreciated.

My Intel NUC i5 (HD5000) is connected through HDMI -> to my Yamaha soundbar YSP-2500 through hdmi arc -> TV

My nuc seems to only be getting the information, 2 channels, and name of my TV, no hd sound. My soundbar is like a receiver, it has 3 HDMI inputs and TrueHD & DTS-HD decoding.

Anyone manage to get a working EDID override with an i5 intel nuc (hd5000)?

Thanks


UPDATE: Managed to fix it, the 'hdmi splitter' between my NUC and AVR was the cause of the problem, I moved it to between the AVR and the TV and now everything works perfect. I can't believe I wasted a whole day, for such a simple fix ahah.

Last edited by myst4ry; 12-16-2014 at 10:54 AM.
myst4ry is offline  
post #3244 of 3264 Old 12-16-2014, 09:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Intel IGPs don't accept EDID overrides.

Is the MEI driver installed?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)

Last edited by Tulli; 12-16-2014 at 09:49 AM.
Tulli is offline  
post #3245 of 3264 Old 12-16-2014, 10:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Intel IGPs don't accept EDID overrides.

Is the MEI driver installed?

Got it to work now, see my OP, thx.
myst4ry is offline  
post #3246 of 3264 Old 12-18-2014, 03:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
@Tulli

Ok, first of all my problem is obviously no 5.1 sound trough hdmi. Let me describe the configuration first. I have HP elitebook with AMD Radeon HD 7400M (specification says 7.1 sound should go trough display port - hdmi). I have dsplay port to HDM converter and then with HDMI cable to Samsung TV UE40D5500, the I have conected audio from TV to optical converter (Digital Audio Konverter Toslink Koaxial auf 5.1CH AV Decoder Umwandler) and from konverter to 5.1 genious speakers (Genius SW-HF5.1 5000). I have Windows 8.1 installed. I've tried to change EDID file like the OP suggest with different programs, and somehow managed to get .inf file, but when I want to install it it always says that it is not correct driver. My original driver is saved with .sys ending, maybe there lies the problem. I don't know what else to do so I am asking here. Please tell mi what more info should I provide, so you could help me.
qzem is offline  
post #3247 of 3264 Old 12-18-2014, 03:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Check link in my signature for all related info.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3248 of 3264 Old 12-18-2014, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Check link in my signature for all related info.
I did check that thread and I have realiezed, that I've wanted to post my question in that thread not in this one, but I've made mistake (to many open tabs ). So can you help somehow?
qzem is offline  
post #3249 of 3264 Old 12-18-2014, 01:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Just carefully double-check the instructions. You should capture the real-time EDID with moninfo and save it as .inf file. Apply the file as a driver update to the display driver under the monitors tab in device manager. Make sure that the correct display device is selected. Finally reboot.
qzem likes this.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3250 of 3264 Unread 12-19-2014, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Good evening guys, sorry for skipping 109 pages, I was wondering if there's a fix for my problem.
Basically I'm using my laptop to stream music to my HIFI amp through HDMI.
The laptop is connected to an HDMI-to-optical converter, then the optical cable plugs into the amp.
The problem is that once the computer monitor turns off, audio playback will halt.
It looks like there's no way to disable HDMI monitor detection in windows 8 (although there's no monitor since it is an HDMI converter. however Windows seems to be fooled by this) . May the override trick work for my lappy?
It is a Dell Latitude E6520 with a Nvidia 4200 mobile card....
blutarsky is offline  
post #3251 of 3264 Unread 12-21-2014, 11:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
blutarsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blutarsky View Post
Good evening guys, sorry for skipping 109 pages, I was wondering if there's a fix for my problem.
Basically I'm using my laptop to stream music to my HIFI amp through HDMI.
The laptop is connected to an HDMI-to-optical converter, then the optical cable plugs into the amp.
The problem is that once the computer monitor turns off, audio playback will halt.
It looks like there's no way to disable HDMI monitor detection in windows 8 (although there's no monitor since it is an HDMI converter. however Windows seems to be fooled by this) . May the override trick work for my lappy?
It is a Dell Latitude E6520 with a Nvidia 4200 mobile card....
Guys the problems seems fixed using another HDMI cable!
Sebastiii likes this.
blutarsky is offline  
post #3252 of 3264 Unread Yesterday, 01:55 PM
Member
 
fiteclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tulli

I need a EDID override to add DD and DTS to my Samsung PN60F8500 plasma set. The realtime EDID capture is attached.

Thanks in advance!

Bill
Attached Files
File Type: zip monitor.zip (1.2 KB, 2 views)
fiteclub is online now  
post #3253 of 3264 Unread Yesterday, 05:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
...
Attached Files
File Type: zip Samsung PN60F8500+DD&DTS.zip (1.3 KB, 2 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3254 of 3264 Unread Today, 08:32 AM
Member
 
fiteclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiteclub View Post
Tulli

I need a EDID override to add DD and DTS to my Samsung PN60F8500 plasma set. The realtime EDID capture is attached.

Thanks in advance!

Bill
Tulli,

Thanks for the quick turn-around. I followed your directions (including reboot) to the letter on how to install the override and it seemed to go perfectly. But when I go into the Nvidia Control panel, It is still telling me only 2 channel audio support for the Samsung display. My video card is a GT720 with latest nvidia driver (340.52). Any suggestions? Maybe a video driver reinstall?

Bill
fiteclub is online now  
post #3255 of 3264 Unread Today, 09:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I will quote myself from the other EDID override thread:

"For multichannel to work the audio stream must be encoded to AC3 or DTS by the application. Because of bandwidth limitation by the TV only 2 channels of uncompressed audio are possible."

There are countless references in both EDID threads about this.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3256 of 3264 Unread Today, 10:14 AM
Member
 
fiteclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, I have read the countless threads. My audio streams are encoded AC3. I currently use WMC (Windows 7 64bit) to view TV from a Ceton cablecard tuner. The AC3 (DD) audio is currently sent via S/PDIF using an optical connection to my Onkyo AVR from the onboard realtek hardware. I was hoping to eliminate this setup and send the compressed audio over hdmi to the optical OUT port on the Samsung display and on to the Onkyo AVR. (I am having audio delay issues that I think will be alleviated by going this route). I know that the Samsung display will passthrough AC3 and DTS to the optical out when EDID is ignored.

It is my understanding that all I need to do is install an EDID override since the Samsung EDID shows (wrongly) that only 2 channel audio is supported. If I am wrong, I am sorry to have bothered you.

Bill
fiteclub is online now  
post #3257 of 3264 Unread Today, 10:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
"2 channel audio" means 2-LPCM in the Windows audio panel, which is the limit of the bandwitdh of the TV. Hence it's not "wrongly" detected.

If the EDID override is correctly installed 2-LPCM will be detected, and AC3 and DTS will be listed as supported formats for the HDMI audio device. Check that.

If you still don't get multichannel the problem is in the audio setup in the application.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3258 of 3264 Unread Today, 11:31 AM
Member
 
fiteclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, thanks Tulli. Just to be sure, here are a couple of screen caps to show what I am seeing. Shouldn't I be seeing "SAMSUNG (SAM0AC8 EDID Override)" instead of "SAMSUNG-4" on the supported formats tab? I also posted the active registry results from moninfo. It does not seem to show any audio info; is this a problem or is this normal? It does suggest that the override is in the registry.

To clarify; if this all looks good, then I should be looking at WMC audio setup? I am using the Shark007 codec pack so maybe that is an issue too? I didn't think the nvidia HDMI audio setup would be affected by other applications. I just thought it was looking at the monitor and asking "what audio streams do you accept?" but I guess it is more complicated than that.

Thanks again for your help.

Bill
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pic1.png
Views:	8
Size:	43.4 KB
ID:	439282   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic2.png
Views:	8
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	439290  
Attached Files
File Type: txt registry moninfo.txt (3.0 KB, 1 views)
fiteclub is online now  
post #3259 of 3264 Unread Today, 11:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
AC3 and DTS are not listed so there's a problem with the installation of the EDID override. See 1st. post in my sig. for detailed instructions (did you reboot after installation?)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3260 of 3264 Unread Today, 12:30 PM
Member
 
fiteclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
AC3 and DTS are not listed so there's a problem with the installation of the EDID override. See 1st. post in my sig. for detailed instructions (did you reboot after installation?)
Yes, I followed your instructions to the letter including the reboot. I just tried uninstalling the override and then reinstalling just to make sure. No change. I don't see AC3 and DTS listed. I also made sure to delete all leftovers from the system as mentioned in your instructions. I am at a loss as to why it's not working.
fiteclub is online now  
post #3261 of 3264 Unread Today, 12:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Then there should be a Nvidia HDMI audio device (not the "Samsung-4") with DD and DTS listed as supported, That's the one you should set as default for multichannel audio.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3262 of 3264 Unread Today, 02:02 PM
Member
 
fiteclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Then there should be a Nvidia HDMI audio device (not the "Samsung-4") with DD and DTS listed as supported, That's the one you should set as default for multichannel audio.
Well here pic of Windows playback devices that are available. As you can see, the only Nvidia audio device available is "Nvidia High Definition Audio" labeled "Samsung-4" not sure what Nvidia HDMI Output (Port 1) is, but as you can see, it is greyed out and labeled not plugged in.

BTW, I tried a complete fresh install of the newest Nvidia graphics and audio drivers with no effect. One thing I did notice was that reinstalling the graphics drivers caused the monitor driver to revert to "generic" and I had to reinstall the EDID override driver.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pic1.png
Views:	6
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	439802  
fiteclub is online now  
post #3263 of 3264 Unread Today, 02:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 91
It's the first one (Nvidia HDMI Output), which however shows as not plugged in.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3264 of 3264 Unread Today, 03:20 PM
Member
 
fiteclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
It's the first one (Nvidia HDMI Output), which however shows as not plugged in.
Oh well, I'm completely confused then. I can get two channel audio fine using the "Samsung-4" device so I know this is sending audio over HDMI to my TV display. I have never seen the "Nvidia HDMI output" device as being active and don't know how to make it active.

When I load the EDID registry info into moninfo, or Deltacast EDID editor, the audio extension info is missing. This tells me the override is not working for some reason, or the Nvidia driver is ignoring it and getting the EDID info from a hardware handshake.

Thanks for your time. I think I will just go with a Dr. HDMI from HDfury.
fiteclub is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off