EDID Override Thread - Page 69 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2041 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 10:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbant View Post

Here's my setup:
HTPC with nVidia GT430=>Onkyo TX-NR609=>50" LG 720p Plasma, all HDMI connections under 6 feet

The problem I'm experiencing is an odd one. When I play games or browse the web, the video on the LG is perfect. When I try to play tv (Ceton InfiniTV4) or watch a blu-ray, the screen displays the image, but moved over ~10%, with a black bar to the right. If I turn off the receiver, then turn it back on, it fixes the problem with TV, but not with BluRays (stops playback and says that the system isn't HDCP compliant).

Troubleshooting I've tried:
Updated firmware on AVR and drivers/software on GT430--no improvement

Connected GT430=>LG plasma via HDMI--worked perfectly, no image shift.

Called Onkyo to see if there's a setting I don't know of--that was fruitless and caused me to reset my receiver's firmware for no good reason.

The reason I'm thinking it is something to do with EDID is because it's only when dealing with HDCP sources, so I think the system is checking something and getting a bad value in response, then adjusting the viewable portion in response.

Is this related to EDID? This issue is causing my wife to doubt my HTPC project, and it's otherwise a wonderfully fast machine (I'll post full specs in the show your build thread when I've finalized the SATA wires and zip-tied it all) that I'm sure will last for years.

Problem could be HDCP-related indeed. Have you tried, or do you have AnyDVDHD installed? Other than that maybe the Onkyo is having issues repeating the TV EDID, so maybe an EDID override would fix it. If so post the TV EDID.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2042 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 10:59 AM
Member
 
sbant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using WMC for TV and PowerDVD for BluRays, but I'll try AnyDVDHD. I'll post the EDID from the TV.
sbant is offline  
post #2043 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 11:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbant View Post

I'm using WMC for TV and PowerDVD for BluRays.

What about AnyDVDHD? Try it if not installed. If it doesn't work see my previous post.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2044 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
forestklown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

OK, try the attached EDID override. As always, 2 channels applies only to LPCM. Just set your application to send a compressed audio stream.

Thank you for your help Tulli. Unfortunately it did not work.

By "set your application to send a compressed audio stream", did you mean set my audio decoders to s/pdif passthrough? Or is there another setting I should use?
forestklown is offline  
post #2045 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 01:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by forestklown View Post

Thank you for your help Tulli. Unfortunately it did not work.

By "set your application to send a compressed audio stream", did you mean set my audio decoders to s/pdif passthrough? Or is there another setting I should use?

Yes, s/pdif passthrough. Check that AC3 & DTS are listed on the "Supported Formats" window for the HDMI audio device.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2046 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
forestklown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Yes, s/pdif passthrough. Check that AC3 & DTS are listed on the "Supported Formats" window for the HDMI audio device.

They're not.
forestklown is offline  
post #2047 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 02:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by forestklown View Post

They're not.

That means that the EDID override is not correctly installed. Check instructions in my sig.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2048 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
forestklown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

That means that the EDID override is not correctly installed. Check instructions in my sig.

Still no go.

..But I noticed you had "Vizio SV420m - DENON 590" in your list, so I tried it and it works!

My receiver is showing dts and dolby. Thank you SO MUCH!!!
forestklown is offline  
post #2049 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 05:19 PM
Member
 
sbant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Onkyo TX-NR609:

00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,3D,CB,62,0B,00,00,00,00,00,15,01,03, 80,73,41,96,0A,CF,74,A3,57,4C,B0,23,
09,48,4C,AF,CF,00,31,40,45,40,61,40,81,80,A9,40,01,01,01,01, 01,01,66,21,50,B0,51,00,1B,30,40,70,
36,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,02,3A,80,18,71,38,2D,40,58,2C,45,00, C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,00,00,00,FC,00,54,
58,2D,4E,52,36,30,39,0A,20,20,20,20,00,00,00,FD,00,30,4B,1F, 64,11,00,0A,20,20,20,20,20,20,01,53,
02,03,3C,F1,4D,84,05,03,02,20,22,10,06,0F,0E,0A,24,23,38,09, 7F,07,0F,7F,07,17,07,50,3F,06,C0,4D,
02,00,57,06,00,5F,7E,01,67,54,00,83,4F,00,00,6C,03,0C,00,11, 00,B8,2D,C0,00,00,00,00,01,1D,00,72,
51,D0,1E,20,6E,28,55,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,01,1D,80,18,71,1C, 16,20,58,2C,25,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,9E,
8C,0A,D0,8A,20,E0,2D,10,10,3E,96,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,18,00,00, 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,DC

LG 50PQ20:
00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,1E,6D,01,00,01,01,01,01,00,11,01,03, 80,73,41,96,0A,CF,74,A3,57,4C,B0,23,
09,48,4C,AF,CF,00,31,40,45,40,61,40,81,80,A9,40,01,01,01,01, 01,01,66,21,50,B0,51,00,1B,30,40,70,
36,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,02,3A,80,18,71,38,2D,40,58,2C,45,00, C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,00,00,00,FD,00,30,
4B,1F,64,11,00,0A,20,20,20,20,20,20,00,00,00,FC,00,4C,47,20, 54,56,0A,20,20,20,20,20,20,20,01,97,
02,03,1B,F1,47,84,05,03,02,20,22,10,26,15,07,50,09,07,07,67, 03,0C,00,30,00,B8,2D,01,1D,00,72,51,
D0,1E,20,6E,28,55,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,01,1D,80,18,71,1C,16, 20,58,2C,25,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,9E,8C,
0A,D0,8A,20,E0,2D,10,10,3E,96,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,18,8C,0A,D0, 8A,20,E0,2D,10,10,3E,96,00,13,8E,21,
00,00,18,0E,1F,00,80,51,00,1E,30,40,80,37,00,C4,8E,21,00,00, 1C,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,9D

Thank you in advance for your help.
sbant is offline  
post #2050 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 05:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbant View Post

Onkyo TX-NR609:

00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,3D,CB,62,0B,00,00,00,00,00,15,01,03, 80,73,41,96,0A,CF,74,A3,57,4C,B0,23,
09,48,4C,AF,CF,00,31,40,45,40,61,40,81,80,A9,40,01,01,01,01, 01,01,66,21,50,B0,51,00,1B,30,40,70,
36,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,02,3A,80,18,71,38,2D,40,58,2C,45,00, C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,00,00,00,FC,00,54,
58,2D,4E,52,36,30,39,0A,20,20,20,20,00,00,00,FD,00,30,4B,1F, 64,11,00,0A,20,20,20,20,20,20,01,53,
02,03,3C,F1,4D,84,05,03,02,20,22,10,06,0F,0E,0A,24,23,38,09, 7F,07,0F,7F,07,17,07,50,3F,06,C0,4D,
02,00,57,06,00,5F,7E,01,67,54,00,83,4F,00,00,6C,03,0C,00,11, 00,B8,2D,C0,00,00,00,00,01,1D,00,72,
51,D0,1E,20,6E,28,55,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,01,1D,80,18,71,1C, 16,20,58,2C,25,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,9E,
8C,0A,D0,8A,20,E0,2D,10,10,3E,96,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,18,00,00, 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,DC

LG 50PQ20:
00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,1E,6D,01,00,01,01,01,01,00,11,01,03, 80,73,41,96,0A,CF,74,A3,57,4C,B0,23,
09,48,4C,AF,CF,00,31,40,45,40,61,40,81,80,A9,40,01,01,01,01, 01,01,66,21,50,B0,51,00,1B,30,40,70,
36,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,02,3A,80,18,71,38,2D,40,58,2C,45,00, C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,00,00,00,FD,00,30,
4B,1F,64,11,00,0A,20,20,20,20,20,20,00,00,00,FC,00,4C,47,20, 54,56,0A,20,20,20,20,20,20,20,01,97,
02,03,1B,F1,47,84,05,03,02,20,22,10,26,15,07,50,09,07,07,67, 03,0C,00,30,00,B8,2D,01,1D,00,72,51,
D0,1E,20,6E,28,55,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,01,1D,80,18,71,1C,16, 20,58,2C,25,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,9E,8C,
0A,D0,8A,20,E0,2D,10,10,3E,96,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,18,8C,0A,D0, 8A,20,E0,2D,10,10,3E,96,00,13,8E,21,
00,00,18,0E,1F,00,80,51,00,1E,30,40,80,37,00,C4,8E,21,00,00, 1C,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,9D

Thank you in advance for your help.

OK, here's the problem. Native resolution of the LG TV as reported by the EDID is 1360x768, i.e not HDTV standard, which is a problem for the AVr. Only solution is using separate connections to the TV and AVR (in extended mode. Use a DVI-HDMI adapter or cable for the second connection).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2051 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 07:44 PM
Member
 
sbant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I should use a DVI-HDMI for the GT 430 to Onkyo connection? Do I need to route the audio through the SPDIF? Would it be better if I routed the video through VGA to the VGA input of the Onkyo?
sbant is offline  
post #2052 of 3181 Old 04-16-2012, 08:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Yes, DVI-HDMI for full HD audio resolution (8-LPCM, DTS HD & True HD). No need of S/PDIF. No VGA.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2053 of 3181 Old 04-18-2012, 02:55 PM
Member
 
sbant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hooked up the DVI-HDMI cable from the GT430 to the Onkyo, and it did the same thing. I think you're saying that I should hook up both the HDMI and the DVI out, with the HDMI to the TV and the DVI to the AVR, or vice versa, right? Then I route the audio through the wire to the AVR, and the video through the other cable? Would it be easier to just run a Toslink to the AVR and the video through DVI or HDMI to the tv?
sbant is offline  
post #2054 of 3181 Old 04-18-2012, 04:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbant View Post

I hooked up the DVI-HDMI cable from the GT430 to the Onkyo, and it did the same thing. I think you're saying that I should hook up both the HDMI and the DVI out, with the HDMI to the TV and the DVI to the AVR, or vice versa, right? Then I route the audio through the wire to the AVR, and the video through the other cable? Would it be easier to just run a Toslink to the AVR and the video through DVI or HDMI to the tv?

That's right. Toslink would be just fine if all you want is plain DD or DTS.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2055 of 3181 Old 04-18-2012, 04:46 PM
Member
 
sbant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I decide to upgrade my speaker setup in the future, can Toslink/SPDIF handle 7.1 audio, or is 5.1 DD or DTS the maximum?
sbant is offline  
post #2056 of 3181 Old 04-18-2012, 04:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbant View Post

If I decide to upgrade my speaker setup in the future, can Toslink/SPDIF handle 7.1 audio, or is 5.1 DD or DTS the maximum?

7.1 plain DD or DTS is ok for S/PDIF.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2057 of 3181 Old 04-18-2012, 05:44 PM
Member
 
sbant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's working perfectly with the audio to the AVR via optical and the video from the HTPC to the tv via HDMI. Thank you for your help.
sbant is offline  
post #2058 of 3181 Old 04-26-2012, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
jesper.reenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been doing quite some research of why i can't get "digital audio" passthrough on my TV from my HTPC when it works flawless when watching regular TV.
So far I concluded that it must be some edid related issues?

My Setup is

HTPC =HDMI> Samsung LE40B650 (tv) =optical> Logitech Z-5500

The HTPC is an Xtreamer Ultra with an Atom D525 NVidia ION2.

The Z-5500 supports hardware decoding of DD, DTS and DTS 96/24 and PCM 44,1kHz/16bit to 96kHz/24bit.

As seen from the edid information and from dmesg, then the TV only reports 2 channel LPCM:

[773134.532040] HDMI: detected monitor SAMSUNG
[773134.532046] at connection type HDMI
[773134.532054] HDMI: available speakers: FL/FR
[773134.532066] HDMI: supports coding type LPCM: channels = 2, rates = 32000 44100 48000, bits = 16 20 24

The problems arise when I try to play mkv files using xbmc, where I either get stereo sound, no sound or errors from xbmc according to what ever settings I set.

Thus I hope that an edid overwrite would help. If this is the case, then I would appreciate some help in making it, as I'm not sure which hex values to use for the above mentioned supported audio of my Z-5500.


Kind Regards
Reenberg

 

edid.bin.txt 0.25k . file
Attached Files
File Type: txt edid.bin.txt (256 Bytes, 4 views)
jesper.reenberg is offline  
post #2059 of 3181 Old 04-27-2012, 02:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesper.reenberg View Post
I have been doing quite some research of why i can't get "digital audio" passthrough on my TV from my HTPC when it works flawless when watching regular TV.
So far I concluded that it must be some edid related issues?

My Setup is

HTPC =HDMI> Samsung LE40B650 (tv) =optical> Logitech Z-5500

The HTPC is an Xtreamer Ultra with an Atom D525 NVidia ION2.

The Z-5500 supports hardware decoding of DD, DTS and DTS 96/24 and PCM 44,1kHz/16bit to 96kHz/24bit.

As seen from the edid information and from dmesg, then the TV only reports 2 channel LPCM:

[773134.532040] HDMI: detected monitor SAMSUNG
[773134.532046] at connection type HDMI
[773134.532054] HDMI: available speakers: FL/FR
[773134.532066] HDMI: supports coding type LPCM: channels = 2, rates = 32000 44100 48000, bits = 16 20 24

The problems arise when I try to play mkv files using xbmc, where I either get stereo sound, no sound or errors from xbmc according to what ever settings I set.

Thus I hope that an edid overwrite would help. If this is the case, then I would appreciate some help in making it, as I'm not sure which hex values to use for the above mentioned supported audio of my Z-5500.


Kind Regards
Reenberg
...

 

Samsung LE40B650+AC3&DTS.zip 1.2607421875k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Samsung LE40B650+AC3&DTS.zip (1.3 KB, 4 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2060 of 3181 Old 05-02-2012, 03:49 AM
Newbie
 
supernielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung UE40D6505 i have my laptop connected to my tv and my tv to receiver i cant do it any other way to get what i want..

My problem is my tv says it can only output 2 channel sound when connect with a hdmi device..

But this is what i want to try, i will try to get the tv detected as 5.1 as i think the tv will just pass 5.1 to my receiver and then i can get the full surround experience..

Can you make this EDID override so i can detect my tv as 5.1 ?

Great work btw..

here is the file http://www.2shared.com/file/5yINBITM...UE40D6505.html
supernielsen is offline  
post #2061 of 3181 Old 05-02-2012, 04:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by supernielsen View Post

I have a Samsung UE40D6505 i have my laptop connected to my tv and my tv to receiver i cant do it any other way to get what i want..

My problem is my tv says it can only output 2 channel sound when connect with a hdmi device..

But this is what i want to try, i will try to get the tv detected as 5.1 as i think the tv will just pass 5.1 to my receiver and then i can get the full surround experience..

Can you make this EDID override so i can detect my tv as 5.1 ?

Great work btw..

here is the file http://www.2shared.com/file/5yINBITM...UE40D6505.html

Try the mod attached to this post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post21970455

It should work for you.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2062 of 3181 Old 05-02-2012, 04:25 AM
Newbie
 
supernielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Try the mod attached to this post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post21970455

It should work for you.

Im sorry but it isn't working maybe my sound driver is **** but it still sees my tv as 2 channels.. I would just like to see what would happen if it detected is as 5.1 because im sure that the tv just pass the audio signal directly to my receiver..
supernielsen is offline  
post #2063 of 3181 Old 05-02-2012, 05:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by supernielsen View Post

Im sorry but it isn't working maybe my sound driver is **** but it still sees my tv as 2 channels.. I would just like to see what would happen if it detected is as 5.1 because im sure that the tv just pass the audio signal directly to my receiver..

Again ... it's all over both EDID threads ...

2 channels = 2 LPCM (uncompressed) channels,

i. e., S/PDIF has not enough bandwidth for multichanel LPCM .

But if DD or DTS are listed under the "Supported Formats" window for the HDMI audio device properties you can perfectly passthrough a multicchannel compressed audio stream (DD or DTS).

Then set your application audio to output 5.1 DD (I don't think DTS will work for over the Samsung) and it should work.

If DD and DTS are not listed under "Supported Formats" check the EDID override installation procedure (see my sig.).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2064 of 3181 Old 05-02-2012, 05:43 AM
Newbie
 
supernielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Again ... it's all over both EDID threads ...

2 channels = 2 LPCM (uncompressed) channels,

i. e., S/PDIF has not enough bandwidth for multichanel LPCM .

But if DD or DTS are listed under the "Supported Formats" window for the HDMI audio device properties you can perfectly passthrough a multicchannel compressed audio stream (DD or DTS).

Then set your application audio to output 5.1 DD (I don't think DTS will work for over the Samsung) and it should work.

If DD and DTS are not listed under "Supported Formats" check the EDID override installation procedure (see my sig.).


Im so confused so sorry if you think im a jerk but im totally new to this. Im normally great at things like this, but this is to advanced and confusing to me..

Here is a picture under coded formats it now says DTS and DD i suppose that what its been done with the override..
But still only 2 channels show..
So i cant understand how i can play surround.

http://billedeupload.dk/?v=z1u0N.jpg
supernielsen is offline  
post #2065 of 3181 Old 05-02-2012, 05:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by supernielsen View Post

Im so confused so sorry if you think im a jerk but im totally new to this. Im normally great at things like this, but this is to advanced and confusing to me..

Here is a picture under coded formats it now says DTS and DD i suppose that what its been done with the override..
But still only 2 channels show..
So i cant understand how i can play surround.

http://billedeupload.dk/?v=z1u0N.jpg

Yes, that configuration is fine. With the EDID override make sure to reboot.

Now, for 5.1 DD to work the application (i. e. a video player) must send of course a 5.1 DD audio stream. It must accordingly be set to NOT decode, or just passthrough, the DD audio stream.

What application are you using?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2066 of 3181 Old 05-02-2012, 06:00 AM
Newbie
 
supernielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Yes, that configuration is fine. With the EDID override make sure to reboot.

Now, for 5.1 DD to work the application (i. e. a video player) must send of course a 5.1 DD audio stream. It must accordingly be set to NOT decode, or just passthrough, the DD audio stream.

What application are you using?

I am using media player classic with cccp codec pack..

Its working did what you said and disabled the decoder.. And its working now thank you..
supernielsen is offline  
post #2067 of 3181 Old 05-05-2012, 05:50 PM
Newbie
 
richms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 24" LCD Tv that I use as a second monitor, since I can flick it over to TV when not using it, which works a lot better than trying to run windows media centre in the background.

Anyway, when I was in ATI land, it came up as DVI on the monitor, picture was sharp, just no audio. Got sick of the low ram in my old PCIe and onboard ATI solution to get 2 outputs, so got a nice new evga nvidia 210 card with a gig on it (so now aero should stay running for more than a day)

Anyway, the screen came up as HDMI with a shockingly fuzzy make you go blind picture. But I had audio, which I wanted all along but never bothered to look into on the ATI card as I was lazy.

A edid override from somewhere else sorted it out, and now the 1080 mode came up along with a heap of other PC modes, whereas before I only had 2 modes - 1024x something and something even worse. However choosing those aweful modes gave me a sharp picture (but small) and audio.

So, is there a chance that combining 2 EDID blocks would give me the 1080 mode showing as a PC mode, so not blurred to hell by the nvidia card/driver for whatever reason, and also get stereo audio to the TV as well. I want it for skyping since using the big stereo for that means that everyone can hear my calls
richms is offline  
post #2068 of 3181 Old 05-05-2012, 06:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by richms View Post

I have a 24" LCD Tv that I use as a second monitor, since I can flick it over to TV when not using it, which works a lot better than trying to run windows media centre in the background.

Anyway, when I was in ATI land, it came up as DVI on the monitor, picture was sharp, just no audio. Got sick of the low ram in my old PCIe and onboard ATI solution to get 2 outputs, so got a nice new evga nvidia 210 card with a gig on it (so now aero should stay running for more than a day)

Anyway, the screen came up as HDMI with a shockingly fuzzy make you go blind picture. But I had audio, which I wanted all along but never bothered to look into on the ATI card as I was lazy.

A edid override from somewhere else sorted it out, and now the 1080 mode came up along with a heap of other PC modes, whereas before I only had 2 modes - 1024x something and something even worse. However choosing those aweful modes gave me a sharp picture (but small) and audio.

So, is there a chance that combining 2 EDID blocks would give me the 1080 mode showing as a PC mode, so not blurred to hell by the nvidia card/driver for whatever reason, and also get stereo audio to the TV as well. I want it for skyping since using the big stereo for that means that everyone can hear my calls

Your problem must be black levels. Define a custom resolution or just use this hack to get RGB levels.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #2069 of 3181 Old 05-05-2012, 06:28 PM
Newbie
 
richms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll give that a shot later on, but I think it goes beyond the levels being bad in that there is actually a visible halo around text etc, whereas its pixel perfect once I did the EDID override or on one occasion changed the driver of the monitor to digital flat panel 1920x1080 - but that has now revered to HDMI mode on the TV and the resulting blur - would the levels being wrong cause blur because of the cleartext rendering being brighter than it should be or something?

Im not at the PC at the moment but have grabbed the EDID from moninfo over remote desktop -
Have put it here - http://pastebin.com/rir5g8B7

I get the feeling that the whole EDID thing is what happens when things are designed by committie and then implemented horribly wrong. I dont really see why a TV needs to be treated any different to a monitor.

Would adding the second block onto a working override work? or is it not that simple?
richms is offline  
post #2070 of 3181 Old 05-05-2012, 07:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
"PC mode" is just RGB video levels with the exact video timings of your monitor, which are encoded in the EDID base block.

In fact you could just remove the Extended block and override the EDID and the Nvidia driver would correctly detect your monitor, but with no audio of course.

But you really shouldn't require an EDID override at all. Let the driver detect the correct real time timings but force it to RGB levels and you'll be in "PC mode".

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off