EDID Override Thread - Page 55 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 3181 Old 09-14-2011, 07:01 AM
Member
 
thor777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tulli,

It didn't work I still don't have DTS passthrough. I noticed in earlier posts you mention to apply the EDID override while setting to HDMI override to "off". So should I have saved the EDID info of my TV while having that option turned off on my TV? Or is it just when applying the override?
thor777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 3181 Old 09-14-2011, 07:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
If the DTS format appears on the "Supported Formats" tab then the EDID override is correctly applied. Now, the native EDID had only AC3 capability so maybe your TV can't passthrough DTS.

Another alternative is trying AC3Filter, which does magic with S/PDIF passthrough, even without an EDID override.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1623 of 3181 Old 09-14-2011, 07:47 AM
Member
 
thor777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

If the DTS format appears on the "Supported Formats" tab then the EDID override is correctly applied. Now, the native EDID had only AC3 capability so maybe your TV can't passthrough DTS.

Another alternative is trying AC3Filter, which does magic with S/PDIF passthrough, even without an EDID override.

Do I still need to turn off HDMI control or it doesn't matter?

During research of my issue, I found that couple forum members were able to passthrough DTS to Sony TVs of a lower model (ex500), so I thought it would work on my TV as well. Supposedly the TV would display an error message saying unsupported format but DTS would still passthrough to the AVR.

I did use AC3Filter for SPDIF before I got the Sony by using the onboard sound out from coax directly to my receiver and it worked fine. But since I got my new TV, I get audio sync issues from 3D content using this setup so that's why I switched to HDMI audio out to TV. I'll give AC3Filter a try and see what happens. Right now I'm using reclock and LAV filters.

Thanks for your help
thor777 is offline  
post #1624 of 3181 Old 09-14-2011, 09:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
No need to turn off HDMI control as you already get AC3 passthrough.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1625 of 3181 Old 09-14-2011, 12:07 PM
Newbie
 
michaelker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

...

thanks a lot for the override. I finally gotten the 5.1 passthrough. appreciate it.
michaelker is offline  
post #1626 of 3181 Old 09-14-2011, 02:00 PM
Member
 
tballing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Howdy,

I have a Denon 3808cl hooked up to a htpc with a Radeon 5570. I am having no problems with bitstreaming and no problems in general about 95% of the time.

However, occassionally, I start up my entertainment systme with my harmony remote and the samsung hdtv will have a very fluttery picture from the htpc. It looks like the picture is constantly and slightly jumping around. It seems to happen when I turn on the entire system or change inputs on the avr to the htpc. It only happens about 5-10% of the time and I solve it by turning off the avr and turning it back on.

Would the edid override fix this type of problem?

Thanks,
Troy
tballing is offline  
post #1627 of 3181 Old 09-14-2011, 04:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by tballing View Post

Howdy,

I have a Denon 3808cl hooked up to a htpc with a Radeon 5570. I am having no problems with bitstreaming and no problems in general about 95% of the time.

However, occassionally, I start up my entertainment systme with my harmony remote and the samsung hdtv will have a very fluttery picture from the htpc. It looks like the picture is constantly and slightly jumping around. It seems to happen when I turn on the entire system or change inputs on the avr to the htpc. It only happens about 5-10% of the time and I solve it by turning off the avr and turning it back on.

Would the edid override fix this type of problem?

Thanks,
Troy

If it's resuming from sleep with Media Center running then the answer is 'no'. Otherwise it might help. Try the Samsung/DENON EDID override closest to your HDTV from the table in my sig.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1628 of 3181 Old 09-15-2011, 10:58 PM
Member
 
jvivek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Calgary, Canada,
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, looking for Help with my setup sir, thank you

Ati 5770
catalyst 11.8

Dual setup

1.) HTPC->Dell U2211H lcd monitor connected through DVI
2.) Htpc->Denon 4308-> Pioneer Elite 101fd connected using hdmi

Thank you
jvivek is offline  
post #1629 of 3181 Old 09-16-2011, 03:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvivek View Post

Hello, looking for Help with my setup sir, thank you

Ati 5770
catalyst 11.8

Dual setup

1.) HTPC->Dell U2211H lcd monitor connected through DVI
2.) Htpc->Denon 4308-> Pioneer Elite 101fd connected using hdmi

Thank you

Please explain your problem.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1630 of 3181 Old 09-16-2011, 08:02 AM
Member
 
jvivek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Calgary, Canada,
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get tv screen and monitor going black everythime i play a video through xbmc, also everytime, i turn off the reciever or tv, the monitor goes black screen also. this only lasts 1-3 seconds.
jvivek is offline  
post #1631 of 3181 Old 09-16-2011, 08:54 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Not an EDID issue. The 1-3 seconds black screen is due switching display devices and re-detection, so it's not an issue. The xbmc problem should be software related (configuration possibly), but I'm not familiar with xbmc so can't help you there.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1632 of 3181 Old 09-16-2011, 11:38 AM
Member
 
thor777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no go for DTS passthrough on my TV. I've decided to just play video files through the onboard soundcard's SPDIF which will bitstream AC3/DTS directly to the receiver and use TMT5 for 3D content using HDMI to bitstream AC3/DTS using the mix to AC3 setting for the TV to passthrough to the receiver.

Thanks for your help, Tulli
thor777 is offline  
post #1633 of 3181 Old 09-17-2011, 09:38 PM
Member
 
padlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping that one of the smart people here will be able to help me out.

I've got a Panasonic VT 25 TV that I'd like to use with 3DTV Play while going through my Denon receiver. Even though the receiver is not HDMI 1.4, it does work with 720P 3D signals (both video and audio work fine).

3DTV Play doesn't detect that I have a 3D TV when going through the receiver. I was able to overcome the problem by forcing the driver to an EDID Overide one I got using MonInfo while my computer was hooked up the TV directly. Unfortunately, doing that limits my audio to 2 channels.

What I'd like to do is combine my TV's .inf with the audio section of my receiver's .inf. I think that this should be possible, but I have no idea how to do it.

Would anyone here be able to help? I'm attaching the relevant .inf files in case they come in handy.

 

panasonic.inf.txt 3.0146484375k . file

 

denon.inf.txt 3.009765625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: txt denon.inf.txt (3.0 KB, 3 views)
File Type: txt panasonic.inf.txt (3.0 KB, 2 views)
padlock is offline  
post #1634 of 3181 Old 09-18-2011, 05:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by padlock View Post

I'm hoping that one of the smart people here will be able to help me out.

I've got a Panasonic VT 25 TV that I'd like to use with 3DTV Play while going through my Denon receiver. Even though the receiver is not HDMI 1.4, it does work with 720P 3D signals (both video and audio work fine).

3DTV Play doesn't detect that I have a 3D TV when going through the receiver. I was able to overcome the problem by forcing the driver to an EDID Overide one I got using MonInfo while my computer was hooked up the TV directly. Unfortunately, doing that limits my audio to 2 channels.

What I'd like to do is combine my TV's .inf with the audio section of my receiver's .inf. I think that this should be possible, but I have no idea how to do it.

Would anyone here be able to help? I'm attaching the relevant .inf files in case they come in handy.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post20619806

In short, no way to get HD audio with an EDID override, so either get a 1.4 AVR or use split connections.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1635 of 3181 Old 09-18-2011, 07:09 AM
Member
 
padlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post20619806

In short, no way to get HD audio with an EDID override, so either get a 1.4 AVR or use split connections.

Thank you for the reply. I'm not sure I understand was is meant by HD Audio.

I know for a fact that my receiver does work with 720P 3D video and multi channel audio, because I use it all the time with my PS3. 1080P 3D video does not work, but that's not what I'm trying to do here.

Is there really no way to edit the .inf to indicate that my device has more then 2 speakers? I thought it would be a matter of specifying some data in a Speaker Allocation Data Block.
padlock is offline  
post #1636 of 3181 Old 09-18-2011, 12:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by padlock View Post
Thank you for the reply. I'm not sure I understand was is meant by HD Audio.

I know for a fact that my receiver does work with 720P 3D video and multi channel audio, because I use it all the time with my PS3. 1080P 3D video does not work, but that's not what I'm trying to do here.

Is there really no way to edit the .inf to indicate that my device has more then 2 speakers? I thought it would be a matter of specifying some data in a Speaker Allocation Data Block.
HD audio = DD+, TrueHD, DTS-HR, DTS-HD. Do you get those with your PS3? It's not possible on a PC with an EDID override (3D HDMI1.4 over an HDMI1.3 AVR). Again, split connections is your only choice (other than buying an HDM1.4 AVR of course). Check linked thread above for more info.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1637 of 3181 Old 09-18-2011, 01:31 PM
Member
 
padlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
HD audio = DD+, TrueHD, DTS-HR, DTS-HD. Do you get those with your PS3? It's not possible on a PC with an EDID override (3D HDMI1.4 over an HDMI1.3 AVR). Again, split connections is your only choice (other than buying an HDM1.4 AVR of course). Check linked thread above for more info.
I'm not really looking for any of those formats though. I just want to enable uncompressed multi channel (5.1) sound, which is what I do get from the PS3.

It seems like the thread is referring to not being able to pass a frame packed (1080P x2) 3d signal through a 1.3 HDMI receiver, but I know you can't do. 720 P 3D has not been a problem though.
padlock is offline  
post #1638 of 3181 Old 09-18-2011, 04:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by padlock View Post
I'm not really looking for any of those formats though. I just want to enable uncompressed multi channel (5.1) sound, which is what I do get from the PS3.

It seems like the thread is referring to not being able to pass a frame packed (1080P x2) 3d signal through a 1.3 HDMI receiver, but I know you can't do. 720 P 3D has not been a problem though.
OK, here's your EDID override. Let's see if it works ...

 

Panasonic VT 25 - DENON AVR.zip 1.22265625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Panasonic VT 25 - DENON AVR.zip (1.2 KB, 10 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1639 of 3181 Old 09-18-2011, 05:20 PM
Member
 
padlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

OK, here's your EDID override. Let's see if it works ...

Awesome! I just tried it out and it works perfectly. I'm now able to play 3D games at 720p with multichannel audio.

Thank you so much Tulli. I'm very grateful for your help.
padlock is offline  
post #1640 of 3181 Old 09-25-2011, 05:31 AM
Newbie
 
zed9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I need some help with my setup too.
it would be greatly appreciated!

I currently have a acer aspire revo r3600 (nvidia ion) hooked up via hdmi to samsung ps59d8000 plasma tv, which in turn has optical audio out to a denon avr1907.

I'm trying to get multichannel audio to passthrough to the receiver.

I have tried multiple inf files from this thread which seems to make no difference. when i load up moninfo it always just says i have 2 channel audio.

currently i have 3 audio devices for some reason - one is speakers( high defination audio device), two is headphones (high definition audio device, and lastly is nvidia hdmi out (nvidia high definition audio) <- this is the default device.

i tried installing the realtek codecs but they just replace the first two devices with one realtek high definition audio device; and the nvidia hdmi out remains un changed. there is no sound output from the realtek high definition audio device either.

I'm at a loss here. help would be appreciated.

 

EDID.txt 6.6708984375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: txt EDID.txt (6.7 KB, 2 views)
zed9 is offline  
post #1641 of 3181 Old 09-25-2011, 10:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
...

 

Samsung PS59D8000.zip 1.2177734375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Samsung PS59D8000.zip (1.2 KB, 4 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1642 of 3181 Old 09-25-2011, 10:18 PM
Newbie
 
zed9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulli,

thank you very much!

I now have dolby digital and DTS passthrough!! I'm very excited.

One more question tho, I noticed audio encoded with AAC doesn't work. Plus testing the channels in sound settings theres only left and right channels.

I gather this is because multichannel PCM is not getting passed through? Is this a hardware limitation of the SPDIF cable going from my TV to my receiver? or is this a software issue?



ADDIT: I changed the audio out setting in XBMC from HDMI to SPDIF/COAXIAL, and for some reason this made the AAC codec files work. I have no idea why that would be, but I'm happy that it works. Thanks again Tulli.
zed9 is offline  
post #1643 of 3181 Old 09-26-2011, 02:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Correct, S/PDIF bandwidth is limited to PCM/2 channels and compressed formats.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1644 of 3181 Old 09-26-2011, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
vanguardwars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulli,

I don't know if I can post my problem here, but I'm trying my luck here. Below is my setup (I don't use AVR or any equipment, just a PC and a single HDTV setup).

XFX 5770 1GB (stock clocks)
Catalyst 11.8
Ganzklar 24" LED TV (Model HB-M03MB24, support 1080p) Has 2 HDMI ports and a VGA.

My problem is that when I connect via HDMI to HDMI, or DVI to HDMI, or Display Port to HDMI, my HDTV always flickers, it's like trying to detect my TV every now and then. More like every minute, or the moment I plug via HDMI in my TV, it flickers instantly. If the flicker gone worse it puts my TV on Standby Mode.

In some times, I can watch a full movie, but at the last 5mins of the movie, it flickers, and puts my TV on standby mode. I had to plug it out and turn it on again, and it flickers all over the place. It's driving me crazy. So right now I'm just using the VGA.

I tried everything, from the driver update/rollback, HDMI cables, even the HDMI ports to see if it is loose or something. Until I found this great thread.

I've attached the Real-Time EDID using the moninfo, and with luck I was able to save it as an INF and a BIN file. Can you take a peek on it if there's something out of place? I'll really appreciate the help.

Best regards.

 

Ganzklar_HB-M03MB24.zip 1.482421875k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Ganzklar_HB-M03MB24.zip (1.5 KB, 0 views)
vanguardwars is offline  
post #1645 of 3181 Old 09-26-2011, 07:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
EDID has a 1080p resolution only. Try overriding the GenericPnP monitor driver with this same captured EDID. Hopefully it will help with the bad HDMI handshaking.

Other than that there could be a problem with either device. Can you try with another graphic card?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1646 of 3181 Old 09-26-2011, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
vanguardwars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulli,

Thanks for the reply. my apologies for my lack of knowledge about EDIDs, just my first time hearing this and it was a long shot for me. So I just need install the INF file I saved right? Do I have to connect to the HDMI?

Sadly, I have no spare video card, there is a video card around but it has no HDMI port in it.
vanguardwars is offline  
post #1647 of 3181 Old 09-26-2011, 07:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Correct (see my sig. for more information about EDID overrides).

Yes, you need to connect to the HDMI.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1648 of 3181 Old 09-27-2011, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
vanguardwars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulli,

I've installed the Override and restrated my PC, the flicker have settled down but not completely. But one think I forget before I left to the office is to reset also my HDTV. I'll try it later when I get back. Whether this will fix my issue, I thank you for the assistance.

Cheers!
vanguardwars is offline  
post #1649 of 3181 Old 09-29-2011, 03:37 AM
Newbie
 
Nanolab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I've been struggling for days to get my HTPC config working properly without success...
First my config :
HTPC : NVidia GTX295----DVI to HDMI--> Asus Xonar_HDAV---HDMI--> Yamaha RX-V767 receiver---HDMI--> Samsung LE40C630 (LCD fullHD Tv)

Every single equipment is capable of displaying 1080p24, the Asus Xonar HDAV was bought 2 months ago so it has the 24Hz capability.

What I am trying to achieve is a smooth playback of HD videos (most are MKVs at 23,976fps) and Bluray discs via MPC-HC (ffdshow, Madvr, Lav filters and splitter, Reclock) and TMT 5 (last version).
Frequency switching from 60Hz to 24Hz is made with Autofrequency (I've tried Madvr display switching mode as well).
My problem is a huge amount of time for my display to get at 24Hz (with lot of flickering, black screens, pink noise filling the screen) and when it get stable (Movie is already playing, so I miss beginning ) I still get random black screens during playback...

So I've tried an override EDID mod as described in the first post without success. Same problems occur...
I suspect I have done something wrong in the process...

So, help would be much appreciated if you can look at the Infs joined plz. I included too the last overidde mod I was using (wich prevent me to access a 24hz switching by the way...)

Thanks a lot for any help !

 

EDIDs_generated_via_Moninfo.zip 4.509765625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip EDIDs_generated_via_Moninfo.zip (4.5 KB, 1 views)
Nanolab is offline  
post #1650 of 3181 Old 09-29-2011, 07:24 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanolab View Post
Hello,
I've been struggling for days to get my HTPC config working properly without success...
First my config :
HTPC : NVidia GTX295----DVI to HDMI--> Asus Xonar_HDAV---HDMI--> Yamaha RX-V767 receiver---HDMI--> Samsung LE40C630 (LCD fullHD Tv)

Every single equipment is capable of displaying 1080p24, the Asus Xonar HDAV was bought 2 months ago so it has the 24Hz capability.

What I am trying to achieve is a smooth playback of HD videos (most are MKVs at 23,976fps) and Bluray discs via MPC-HC (ffdshow, Madvr, Lav filters and splitter, Reclock) and TMT 5 (last version).
Frequency switching from 60Hz to 24Hz is made with Autofrequency (I've tried Madvr display switching mode as well).
My problem is a huge amount of time for my display to get at 24Hz (with lot of flickering, black screens, pink noise filling the screen) and when it get stable (Movie is already playing, so I miss beginning ) I still get random black screens during playback...

So I've tried an override EDID mod as described in the first post without success. Same problems occur...
I suspect I have done something wrong in the process...

So, help would be much appreciated if you can look at the Infs joined plz. I included too the last overidde mod I was using (wich prevent me to access a 24hz switching by the way...)

Thanks a lot for any help !
I attach the correct mod for a merge of the original EDIDs but, if you haven't already, you should try a custom 24hz resolution instead. Also, make sure that you have the latest driver for the Xonar.

Of course uninstall current EDID override (see my sig. for instructions).

Also test TMT5 playback with .87 version first, as issues could be related to latest TMT5 betas.

 

Samsung LE40C630 - YAMAHA RX-V767.zip 1.2451171875k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Samsung LE40C630 - YAMAHA RX-V767.zip (1.2 KB, 1 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off