EDID Override Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 3198 Old 01-31-2010, 09:59 AM
Member
 
Yorkergizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tulli, I have another question: In the audio blocks within the EDID you provide, there is a specification for 2ch LPCM and 8ch LPCM (0x09,0x7F,0x07 and 0x0F,0x7F,0x07). What is the purpose of the 2ch LPCM specification, since the receiver should theoretically be able to tell what is contained in the LPCM shouldn't it? Do the two ever conflict (e.g. say I have an 8ch LPCM stream, but the computer decides the receiver only accepts 2ch since that is the first LPCM block in the EDID, and so downmixes to 2ch before sending it via HDMI) The EDID from my Denon has only the 8ch LPCM specification (0x0F,0x7F,0x07). This EDID stuff seems like voodoo to me
Yorkergizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 3198 Old 01-31-2010, 10:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
What happens when you set the audio driver to 5.1 & 7.1 and play the Windows test tones?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #633 of 3198 Old 01-31-2010, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
Rydon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interestingly enough, it shows the 2, quadrophonic and 5.1 as a speaker option, however it only plays on the left and right speaker (i.e. 2 channel). I'll play a bit with the settings, maybe it has to do with the speaker configuration block.
Rydon is offline  
post #634 of 3198 Old 02-01-2010, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Yorkergizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

What happens when you set the audio driver to 5.1 & 7.1 and play the Windows test tones?

I think this was addressed to me?

Good point. I get 7.1 output, which I suppose indicates that it is correctly identifying 8ch capability. I suppose my concern arises from not having a clue about how the pathways work. I assume the test sound will work since the driver has no interpretation to do. However, say an application is outputting a 6ch stream, or even a 3ch stream. Will the driver always interpret that as being an LPCM to be sent out as 8ch, or might it decide that it's best as a 2ch LPCM since the receiver will accept it? I should test the 5.1 test tone tonight, since that would in part answer my question, but not knowing how this all works, wouldn't it be a false indicator since there is no middleman involved?
Yorkergizer is offline  
post #635 of 3198 Old 02-01-2010, 12:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorkergizer View Post

I think this was addressed to me?

Good point. I get 7.1 output, which I suppose indicates that it is correctly identifying 8ch capability. I suppose my concern arises from not having a clue about how the pathways work. I assume the test sound will work since the driver has no interpretation to do. However, say an application is outputting a 6ch stream, or even a 3ch stream. Will the driver always interpret that as being an LPCM to be sent out as 8ch, or might it decide that it's best as a 2ch LPCM since the receiver will accept it? I should test the 5.1 test tone tonight, since that would in part answer my question, but not knowing how this all works, wouldn't it be a false indicator since there is no middleman involved?

AFAIK that's what WASAPI exclusive mode is for. This is the way of forcing Windows to auto-switch the # of channels/sample rate for multi-channel LPCM. So the capability is there, but it has to be enforced by the application.

Reclock is a wonderful general x32 application to get WASAPI exclusive mode, but does not work with for all applications/drivers. OTH certain apps like XBMC, JRiver MC or Foobar2000 have this capability.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #636 of 3198 Old 02-01-2010, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
S2G-Unit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, girls, I have NO clue what to do here. I've made .inf files by connecting my AE900 directly to my PC. Same for my Denon 988.

Here are the details from the .INF files.
Does it matter that I also have a Lumagen HDP?
Can someone create a quick .inf file for me please?
The instructions were not clear to me,lol

Thanks

I've got this setup:
If anyone can help my setup.
-HTPC with ATI 5670 via HDMI to Denon 988
-From Denon 988 HDMI out to Lumagen HDP (DVI In)
-From Lumagen HDP to Panasonic AE900

____________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________ ______________________
Panasonic AE900:
; INF file generated by Monitor Asset Manager, 2/1/2010
; Copyright (c) EnTech Taiwan, 1995-2009.
; Internet: http://www.entechtaiwan.com

[Version]
Signature="$WINDOWS NT$"
Class=Monitor
ClassGUID={4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
Provider=%MFG%
DriverVer=2/1/2010, 1.0.0.0
;CatalogFile=YourSignedCatalogFile.cat

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir=23

[SourceDisksNames]
1=%DISC%

[SourceDisksFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Manufacturer]
%VENDOR%=EDID_OVERRIDE,NTx86,NTamd64

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTx86]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install, MONITOR\\MEID056

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTamd64]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64, MONITOR\\MEID056

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg]
;Base EDID
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"0",0x01,0x00,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x00,0x34,0xA9,0x56 ,0xD0,0x83,0x00,0x12,0x16,0x00,0x10,0x01,0x03,0x80,0x00,0x00 ,0x78,0x0A,0x69,0xBE,0xA6,0x57,0x53,0xA6,0x23,0x0C,0x48,0x55 ,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01 ,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x1D,0x80,0x18,0x71 ,0x1C,0x16,0x20,0x58,0x2C,0x25,0x00,0xC4,0x8E,0x21,0x00,0x00 ,0x9E,0x01,0x1D,0x80,0xD0,0x72,0x1C,0x16,0x20,0x10,0x2C,0x25 ,0x80,0xC4,0x8E,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x9E,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFC,0x00 ,0x41,0x45,0x2D,0x39,0x30,0x30,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20 ,0x20,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFD,0x00,0x32,0x3D,0x1C,0x31,0x08,0x00 ,0x0A,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x01,0x3E

[DEL_CURRENT_REG]
HKR,MODES
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE
HKR,,MaxResolution
HKR,,DPMS
HKR,,ICMProfile

[DPMS]
HKR,,DPMS,,0

[MODE1]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1080"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\\1920,1080",Mode1,,"28.0-49.0,50.0-61.0,+,+"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Strings]
MFG="EnTech Taiwan"
DISC="Monitor EDID Override Installation Disk"
PRODUCTID="Panasonic AE-900 (EDID Override)"
VENDOR="Panasonic"











Denon 988:
; INF file generated by Monitor Asset Manager, 2/1/2010
; Copyright (c) EnTech Taiwan, 1995-2009.
; Internet: http://www.entechtaiwan.com

[Version]
Signature="$WINDOWS NT$"
Class=Monitor
ClassGUID={4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
Provider=%MFG%
DriverVer=2/1/2010, 1.0.0.0
;CatalogFile=YourSignedCatalogFile.cat

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir=23

[SourceDisksNames]
1=%DISC%

[SourceDisksFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Manufacturer]
%VENDOR%=EDID_OVERRIDE,NTx86,NTamd64

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTx86]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install, MONITOR\\DON000D

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTamd64]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64, MONITOR\\DON000D

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg]
;Base EDID
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"0",0x01,0x00,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x00,0x11,0xEE,0x0D ,0x00,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x00,0x11,0x01,0x03,0x80,0x10,0x09 ,0x78,0x0A,0xEE,0x91,0xA3,0x54,0x4C,0x99,0x26,0x0F,0x50,0x54 ,0x20,0x00,0x00,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01 ,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x1D,0x80,0x18,0x71 ,0x1C,0x16,0x20,0x58,0x2C,0x25,0x00,0xA0,0x5A,0x00,0x00,0x00 ,0x9E,0x01,0x1D,0x00,0x72,0x51,0xD0,0x1E,0x20,0x6E,0x28,0x55 ,0x00,0xA0,0x5A,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x1E,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFD,0x00 ,0x17,0x3D,0x19,0x44,0x10,0x00,0x0A,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20 ,0x20,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFC,0x00,0x44,0x45,0x4E,0x4F,0x4E,0x2D ,0x41,0x56,0x41,0x4D,0x50,0x0A,0x20,0x01,0xF1

[DEL_CURRENT_REG]
HKR,MODES
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE
HKR,,MaxResolution
HKR,,DPMS
HKR,,ICMProfile

[DPMS]
HKR,,DPMS,,0

[MODE1]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1080"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\\1920,1080",Mode1,,"25.0-68.0,23.0-61.0,+,+"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Strings]
MFG="EnTech Taiwan"
DISC="Monitor EDID Override Installation Disk"
PRODUCTID="DENON-AVAMP (EDID Override)"
VENDOR="Denon"
S2G-Unit is offline  
post #637 of 3198 Old 02-01-2010, 12:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
@S2G-Unit

Those captures are of no use as there's only the base EDID block. Keep in mind that you can't capture the full [real-time] EDID with Moninfo on a 5xxx yet.

See my post on the 5xxx thread for first directions.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #638 of 3198 Old 02-01-2010, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorkergizer View Post

Tulli, I have another question: In the audio blocks within the EDID you provide, there is a specification for 2ch LPCM and 8ch LPCM (0x09,0x7F,0x07 and 0x0F,0x7F,0x07). What is the purpose of the 2ch LPCM specification, since the receiver should theoretically be able to tell what is contained in the LPCM shouldn't it? Do the two ever conflict (e.g. say I have an 8ch LPCM stream, but the computer decides the receiver only accepts 2ch since that is the first LPCM block in the EDID, and so downmixes to 2ch before sending it via HDMI) The EDID from my Denon has only the 8ch LPCM specification (0x0F,0x7F,0x07). This EDID stuff seems like voodoo to me

Tulli and I looked at that double LPCM entry when we first started fiddling with the EDIDs but decided it was of no consequence. At first, I thought that may be the cause of the issues but we quickly proved that theory to be wrong. Removing one did not fix the EDID issue and a "fixed" EDID works with them both there.
vladd is offline  
post #639 of 3198 Old 02-07-2010, 01:20 AM
Newbie
 
djcla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tulli thank you so much you fixed my 4 day saga of trying to get HD bitstreaming to a Sony 2400ES AV amp. I used your Dennon EDID override File and all is well. Be interested to know how to get 24Hz as an option listed in dislay properties but thats about it.
djcla is offline  
post #640 of 3198 Old 02-07-2010, 01:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by djcla View Post

Tulli thank you so much you fixed my 4 day saga of trying to get HD bitstreaming to a Sony 2400ES AV amp. I used your Dennon EDID override File and all is well. Be interested to know how to get 24Hz as an option listed in dislay properties but thats about it.

We could try making a mod with BOTH the full 256 byte EDID of your display device and the Sony. Instructions for capturing the EDIDs are listed in my sig. link.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #641 of 3198 Old 02-08-2010, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
djcla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it says i will bnot be able to do this with a 5xxx ati card and moninfo?
djcla is offline  
post #642 of 3198 Old 02-08-2010, 08:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by djcla View Post

it says i will bnot be able to do this with a 5xxx ati card and moninfo?

Yup, no full 256-byte real-time EDID capture possible with moninfo on 5xxxs yet, AFAIK.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #643 of 3198 Old 02-08-2010, 05:08 PM
Member
 
timc878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A question for the experts. I am unable to get HD audio bitstreaming to work using the Clarksdale processor, could this be an EDID issue? I am able to test the HD audio in Vista and it works perfectly. However using Powerdvd and Winddvd Pro I am unable to get bitstreaming working. My setup is Integra 9.8 Processor, Sony HW10 PJ, i5 650, Gigabyte Ud2H motherboard. Thanks in advance for help.
timc878 is offline  
post #644 of 3198 Old 02-13-2010, 02:29 PM
Member
 
andye39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by timc878 View Post

A question for the experts. I am unable to get HD audio bitstreaming to work using the Clarksdale processor, could this be an EDID issue? I am able to test the HD audio in Vista and it works perfectly. However using Powerdvd and Winddvd Pro I am unable to get bitstreaming working. My setup is Integra 9.8 Processor, Sony HW10 PJ, i5 650, Gigabyte Ud2H motherboard. Thanks in advance for help.

I'm no expert in this EDID hacking stuff. I did just build an identical box you got - i5 650 on Gigabyte H55M-UD2H. Applied the TMT 1.7 beta patch, bitstreaming to my Denon 889 AVR beautifully, DTS-HD and TrueHD.

Also just finished another box, with i7 920 on Giga X58A-UD5 and ATI5850 card. On the ATI card it will only bitstream DTS-HD to the same receiver. TrueHD bitstream the receiver gets no signal at all.
andye39 is offline  
post #645 of 3198 Old 02-13-2010, 03:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by andye39 View Post

I'm no expert in this EDID hacking stuff. I did just build an identical box you got - i5 650 on Gigabyte H55M-UD2H. Applied the TMT 1.7 beta patch, bitstreaming to my Denon 889 AVR beautifully, DTS-HD and TrueHD.

Also just finished another box, with i7 920 on Giga X58A-UD5 and ATI5850 card. On the ATI card it will only bitstream DTS-HD to the same receiver. TrueHD bitstream the receiver gets no signal at all.

Right. For the ATI 5850 you'll need an EDID override. Look at the link in my sig.

As for the Clarksdale issue of timc878 I have no idea. I don't even know if Clarkdale can be EDID overriden (older Intel IGPs couldn't).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #646 of 3198 Old 02-13-2010, 05:38 PM
Member
 
timc878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andye39 View Post

I'm no expert in this EDID hacking stuff. I did just build an identical box you got - i5 650 on Gigabyte H55M-UD2H. Applied the TMT 1.7 beta patch, bitstreaming to my Denon 889 AVR beautifully, DTS-HD and TrueHD.

Also just finished another box, with i7 920 on Giga X58A-UD5 and ATI5850 card. On the ATI card it will only bitstream DTS-HD to the same receiver. TrueHD bitstream the receiver gets no signal at all.

Thanks for the reply. Someone else said they got bitstreaming working but I was never able to do it using PDVD. I bought a 5750 since the Clarksdale wasn't working then the next day the TMT update gets released. I downloaded moninfo and everything was detected properly so I came to the conclusion that PDVD didn't support the Clarksdale processor completely.
timc878 is offline  
post #647 of 3198 Old 02-13-2010, 08:04 PM
Member
 
andye39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by timc878 View Post

Thanks for the reply. Someone else said they got bitstreaming working but I was never able to do it using PDVD. I bought a 5750 since the Clarksdale wasn't working then the next day the TMT update gets released. I downloaded moninfo and everything was detected properly so I came to the conclusion that PDVD didn't support the Clarksdale processor completely.

When I initially got Clarkdale bitstreaming properly in TMT, it was a test OS install, so I just popped the Gigabyte drivers disc and installed all the drivers that way.

After I tested everything out, wiped it and reinstalled clean. Went and got all the latest drivers for every device. Guess what, nothing worked - no more bitstreamin, couldn't even play a DVD in Media Center with sound. Even reverting back to the drivers from the Gigabyte disc didn't fix it.

Wiping it again and this time will only use the drivers on the Gigabyte disc.

Pretty mind boggling a company like Intel doesn't thoroughly test this stuff before releasing them.
andye39 is offline  
post #648 of 3198 Old 02-21-2010, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
gaosan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have created an INF fie my my LC42D64U so that the PC connected the TV can display at 1920x1080 and 1280x720 mode. Obviously Sharp delivered a wrong EDID data base. I was able to retrieve data then modify to create an INF.

My INF works well with ATI X600 card. Normally I use 1920x1080 to browser and 1280x720 to watch video. it works nice.

 

Sharp_d64u.zip 1.34765625k . file
gaosan is offline  
post #649 of 3198 Old 02-21-2010, 06:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaosan View Post

I have created an INF fie my my LC42D64U so that the PC connected the TV can display at 1920x1080 and 1280x720 mode. Obviously Sharp delivered a wrong EDID data base. I was able to retrieve data then modify to create an INF.

My INF works well with ATI X600 card. Normally I use 1920x1080 to browser and 1280x720 to watch video. it works nice.

I don't know if "wrong" is the right word. The Sharp Aquos EDID that I have checked has a 1920x1080 and a 1360x768 (non standard HDTV) resolution in the base block, but a 1280x720 is present in the extended block and the EDID you posted has no extension block (it's only 128-byte long).

The X600 (the ATI driver on the X600 more properly) is obviously treating the Sharp as a computer monitor and is therefore disregarding the extension block, and thus the need for the mod you did so well, where even the checksum is fine. Nice job

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #650 of 3198 Old 02-25-2010, 03:51 AM
Newbie
 
nbennett1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi - I have a Foxconn Netbox nT330i running Ubuntu Linux connected via HDMI to my Panasonic TX-32LXD700 and getting no picture or sound (worked fine via DVI on my desktop screen). From reading the forums looks like this is an issue with the NVidia ION card settings - probably the edid settings - anyone know what the settings should be for my TX-32LXD700? Really want HDMI as want HD video & sound. Thanks
nbennett1970 is offline  
post #651 of 3198 Old 02-25-2010, 04:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ashley Saldanha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Taipei, Taiwan, ROC
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaosan View Post

I have created an INF fie my my LC42D64U so that the PC connected the TV can display at 1920x1080 and 1280x720 mode. Obviously Sharp delivered a wrong EDID data base. I was able to retrieve data then modify to create an INF.

My INF works well with ATI X600 card. Normally I use 1920x1080 to browser and 1280x720 to watch video. it works nice.

The base EDID in your zip file declares an analog VGA input. When a source encounters a sink with an analog input, it may simply ignore any (digital) CEA data as irrelevant.
Ashley Saldanha is offline  
post #652 of 3198 Old 02-28-2010, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am a newbie when it comes to EDID, so I beg for patience...

I have two issues that i think might be addressed by overriding EDID on my Sony STR-DG910. Here's my setup:

2 DirecTV DVRs - HDMI & Optical audio -> DG910
DVD Player - HDMI & Coaxial audio -> DG910
Mac Mini - DVI->HDMI & Optical Audio -> DG910.
DG910 HDMI -> Panasonic TH-50PHD6 DVI

Problem #1 - Because the Mini and the plasma are DVI, I can't use HDMI for the audio coming out of my components.

Problem #2 - When I hook the Mac Mini to the receiver, the only resolution allowed from that device is 640x480.

If I could solve either or both of these issues by overriding EDID, I would be a very happy person. Is this even possible?
PJO1966 is offline  
post #653 of 3198 Old 02-28-2010, 06:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 View Post

I am a newbie when it comes to EDID, so I beg for patience...

I have two issues that i think might be addressed by overriding EDID on my Sony STR-DG910. Here's my setup:

2 DirecTV DVRs - HDMI & Optical audio -> DG910
DVD Player - HDMI & Coaxial audio -> DG910
Mac Mini - DVI->HDMI & Optical Audio -> DG910.
DG910 HDMI -> Panasonic TH-50PHD6 DVI

Problem #1 - Because the Mini and the plasma are DVI, I can't use HDMI for the audio coming out of my components.

Problem #2 - When I hook the Mac Mini to the receiver, the only resolution allowed from that device is 640x480.

If I could solve either or both of these issues by overriding EDID, I would be a very happy person. Is this even possible?

Only for Problem #2 (and the Mac Mini running Vista or Win7 as the EDID Override is a feature of only these OPs).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #654 of 3198 Old 02-28-2010, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Only for Problem #2 (and the Mac Mini running Vista or Win7 as the EDID Override is a feature of only these OPs).

Pardon my ignorance, but would it be possible to use another computer running Win7 to get things set up before hooking up the Mini? I had tried to set up Fusion on the Mini a while back and the results weren't great.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #655 of 3198 Old 03-01-2010, 04:13 AM
Member
 
Nombz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe a bit off-topic, but people seems to know a lot about EDID in this thread so I'll try anyway.

As I understand it, EDID provides information back to the gfx on the "supported" resolutions/refreshrates of the display devices. Does this include porch timings etc?

I have a 5670 and would like to do two things (that I did in Powerstrip with my old gfx):
1) Use custom refreshrates, such as 47,951Hz and 71,9xx (whatever it is).
2) Adjust porch setting/timing
Can I do any of these two things by overriding my EDID? (I know that the display device does support much more than what the EDID is offering, I am using a hdfury dvi->rgb device).
Nombz is offline  
post #656 of 3198 Old 03-01-2010, 05:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 View Post

Pardon my ignorance, but would it be possible to use another computer running Win7 to get things set up before hooking up the Mini? I had tried to set up Fusion on the Mini a while back and the results weren't great.

Unfortunately not, as the EDID Override is actively enforced by the running OS (Vista or Win7) when communicating with the display device. i.e. it is resident in the registry in Windows, and masks the communication to/from the display device. So the the Mac Mini must actively enforce the override by having Vista or Win7 installed.

A Gefen DVI Detective, or cheaper equivalent, is the solution in your case.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #657 of 3198 Old 03-01-2010, 05:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nombz View Post

Maybe a bit off-topic, but people seems to know a lot about EDID in this thread so I'll try anyway.

As I understand it, EDID provides information back to the gfx on the "supported" resolutions/refreshrates of the display devices. Does this include porch timings etc?

I have a 5670 and would like to do two things (that I did in Powerstrip with my old gfx):
1) Use custom refreshrates, such as 47,951Hz and 71,9xx (whatever it is).
2) Adjust porch setting/timing
Can I do any of these two things by overriding my EDID? (I know that the display device does support much more than what the EDID is offering, I am using a hdfury dvi->rgb device).

Yes, should be no problem AFAIK:


LL

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #658 of 3198 Old 03-01-2010, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Unfortunately not, as the EDID Override is actively enforced by the running OS (Vista or Win7) when communicating with the display device. i.e. it is resident in the registry in Windows, and masks the communication to/from the display device. So the the Mac Mini must actively enforce the override by having Vista or Win7 installed.

A Gefen DVI Detective, or cheaper equivalent, is the solution in your case.

Thanks.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #659 of 3198 Old 03-01-2010, 12:47 PM
Member
 
Nombz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Yes, should be no problem AFAIK:

That does look very good.

I have used getedid to get a output, but how do I find "EDID Manager" that you are using to see whats in there when it comes to Horizontal Sync Offset Pixels?

I have a Powerstrip "commandline" that describes the resolution I want:
1920,132,44,388,1080,2,4,39,133997,528
I guess I have to try to "decode" that into sometging that can be used for edid override.... I think it is:
resolution 1920x1080
horizontal front porch = 132
horizontal sync width = 44
and it is 47.950 Hz

Attached is the txt and .bin from my system

 

TX-NR3007.0.2.txt 0.810546875k . file

 

TX-NR3007.0.2.bin.zip 0.36328125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip TX-NR3007.0.2.bin.zip (372 Bytes, 6 views)
File Type: txt TX-NR3007.0.2.txt (830 Bytes, 5 views)
Nombz is offline  
post #660 of 3198 Old 03-01-2010, 01:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Here's the EDID format in detail.

You can download EDID manager from Extron website.

Use vladd's EDID Editor to easily edit the binary EDID and fix the checksum.

Good luck! Let us know how it goes!

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off