Thinking about building HTPC, or getting PS3, any major advantage to HTPC? pleasehelp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-04-2008, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
digitalman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to be able to stream and watch HD content on my TV. I thought about getting a PS3, it does well with MKV, Blueray, DVD, Xvid. The main formats i'll be using. It streams or plays direct, and has a hard drive. Is there any main advantage to a HTPC?? from what I can tell at $400 the PS3 would be a good bit cheaper also. Please help. Also this isnt a "PS3 is just as good as a HTCP" I just would like to get better informed of the difference.. thanks for any input!!
digitalman42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-04-2008, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you want a seamless, problem-free, all-in-one solution then go with the PS3. If, however, you are a tweaker by nature and want to have the headroom and ability to upgrade as time goes on, then go with an HTPC.

Some of the obvious advantages of an HTPC over the PS3 are:
- Can be used for more than just media playback (browsing, etc.).
- Easier to upgrade and expand.
- Can support more features than a PS3, e.g. TV tuner card, etc.
- Slicker and sexier front-ends than the PS3 (see my post here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...9&postcount=17
- Can be used for PC games (if you have any interest in any PC games).
daMaster is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-04-2008, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My main reason why I went with a HTPC (still own a PS3) is the ability to rip BR movies to the HDD and play it from there. And I use FFDShow for upscale standard movies which does a far better job than my PS3.

But after installing a new LG BR drive in my HTPC last night and going thru various issues, I can definitely tell u the PS3 offers simplicity and a 'no-headache' approach to playing movies.

"There are 1 0 kinds of people in this world...one that can read binary while the other that can't!!"
XBL Tag: TacoKommando
My small HT setup:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/27565515@N04/

Fragster is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-04-2008, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
For Blu-ray, I'd go with the PS3 (or a standalone Blu-ray player). For other media, though (mkv, old avi files, etc), I'd go with the HTPC. I have an 80GB PS3 (the earlier model that came with MGS4, still with PS2 support) and it's been a headache trying to get self-encoded mp4 files (yeah, I used the MeGUI PS3/Xbox360 profile) to play properly. With the new firmware update, DivX 5/6 playback (using Home Theater Profile) improved a lot. I used to get a lot of artifacts before (green/black dots, squares, vertical lines, etc) and now DivX 5/6 is pretty much perfect. Funny thing is, I've got a bunch of files encoded for the PSP which play perfectly on the PSP but feature the same weird artifacts when played on the PS3.
ilovejedd is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-04-2008, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
digitalman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
evidently theres a streaming program made specificly for PS3 its self that streams MKV files very well, have you tried that?
digitalman42 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-04-2008, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I've got Tversity installed on the PC serving media to the PS3. Not sure if that's the program you're referring to. I don't have re-encoding enabled since the PC doesn't have the grunt to do realtime HD encoding, not to mention you lose quality every time you transcode.
ilovejedd is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off