EDID Override Thread - Page 115 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2015, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
barth2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
...
Thank you. Unfortunately, I still get Samsung-3 in windows Sound and only 2 ch, no dd or dts. After driver update, I unplugged hdmi, rebooted PC, power cycle tv, plugged hdmi back in. Still nothing.

The post in your sig says this can't overcome the 2ch limit? Is that the reason or am I doing something wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	samsung.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	37.8 KB
ID:	1095738   Click image for larger version

Name:	devices.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	75.4 KB
ID:	1095746  
barth2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2015, 09:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 98
DD and DTS should show up. 2-LPCM is the max allowed for uncompressed audio with the bandwidth limitation of the TV HDMI link.

There's another GenericPnP driver listed. Perhaps the override has been applied to the wrong monitor.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Old 12-03-2015, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barth2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Sadly, no, I looked at properties -> details -> hardware ID (SAM0B60) before applying. I just doubled checked by unplugging the TV. It's the right one.
barth2k is offline  
Old 12-11-2015, 10:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Could please post it in the forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tutts View Post
I have the info for the Yamaha HTR-6180 if someone is interested.

Could you please post the info for the EDID override on the Yamaha HTR-6180 please.
ZaPS is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 12:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Could someone assist please.

System Specs are:

HTPC

MS Windows 7 64-bit
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio

RECEIVER
Yamaha HTR-6180

TV
Panasonic TC-P50G20


The issue is the HTPC will not see the Yamaha HTR-6180 unless the Panasonic TV is off. When the Panasonic TV is off sound will not work at all.


When I run the EDID manager I get the attached information on the Panasonic TV and Yamaha Receiver.


Where should I go from here please?
Attached Files
File Type: txt Yamaha HTR-6180.txt (2.2 KB, 12 views)
File Type: txt Pnasonic TC-P50G20.txt (5.4 KB, 7 views)
ZaPS is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 12:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I forgot to add, audio is bit-streamed to graphics card. HDMI goes from HTPC to Yamaha then to Panasonic TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZaPS View Post
Could someone assist please.

System Specs are:

HTPC

MS Windows 7 64-bit
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio

RECEIVER
Yamaha HTR-6180

TV
Panasonic TC-P50G20


The issue is the HTPC will not see the Yamaha HTR-6180 unless the Panasonic TV is off. When the Panasonic TV is off sound will not work at all.


When I run the EDID manager I get the attached information on the Panasonic TV and Yamaha Receiver.


Where should I go from here please?
ZaPS is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 04:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Use two separate HDMI connections (with an HDMI adapter), one to the TV and the other to the AVR (with no HDMI output).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Old 12-17-2015, 11:00 PM
Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I created a tutorial for Kodi users for those experiencing a loss of audio after resuming a Windows PC from Sleep mode. I thought it might be of some use to users here:

HOW TO - Fix Loss of HDMI Audio After Resume from Sleep Using an EDID Override
Onkyoman is online now  
Old 01-03-2016, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Tulli,

I would really appreciate any help I can get with this. Here's my setup:

HDMI connection: HP Pavilion 300-240 HTPC (with integrated Intel HD graphics) -> ViewHD HDMI Audio Extractor -> Samsung PN63B550T2FXZA
optical connection: ViewHD HDMI Audio Extractor -> Denon AVR-3300

I'm using the HDMI audio extractor to try to get 5.1 audio to the receiver. Currently, I can only get the PC to recognize 2 channel audio, although it recognizes both Dolby Digital and DTS audio as supported Encoded Formats.

If I take the HDMI audio extractor out of the chain, No Compressed Formats are found and I still only see 2 channel audio.

If I run moninfo with the HDMI audio extractor in the chain, I see:

CE audio data (formats supported)
AC-3 6-channel, 640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz
DTS 7-channel, 1536k max. bit rate at 44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 7.1
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ Yes
Front center............. Yes
Rear left/right.......... Yes
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... Yes
Rear LFE................. No

If I run moninfo without the HDMI audio extractor in the chain I see:
CE audio data (formats supported)
LPCM 2-channel, 16/20/24 bit depths at 32/44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 2.0
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ No
Front center............. No
Rear left/right.......... No
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... No
Rear LFE................. No

I have tried a monitor EDID override with .inf created when HDMI audio extractor is in the chain, but I don't see any difference.

I have attached some files that may be of relevance. Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen2.png
Views:	33
Size:	261.3 KB
ID:	1159346   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.png
Views:	34
Size:	317.6 KB
ID:	1159354  
Attached Files
File Type: txt samsung_override.txt (5.4 KB, 6 views)
scl126 is offline  
Old 01-03-2016, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Tulli,

I would really appreciate any help I can get with this. Here's my setup:

HDMI connection: HP Pavilion 300-240 HTPC (with integrated Intel HD graphics) -> ViewHD HDMI Audio Extractor -> Samsung PN63B550T2FXZA
optical connection: ViewHD HDMI Audio Extractor -> Denon AVR-3300

I'm using the HDMI audio extractor to try to get 5.1 audio to the receiver. Currently, I can only get the PC to recognize 2 channel audio, although it recognizes both Dolby Digital and DTS audio as supported Encoded Formats.

If I take the HDMI audio extractor out of the chain, No Compressed Formats are found and I still only see 2 channel audio.

If I run moninfo with the HDMI audio extractor in the chain, I see:

CE audio data (formats supported)
AC-3 6-channel, 640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz
DTS 7-channel, 1536k max. bit rate at 44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 7.1
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ Yes
Front center............. Yes
Rear left/right.......... Yes
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... Yes
Rear LFE................. No

If I run moninfo without the HDMI audio extractor in the chain I see:
CE audio data (formats supported)
LPCM 2-channel, 16/20/24 bit depths at 32/44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 2.0
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ No
Front center............. No
Rear left/right.......... No
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... No
Rear LFE................. No

I have tried a monitor EDID override with .inf created when HDMI audio extractor is in the chain, but I don't see any difference.

I have attached some files that may be of relevance. Any help would be appreciated.
scl126 is offline  
Old 01-03-2016, 03:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Sorry but Intel adapters don't accept EDID overrides. OTOH there's no way to get uncompressed (LPCM) multichannel audio through the TV, only 2-channels, and of course, compressed multichannel (DD or DTS), as correctly detected for the HDMI audio extractor.

For multichannel LPCM try using separate connections (e.g., DVI>HDMI adapter to the TV, and HDMI to the AVR with not video out).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Old 01-03-2016, 07:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
For multichannel LPCM try using separate connections (e.g., DVI>HDMI adapter to the TV, and HDMI to the AVR with not video out).
Thanks for the quick reply. My options are display port and HDMI, but my AVR does not accept HDMI, only optical inputs, hence the need for the HDMI audio extractor. Any other options? Also, any idea why moninfo sees this:

CE audio data (formats supported)
AC-3 6-channel, 640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz
DTS 7-channel, 1536k max. bit rate at 44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 7.1
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ Yes
Front center............. Yes
Rear left/right.......... Yes
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... Yes
Rear LFE................. No

but Windows only lists 2 channels as the only option?
scl126 is offline  
Old 01-15-2016, 12:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
audionewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am wondering if you can make me a inf file for r-390, HD33 and 5450 video card.
audionewer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off