EDID Override Thread - Page 115 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 3442 Old 12-03-2015, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
barth2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
...
Thank you. Unfortunately, I still get Samsung-3 in windows Sound and only 2 ch, no dd or dts. After driver update, I unplugged hdmi, rebooted PC, power cycle tv, plugged hdmi back in. Still nothing.

The post in your sig says this can't overcome the 2ch limit? Is that the reason or am I doing something wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	samsung.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	37.8 KB
ID:	1095738   Click image for larger version

Name:	devices.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	75.4 KB
ID:	1095746  
barth2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 3442 Old 12-03-2015, 09:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 100
DD and DTS should show up. 2-LPCM is the max allowed for uncompressed audio with the bandwidth limitation of the TV HDMI link.

There's another GenericPnP driver listed. Perhaps the override has been applied to the wrong monitor.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3423 of 3442 Old 12-03-2015, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barth2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Sadly, no, I looked at properties -> details -> hardware ID (SAM0B60) before applying. I just doubled checked by unplugging the TV. It's the right one.
barth2k is offline  
post #3424 of 3442 Old 12-11-2015, 10:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Could please post it in the forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tutts View Post
I have the info for the Yamaha HTR-6180 if someone is interested.

Could you please post the info for the EDID override on the Yamaha HTR-6180 please.
ZaPS is offline  
post #3425 of 3442 Old 12-12-2015, 12:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Could someone assist please.

System Specs are:

HTPC

MS Windows 7 64-bit
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio

RECEIVER
Yamaha HTR-6180

TV
Panasonic TC-P50G20


The issue is the HTPC will not see the Yamaha HTR-6180 unless the Panasonic TV is off. When the Panasonic TV is off sound will not work at all.


When I run the EDID manager I get the attached information on the Panasonic TV and Yamaha Receiver.


Where should I go from here please?
Attached Files
File Type: txt Yamaha HTR-6180.txt (2.2 KB, 13 views)
File Type: txt Pnasonic TC-P50G20.txt (5.4 KB, 8 views)
ZaPS is offline  
post #3426 of 3442 Old 12-12-2015, 12:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I forgot to add, audio is bit-streamed to graphics card. HDMI goes from HTPC to Yamaha then to Panasonic TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZaPS View Post
Could someone assist please.

System Specs are:

HTPC

MS Windows 7 64-bit
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio

RECEIVER
Yamaha HTR-6180

TV
Panasonic TC-P50G20


The issue is the HTPC will not see the Yamaha HTR-6180 unless the Panasonic TV is off. When the Panasonic TV is off sound will not work at all.


When I run the EDID manager I get the attached information on the Panasonic TV and Yamaha Receiver.


Where should I go from here please?
ZaPS is offline  
post #3427 of 3442 Old 12-12-2015, 04:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Use two separate HDMI connections (with an HDMI adapter), one to the TV and the other to the AVR (with no HDMI output).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3428 of 3442 Old 12-17-2015, 11:00 PM
Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I created a tutorial for Kodi users for those experiencing a loss of audio after resuming a Windows PC from Sleep mode. I thought it might be of some use to users here:

HOW TO - Fix Loss of HDMI Audio After Resume from Sleep Using an EDID Override
Onkyoman is offline  
post #3429 of 3442 Old 01-03-2016, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Tulli,

I would really appreciate any help I can get with this. Here's my setup:

HDMI connection: HP Pavilion 300-240 HTPC (with integrated Intel HD graphics) -> ViewHD HDMI Audio Extractor -> Samsung PN63B550T2FXZA
optical connection: ViewHD HDMI Audio Extractor -> Denon AVR-3300

I'm using the HDMI audio extractor to try to get 5.1 audio to the receiver. Currently, I can only get the PC to recognize 2 channel audio, although it recognizes both Dolby Digital and DTS audio as supported Encoded Formats.

If I take the HDMI audio extractor out of the chain, No Compressed Formats are found and I still only see 2 channel audio.

If I run moninfo with the HDMI audio extractor in the chain, I see:

CE audio data (formats supported)
AC-3 6-channel, 640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz
DTS 7-channel, 1536k max. bit rate at 44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 7.1
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ Yes
Front center............. Yes
Rear left/right.......... Yes
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... Yes
Rear LFE................. No

If I run moninfo without the HDMI audio extractor in the chain I see:
CE audio data (formats supported)
LPCM 2-channel, 16/20/24 bit depths at 32/44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 2.0
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ No
Front center............. No
Rear left/right.......... No
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... No
Rear LFE................. No

I have tried a monitor EDID override with .inf created when HDMI audio extractor is in the chain, but I don't see any difference.

I have attached some files that may be of relevance. Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen2.png
Views:	43
Size:	261.3 KB
ID:	1159346   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.png
Views:	38
Size:	317.6 KB
ID:	1159354  
Attached Files
File Type: txt samsung_override.txt (5.4 KB, 7 views)
scl126 is offline  
post #3430 of 3442 Old 01-03-2016, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Tulli,

I would really appreciate any help I can get with this. Here's my setup:

HDMI connection: HP Pavilion 300-240 HTPC (with integrated Intel HD graphics) -> ViewHD HDMI Audio Extractor -> Samsung PN63B550T2FXZA
optical connection: ViewHD HDMI Audio Extractor -> Denon AVR-3300

I'm using the HDMI audio extractor to try to get 5.1 audio to the receiver. Currently, I can only get the PC to recognize 2 channel audio, although it recognizes both Dolby Digital and DTS audio as supported Encoded Formats.

If I take the HDMI audio extractor out of the chain, No Compressed Formats are found and I still only see 2 channel audio.

If I run moninfo with the HDMI audio extractor in the chain, I see:

CE audio data (formats supported)
AC-3 6-channel, 640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz
DTS 7-channel, 1536k max. bit rate at 44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 7.1
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ Yes
Front center............. Yes
Rear left/right.......... Yes
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... Yes
Rear LFE................. No

If I run moninfo without the HDMI audio extractor in the chain I see:
CE audio data (formats supported)
LPCM 2-channel, 16/20/24 bit depths at 32/44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 2.0
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ No
Front center............. No
Rear left/right.......... No
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... No
Rear LFE................. No

I have tried a monitor EDID override with .inf created when HDMI audio extractor is in the chain, but I don't see any difference.

I have attached some files that may be of relevance. Any help would be appreciated.
scl126 is offline  
post #3431 of 3442 Old 01-03-2016, 03:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Sorry but Intel adapters don't accept EDID overrides. OTOH there's no way to get uncompressed (LPCM) multichannel audio through the TV, only 2-channels, and of course, compressed multichannel (DD or DTS), as correctly detected for the HDMI audio extractor.

For multichannel LPCM try using separate connections (e.g., DVI>HDMI adapter to the TV, and HDMI to the AVR with not video out).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3432 of 3442 Old 01-03-2016, 07:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
For multichannel LPCM try using separate connections (e.g., DVI>HDMI adapter to the TV, and HDMI to the AVR with not video out).
Thanks for the quick reply. My options are display port and HDMI, but my AVR does not accept HDMI, only optical inputs, hence the need for the HDMI audio extractor. Any other options? Also, any idea why moninfo sees this:

CE audio data (formats supported)
AC-3 6-channel, 640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz
DTS 7-channel, 1536k max. bit rate at 44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 7.1
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ Yes
Front center............. Yes
Rear left/right.......... Yes
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... Yes
Rear LFE................. No

but Windows only lists 2 channels as the only option?
scl126 is offline  
post #3433 of 3442 Old 01-15-2016, 12:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
audionewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am wondering if you can make me a inf file for r-390, HD33 and 5450 video card.
audionewer is offline  
post #3434 of 3442 Old 02-09-2016, 07:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
need some expert advice here.

setup:

1. gigabyte gtx970 hdmi-1 (and only, the rest are dp) -> samsung UHD TV hdmi-2 (PC mode enabled)
2. gigabyte gtx970 dp-1 -> dp-hdmi adaptor -> yamaha rx-v475 hdmi-1
3. yamaha rx-v475 monitor-out -> samsung UHD TV hdmi-3 ARC

If cable 3 is connected, windows shows the card's DP to AVR as "not connected". However, I need that ARC in order to have audio on AVR whenever I watch movies with TV's built-in media player (it seems samsung remix multichannel audio into DTS Neo as I still hear original multiple channels correctly, looks like no degradation to stereo here).
If I disconnect cable 3, windows recognizes both display and AVR correctly and I am able to enjoy 4K@60Hz video with uncompressed RGB full sampling on TV with multichannel audio on AVR.
If I disconnect cable 2 while leaving 3 connected, I can only get a downmixed stereo to AVR from PC.

AVR does not pass-through 60Hz 4K signal.

How do I make things work without playing around with cables all the time depending on the source?

regards,
Pavel
Attached Files
File Type: zip infs.zip (5.0 KB, 3 views)
Pavel Znamenskiy is offline  
post #3435 of 3442 Old 02-12-2016, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy r9 290x and LHB755 problem

Hello guys,

I've failed to override surround sound to my LG LHB755 home cinema through hdmi (hdmi OUT on PC -> hdmi in on LG home cinema -> hdmi out on LG home cinema -> Hdmi in on my Samsung TV). My video card is ATI R9-290x. Did everything by the book like it shows here on the first post - no result, also tried newer approach with Monitor Asset Manager and Phoenix. Attached are the given file as is and its changed version (01 to 00, 94 checksum to 95). When I change it and install - after reboot I lose all the audio (see attached zip and sorry for the cyrillic alphabet on the screen) for all 6 connections I see "Digital Display Audio" - "Not connected". I have no sound, but now LG shows "PCM 3/2.1" ! So I assume the override works, but there is the problem with my Windows not seeing the output...

B.T.W., strangely enough my Playstation 3 works great and outputs 5.1 to the same setup via the same cable. Automatically it also goes for pcm 2.0 only, but there is a drop-down menu on the setup in which i ticked DD5.1, DTS5.1 and PCM 5.1 and it started to work, getting real surround sound in movies and games.
Attached Files
File Type: zip lhb755.zip (53.0 KB, 3 views)
solegor is online now  
post #3436 of 3442 Old Yesterday, 02:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Please check this and the other EDID override thread for audio passthrough with Home Theater Systems (HTS). Uninstall whatever EDID override you have and only check that DD and DTS are correctly detected. Disregard the 2 channels (PCM) detection, since this is typically the max bandwidth for uncompressed audio with HTS. You should need no EDID override to passthrough multichannel DD or DTS. If you're looking for multichannel for gaming the audio must be live-encoded to DD or DTS (there's a hack for realtek devices, or get a cheap DD or DTS live encoding audio card. Don't know if there's a DirectShow software solution). Or just get a real AVR for full multichannel PCM audio.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3437 of 3442 Old Today, 06:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Please check this and the other EDID override thread for audio passthrough with Home Theater Systems (HTS). Uninstall whatever EDID override you have and only check that DD and DTS are correctly detected. Disregard the 2 channels (PCM) detection, since this is typically the max bandwidth for uncompressed audio with HTS. You should need no EDID override to passthrough multichannel DD or DTS. If you're looking for multichannel for gaming the audio must be live-encoded to DD or DTS (there's a hack for realtek devices, or get a cheap DD or DTS live encoding audio card. Don't know if there's a DirectShow software solution). Or just get a real AVR for full multichannel PCM audio.
Thank you for the answer!
Sadly the main reason I've started to apply EDID override is that I don't even get compressed 5.1 (DTS or DD) (see the pic).
I would've settled for compressed as well - as you may see my HTS is not top-notch, but It would've been nice to have any 5.1 at all
Can you suggest how to get at least DD and DTS in my case?

Also external audio card is not very good for me because optical is already occupied with PlayStation4, so I'll need to use some switch or always jerk the cable from PC to PS4...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ati.PNG
Views:	3
Size:	115.3 KB
ID:	1251569  
solegor is online now  
post #3438 of 3442 Old Today, 06:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 100
I took a look at your posted .infs and they lack the extended block. Capture and post the full 256-bytes real-time EDID of your Samsung TV (follow instructions in my sig. Perhaps a mod has already been made for your TV or a compatible Samsung TV. Search through both EDID threads) and I'll produce the mod for detection of DD and DTS. Of course this will work as long as a DD or DTS is being passed-through. As I said before, for games a live-encoding of some sort into DD or DTS will be required (see previous post for possible alternatives ... I've posted a link in the other thread for a possible hack to enable real-time encoding of DD or DTS for Realtek adapters. Anyway it can easily be found by googling).
solegor likes this.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3439 of 3442 Old Today, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
I took a look at your posted .infs and they lack the extended block. Capture and post the full 256-bytes real-time EDID of your Samsung TV
Sorry for Samsung, it just was connected to the TV directly at the moment. But LG HTS gave me the same picture.(see attached)

Anyway here's the EDID I've been able to capture (sorry if I did something is wrong). monitor.inf - is the one I've got from moninfo (should be real-time), the others are from EDID manager (probably not real-time).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LG_.PNG
Views:	5
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	1251705   Click image for larger version

Name:	lge.PNG
Views:	4
Size:	98.4 KB
ID:	1251721  
Attached Files
File Type: zip LGE0000.zip (3.6 KB, 3 views)
solegor is online now  
post #3440 of 3442 Old Today, 07:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Here you go.
Attached Files
File Type: zip LGE0000+DD+DTS.zip (1.3 KB, 4 views)
solegor likes this.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3441 of 3442 Old Today, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Here you go.
Many thanks! Seems to be working with movies!

So from what you've seen - no chance for full DTS-HD or PCM 5.1 with this setup?
solegor is online now  
post #3442 of 3442 Old Today, 08:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 100
No, due to the limitation in bandwidth of the HDMI link in HTS. Again, with games you could at best live-encode to DD or DTS.

If you can get a real AVR. Lower models are cheap (at least in the US).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off