Media Browser: Great alternative to DVD Library/My Movies/Movie Collector - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 4110 Old 03-12-2009, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xzener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoNkLorD View Post

Hmmm what do you think you can do about sports? can you add some wresting and UFC to spice it up for my boys

Done, and done.

Hope you like them. I forgot where these were requested. I forgot it was in here.

By the way everybody, I fixed a bunch of icons...

Documentaries
Nature
Kids Movies
Disney Movies

I also added a couple...

UFC
Sports
Hockey
xzener is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 4110 Old 03-12-2009, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know which codec would enable me to watch Blu-Ray rips in VMC with hardware acceleration turned on?

When I turn hardware acceleration off, my Blu-Ray rips won't play but all the MKVs play with HA just fine. When I turn off HA by enabling FFDSHOW, then my BluRays play fine (as do the MKVs), but obviously not through the GPU.

HA works fine if I play the Blu-Ray rips in BD-player software (PDVD and WDVD).

Any suggestions?
GooberedUp is offline  
post #813 of 4110 Old 03-12-2009, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xzener View Post

Done, and done.

Hope you like them. I forgot where these were requested. I forgot it was in here.

By the way everybody, I fixed a bunch of icons...

Documentaries
Nature
Kids Movies
Disney Movies

I also added a couple...

UFC
Sports
Hockey

I just happened to notice something. On your 3-d type icons (the new ones), you can see a line from the portion of the clapper bleeding through on the pictures. I didn't notice that on my TV, just on my monitor right now.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #814 of 4110 Old 03-12-2009, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xzener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Man, you guys are hard to please. HAHA..... I know. But like I said, they may not be perfect. Give me some time to perfect it.

Oh, and about the Bluray rips in VMC. I used the "Vista Codec Pack". You can download it here... http://www.softpedia.com/get/Multime...-Package.shtml It works great for me. I'm still trying to get DD audio to work. There is a way, I've just been busy and not worried about it.

I'm not sure about the HW acceleration though, you can try it.

Hope it works out for ya.
xzener is offline  
post #815 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll give it a try. Can't hurt.

Hey, your icons are great. They're perfect for my use. Thanks for all the work you do on them.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #816 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
genro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Latest version of Media Browser 2.0.10.0 has been released!

http://www.mediabrowser.tv/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1185

Highlights include integration of the Vanilla theme, support for .ts/m2t file types as well as for external player support for files within a folder!!

For me now, I see absolutely no reason to continue using MyMovies. This has given the ability to do everything I could want and then some.
genro is offline  
post #817 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think Mediabrowser is VASTLY superior to MM. No goofy server client crap. No fugly GUI. Clean, smooth, easy and lots of eyecandy for the WAF.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #818 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
genro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GooberedUp View Post

I think Mediabrowser is VASTLY superior to MM. No goofy server client crap. No fugly GUI. Clean, smooth, easy and lots of eyecandy for the WAF.

I agree 100%, I was just waiting for an application to provide Blu-Ray ISO support which MediaBrowser has done for a little bit now. The ability to define external players based on file types is even better!

Best VMC Plug-in out there!
genro is offline  
post #819 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xzener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
xzener is offline  
post #820 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GooberedUp View Post

I think Mediabrowser is VASTLY superior to MM. No goofy server client crap. No fugly GUI. Clean, smooth, easy and lots of eyecandy for the WAF.

It baffles me that any one continues with MM. It had it's place with XP MCE, but man has it been surpassed by not only this, but several others. The MM dev keeps promising a V3, but Vista has been out over 2 years and still nothing. At this point even if V3 were to come out, it would need to be an incredible piece of software for me to even be remotely interested.
davdev is offline  
post #821 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
VampyreGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love MB; however, I have tinkered with MediaPortal and like that as well; however, I just can't get the stability that I currently have with MB. Plus, using the SecondRunTV and vmcNetflix plug-ins in W7MC makes it just so much more convenient to run MB over MP.
VampyreGTX is offline  
post #822 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MB's elegance belies its relative simplicity.

The only thing is that I would imagine like any piece of software, as more and more features are added over the years, the bloat will end up taking its toll and we'll all be hailing a different program by then.

Hopefully that won't be for a long while.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #823 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VampyreGTX View Post

I love MB; however, I have tinkered with MediaPortal and like that as well; however, I just can't get the stability that I currently have with MB. Plus, using the SecondRunTV and vmcNetflix plug-ins in W7MC makes it just so much more convenient to run MB over MP.

I like MP and I was a huge fan of XBMC. But, I never could get MP working as easily as MB, so the kids never used MP. They would simply go to the movie folders and double click. They use MB all the time now and never go to the folders. XBMC is still one of my favorites, but it doesn't work on my TV as well and as of the last time I checked, there's no HA. Even though I don't really use or need it, I like having that option for the tougher movies (like the bird scene from Planet Earth).

I'd love to switch to W7MC as quickly as possible, but I probably won't until someone puts out the hack for simultaneous logins like I have with Vista right now.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #824 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by genro View Post

Latest version of Media Browser 2.0.10.0 has been released!

http://www.mediabrowser.tv/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1185

Highlights include integration of the Vanilla theme, support for .ts/m2t file types as well as for external player support for files within a folder!!

For me now, I see absolutely no reason to continue using MyMovies. This has given the ability to do everything I could want and then some.

I just remoted into my home PC and checked out the new Vanilla interface. Besides having a slow connection over the net, it looks fantastic. I can't wait to get home and really play with it.
davdev is offline  
post #825 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
MoNkLorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spring Valley, NY - NY,NY - Allentown PA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xzener View Post

Done, and done.

Hope you like them. I forgot where these were requested. I forgot it was in here.

By the way everybody, I fixed a bunch of icons...

Documentaries
Nature
Kids Movies
Disney Movies

I also added a couple...

UFC
Sports
Hockey

thanks a ton...man you are very quick
MoNkLorD is offline  
post #826 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
MoNkLorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spring Valley, NY - NY,NY - Allentown PA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
once again i need help fellas (and ladies) i am trying to get the actors to appear as well as genre images. I have an ImagebyName folder in the c:\\program files\\mediabrowser\\

i went to edit the xml file to add the directory path of where my images are but it never works.

what am i doing wrong? i can provide screen shots if needed.

thanks once again
MoNkLorD is offline  
post #827 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this new official release have any benefits over the Throgmorton one? I feel lazy to uninstall and reinstall.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #828 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Genius74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoNkLorD View Post

once again i need help fellas (and ladies) i am trying to get the actors to appear as well as genre images. I have an ImagebyName folder in the c:\\program files\\mediabrowser\\

i went to edit the xml file to add the directory path of where my images are but it never works.

what am i doing wrong? i can provide screen shots if needed.

thanks once again

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoNkLorD View Post

thanks a ton...man you are very quick

C:\\program data\\mediabrowser\\ (the hidden one, ususally)

is the folder that's needed for these directories...

Enough with the PMs about the name...

Getting
Everything
Never
Implies
U are
Satisfied
Genius74 is offline  
post #829 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good catch. I didn't notice he'd gone into program files and not program data.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #830 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 11:45 AM
Member
 
technics2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GooberedUp View Post

Does this new official release have any benefits over the Throgmorton one? I feel lazy to uninstall and reinstall.

http://www.mediabrowser.tv/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1185

Quote:


MediaBrowser 2.0.10.0 is available, if you have beta updates enabled AND .Net Framework 3.5 already installed you should get it automatically.

**IMPORTANT** Media Browser NOW REQUIRES .Net 3.5!
If you do not have the 3.5 Framework you can download it here: .Net 3.5 Framework alternatively you can just let our installer take care of downloading it for you.

I have disabled auto-beta updates on this one for the next few days while people upgrade to .Net 3.5. The upgrade requires a reboot which means you will probably want a keyboard around.


Change Log:

Added brand new Vanilla theme to Media Browser (Now three themes to choose from classic, default, vanilla).
Added 'TS' MediaType to enable playback of .m2ts and .ts files with external player.
Added support for external players to play files in folders.
Added bootstrapper for the .net framework.


Fixed issue where MB could hang on the movie detail page while populating the cache.
Fixed bug where DVD image was missing for DVDs with no Video TS folder.


Changed "Thumb Strip Split Size" to "Thumb Width Split".
Changed clock polling interval to 10 seconds.
Changed installer to require .Net 3.5 as a pre-requsite.


Major back-end work to increase stability, performance, and reduce bugs.
Replaced media experience with playbackcontroller.


Because this is a major update a minor percentage of our users may experience issues whilst upgrading. In this case we strongly recommend deleting your cache and configuration files before continuing to upgrade to this version. Again please note Media Browser has moved to .Net 3.5 (download link above).

As always, your feedback is much appreciated.

You can download it here: http://code.google.com/p/videobrowser/downloads/list

Quick Start Guide: http://code.google.com/p/videobrowser/w ... StartGuide

technics2000 is offline  
post #831 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoNkLorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spring Valley, NY - NY,NY - Allentown PA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoNkLorD View Post

once again i need help fellas (and ladies) i am trying to get the actors to appear as well as genre images. I have an ImagebyName folder in the c:\\program files\\mediabrowser\\

i went to edit the xml file to add the directory path of where my images are but it never works.

what am i doing wrong? i can provide screen shots if needed.

thanks once again

ok i figured out where i was going wrong, fixed now.

this new release** doesn't allow the studios? am i correct?
MoNkLorD is offline  
post #832 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I already saw the change log, but thought that Throgmorton's may have had more than a pretty GUI. But, I guess it was based on 2.0.9.0, so the changelog should be spot on then.

Thanks again.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #833 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
VampyreGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was under the impression that it would include the studios? Can we get clarification?
VampyreGTX is offline  
post #834 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the studios? I read that earlier, but wasn't sure what that meant.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #835 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GooberedUp View Post

What are the studios? I read that earlier, but wasn't sure what that meant.

Movie Studios. Meaning if your XML data had the name of the Studio that made the movie it would display, and I believe there is a way to display it with the studios logo and such. I haven't played with it enough to know if that is working though
davdev is offline  
post #836 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
GooberedUp is offline  
post #837 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 01:29 PM
Member
 
technics2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Studios are working fine in 2.0.10. You can get alot of the studio images in a thread on the mediabrowser forums, just drop them into your imagesbyname folder and specify them in Metabrowser.
technics2000 is offline  
post #838 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
DraZtiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by GooberedUp View Post

MB's elegance belies its relative simplicity.

The only thing is that I would imagine like any piece of software, as more and more features are added over the years, the bloat will end up taking its toll and we'll all be hailing a different program by then.

Hopefully that won't be for a long while.

I think its coming sooner than later judging by the forum post from the Devs. Now, I'm probably one of the few judging by the voting but I like the way media browser is. I am under the assumption they want to make .net a pre-requisite for new features that just are not available without it. It seems as if most don't care why its needed.
DraZtiK is offline  
post #839 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
VampyreGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, net3.5 is standard in W7, so it could just be to standardize MB in preperation for the upcoming OS?
VampyreGTX is offline  
post #840 of 4110 Old 03-13-2009, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GooberedUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are certain extra functions I'd like to see in there (i.e. parental controls, hidden icons that can be unhidden through keypad entry, show/movie blocking, etc.). But if MB starts becoming a pain in the neck to use, I'll really be bummed.
GooberedUp is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off