MediaPortal Install Guide - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1429 Old 04-27-2009, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawngreen70 View Post

I checked the harmony settings and found the Vista Media Center configuration. Setup a device. I'll configure the buttons later.

Which version of imon are you running, I dont see a command to turn off processing commands as you suggested. I'm on version 7.20.X

I'm running 7.20 also. In iMon Manager / Options / Settings check the "IR Signal" box for "Do NOT Process IR Signal".

bryansj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1429 Old 04-28-2009, 08:00 AM
Member
 
koksalcelep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Bergen, NJ
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed the newest version last night for the first time...

I found the interface a little slow while switching between menus.

I dont know if this is normal since this is my first time using MediaPortal.
koksalcelep is offline  
post #543 of 1429 Old 04-28-2009, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by koksalcelep View Post

I installed the newest version last night for the first time...

I found the interface a little slow while switching between menus.

I dont know if this is normal since this is my first time using MediaPortal.

Did you follow the guide in the first post? I didn't like MediaPortal until I installed StreamedMP skin and Moving Pictures plugin.

Could they have picked a lamer default skin?

bryansj is offline  
post #544 of 1429 Old 04-28-2009, 08:23 AM
Member
 
koksalcelep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Bergen, NJ
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

Did you follow the guide in the first post? I didn't like MediaPortal until I installed StreamedMP skin and Moving Pictures plugin.

Could they have picked a lamer default skin?

I installed StreamedMP. but didnt configure it...

is there anything specificly should be changed in settings?
koksalcelep is offline  
post #545 of 1429 Old 04-29-2009, 08:57 AM
Member
 
gohanix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where do i change the default background picture for streamedmp?

i dont want dexter or wall E..
gohanix is offline  
post #546 of 1429 Old 04-29-2009, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gohanix View Post

where do i change the default background picture for streamedmp?

i dont want dexter or wall E..

Look in C:\\Program Files\\Team MediaPortal\\MediaPortal\\skin\\StreamedMP\\Media\\Animation s

Under there you'll find several subfolders for movies, tv, radio, etc. Put any backdrops you want under movies, for example, and they'll show up as the background when you're on the "Watch Movies" menu item.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daMaster is offline  
post #547 of 1429 Old 04-29-2009, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
shawngreen70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Damaster,

I know you have edited your home screen - could you give more details on that? Like a quick guide on how to generate a new basic home and stuff? Also how do you change the splash screen when media portal loads?

Actually I great resource would be if someone listed where all the folders are for various things like this.
shawngreen70 is offline  
post #548 of 1429 Old 04-29-2009, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
shawngreen70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

I'm running 7.20 also. In iMon Manager / Options / Settings check the "IR Signal" box for "Do NOT Process IR Signal".


Bryan,

I dont have that option. Could you post a screenshot? I'll post screenies of my config later. I'm still having problems with IMON and IRSS. Not sure which one is doing what right now.
shawngreen70 is offline  
post #549 of 1429 Old 04-29-2009, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawngreen70 View Post

Bryan,

I dont have that option. Could you post a screenshot? I'll post screenies of my config later. I'm still having problems with IMON and IRSS. Not sure which one is doing what right now.

If you can't find it then just "run" msconfig.exe and uncheck/remove imon from startup.

bryansj is offline  
post #550 of 1429 Old 04-29-2009, 12:28 PM
Member
 
gohanix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thansk damaster.. i'll have a look.
gohanix is offline  
post #551 of 1429 Old 04-29-2009, 01:38 PM
Member
 
racerxnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really like the Black and White 1080P skin. Looks professional as well as functions good. Moving pictures lacks in retrieving cover art for the movies. I went back to the standard DB. Best of all is that I can still use MPC-HC with the MadVR renderer. The Rolly Polly interface for selecting movies, radio etc is kind of childish. It would be great if the GUI had selection boxes as well.

MAK
racerxnet is offline  
post #552 of 1429 Old 04-29-2009, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
brianley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerxnet View Post

I really like the Black and White 1080P skin. Looks professional as well as functions good. Moving pictures lacks in retrieving cover art for the movies. I went back to the standard DB. Best of all is that I can still use MPC-HC with the MadVR renderer. The Rolly Polly interface for selecting movies, radio etc is kind of childish. It would be great if the GUI had selection boxes as well.

MAK

I've had great luck with the newer releases of Moving Pictures in getting movie art / synopsis's - probably 99%+ with over 200 movies. Were you getting the summaries and not coverart or nothing at all?
brianley is online now  
post #553 of 1429 Old 04-29-2009, 03:37 PM
10k
Advanced Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawngreen70 View Post

Damaster,

I know you have edited your home screen - could you give more details on that? Like a quick guide on how to generate a new basic home and stuff? Also how do you change the splash screen when media portal loads?

Actually I great resource would be if someone listed where all the folders are for various things like this.

It's easier than you think. StreamedMP comes with a "basichome" editor. You can use that to add whatever menu entries you want, and also specify which folder in the "animations" folder each item should get its images from.

Note that the editor loads the current basichome config but doesn't allow you to edit it. You need to recreate it from the list on the left. Once you get the hang of it, it is really easy.

I don't know about the splash screen. I haven't bothered to try since my htpc runs mediaportal 24/7.

Hope that helps


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Last update 5/20/13)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
10k is offline  
post #554 of 1429 Old 05-02-2009, 01:00 PM
Member
 
racerxnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Were you getting the summaries and not coverart or nothing at all?

I was getting the summary, but did not like the foreign titles. The retrieval of the art was poor. I got about 2 selections for the cover. With the standard base I get as many as IMDB has available. I updated the script in moving pictures, but still the same for cover retrieval. I like to match the cover with the original I have of the movie. My data base will consist of about 600 titles from DVD's I have collected over the years. A couple more terabyte drives and I will be set.

So far I am happy with what is working for me. A great freeware product that fits my needs well. My Movies does not support an external player and has too much bloat needed to function.

Thanks,

MAK
racerxnet is offline  
post #555 of 1429 Old 05-05-2009, 05:32 AM
Member
 
gohanix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
woohooo divx7 supports mkv!
gohanix is offline  
post #556 of 1429 Old 05-05-2009, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gohanix View Post

woohooo divx7 supports mkv!

Yes, but it's a software decoder and won't make use of hardware acceleration. As a result, there's absolutely zero excitement on my part.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daMaster is offline  
post #557 of 1429 Old 05-05-2009, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by daMaster View Post

Yes, but it's a software decoder and won't make use of hardware acceleration. As a result, there's absolutely zero excitement on my part.

Yeah, but he may not own anything more and the price on DivX7 is right for free decoding :-)
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #558 of 1429 Old 05-05-2009, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hornfeck View Post

Yeah, but he may not own anything more and the price on DivX7 is right for free decoding :-)

And the price for the MPC Video Decoder is ... guess what??? FREE! And it has full support for hardware decoding.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daMaster is offline  
post #559 of 1429 Old 05-06-2009, 12:15 PM
Member
 
gohanix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about ffdshow... it all seems software based?
gohanix is offline  
post #560 of 1429 Old 05-06-2009, 07:32 PM
10k
Advanced Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by gohanix View Post

what about ffdshow... it all seems software based?

True


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Last update 5/20/13)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
10k is offline  
post #561 of 1429 Old 05-07-2009, 06:44 AM
Member
 
gohanix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
damn it... yesterday i downloaded win7 rc1.. installed it on my htpc but for some reason its not dual booting! argh.. i could have sworn i selected the right option..
gohanix is offline  
post #562 of 1429 Old 05-09-2009, 02:09 AM
Member
 
wooddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MediaPortal 1.0.2 released!
wooddog is offline  
post #563 of 1429 Old 05-09-2009, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Toxic69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^

OMG!! sweet
Toxic69 is offline  
post #564 of 1429 Old 05-09-2009, 12:18 PM
Member
 
gohanix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
win7 + 1.0.1 + streamed mp = works

+1.0.2 = works.

i dont use the tv features. mainly the movies and watch tv
gohanix is offline  
post #565 of 1429 Old 05-11-2009, 07:47 AM
10k
Advanced Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 38
1.01 -> 1.02 upgrade very uneventful on Vista64. I had to re-enter my sql password on the tv server settings but that was it.

My setup is:
Skin: StreamedMP
Plugins: MovingPictures, TV Series, MyNetflix


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Last update 5/20/13)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
10k is offline  
post #566 of 1429 Old 05-11-2009, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Jackal55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This guide will come in handy. I was going to give Media Portal a try this summer on the new HTPC build. That way i can decide if i want to keep it or go back to SageTV before the Fall TV season begins. Media Portal is looking very, very nice.
Jackal55 is offline  
post #567 of 1429 Old 05-11-2009, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Mtb_dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey fellas,

I installed MediaPortal per DaMaster's set-up guide - and by far it's the best set-up for HTPC I've found anywhere - thanks man!

However, I have a couple of .mkvs that won't play right. They are H.264 (MPEG-4 AVC) according to the media summary in the Properties tag. For some reason, the primary colors are misaligned relative to black and white. You can see the red, green, and blue are all vertically offset by different amounts. The offset colors even wrap from the top of the screen to the bottom on the screen (notice the ghosted "Autopilot engage" at the bottom right of the picture).

I think the files are OK. I can play them in graphstudio with the MPC filter alright. I also had them running alright with Windows Media Player 9. Then I upgraded to Windows Media Player 11 and they produced the weird screen capture result. I've played with all settings under Performance --> Video Acceleration Advanced without benefit.

Any hints to correct color issues?

Thanks!
LL
Mtb_dave is offline  
post #568 of 1429 Old 05-12-2009, 06:18 AM
10k
Advanced Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Are you using the MPC decoder for h264 in media portal?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Last update 5/20/13)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
10k is offline  
post #569 of 1429 Old 05-14-2009, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
eXces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtb_dave View Post

Hey fellas,

I installed MediaPortal per DaMaster's set-up guide - and by far it's the best set-up for HTPC I've found anywhere - thanks man!

However, I have a couple of .mkvs that won't play right. They are H.264 (MPEG-4 AVC) according to the media summary in the Properties tag. For some reason, the primary colors are misaligned relative to black and white. You can see the red, green, and blue are all vertically offset by different amounts. The offset colors even wrap from the top of the screen to the bottom on the screen (notice the ghosted "Autopilot engage" at the bottom right of the picture).

I think the files are OK. I can play them in graphstudio with the MPC filter alright. I also had them running alright with Windows Media Player 9. Then I upgraded to Windows Media Player 11 and they produced the weird screen capture result. I've played with all settings under Performance --> Video Acceleration Advanced without benefit.

Any hints to correct color issues?

Thanks!

try to reencode them using free XviD4PSP 5.0 software
Just run Xvid4PSP, drag&drop your video file and config Xvid4PSP acording this screenshot:
eXces is offline  
post #570 of 1429 Old 05-16-2009, 02:28 PM
Member
 
BlackdogZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am currently using the pixel shading options in MPC Classic to correct colour and apply a bit of sharpness. Is there any way to do this directly in Mediaportal ?
BlackdogZA is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off