Media Browser: Great alternative to DVD Library/My Movies/Movie Collector - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 4110 Old 01-14-2009, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
genro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffnukem View Post

That is Exactly What mine Does! When I 1st discovered this program I finally thought I had a way of ditching MM altogether, but alas.

Currently I have my recorded TV saving into Public folder "recorded Tv" And all movies are saved on another HDD. I have media browser currently pointing towards the movie hard drive, but I would like to use the interface and metadata for my recording tv shows. Is there a way it could monitor two separate file locations?

BTW Vista 32 bit

Thanks

This plug in supports use of virtual folders, search this thread or the mediabrowser forum for more details.
genro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 4110 Old 01-15-2009, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffnukem View Post

That is Exactly What mine Does! When I 1st discovered this program I finally thought I had a way of ditching MM altogether, but alas.

BTW Vista 32 bit

Thanks

Try metababel. It works for me, Vista 32-bit.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #183 of 4110 Old 01-15-2009, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
DraZtiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post

Don't feel bad, SMO crashes for me also. It will open, I can select a movie from the list on the left, but as soon as I click "Get Metadata" (or whatever it is), it crashes. I can sometimes see the IMDB page coming up, sometimes I can't. Drives me nuts.

It does crash alot and for the most part I've been lucky to retrieve the metadata I needed but, Does it crash on everything? Do you have full read/write access to the folders and files including an xml? Have you tried test folders on your local drive (assuming your movies are stored on a server)? Is it a default install of the program or did you change some options?

Anyway...good luck. As for as video browser, I have been using it for a long time and will update it soon.

I tried mymovies and was floored at the size and amount of resources that program took and the additional requirements it needed. I was so frustrated with that crap I reformatted My PC just to make sure I got rid of it ALL. :P

Also, Someone mentioned something about multiple icons on their bars but I believe this is a limitation of media center and not the software installed. (forget where I read that)
DraZtiK is offline  
post #184 of 4110 Old 01-15-2009, 02:27 PM
ebr
AVS Special Member
 
ebr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 3,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
They may be planning to do this but I'm having fun tinkering so I added the feature to put BD frames around my BD titles in both the poster view and movie details (like MMs does):





I'm loving this plugin. Sorry Cinemar, but this blows away my old DVDLobby installation.
ebr is offline  
post #185 of 4110 Old 01-15-2009, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
bigsid05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebr View Post

They may be planning to do this but I'm having fun tinkering so I added the feature to put BD frames around my BD titles in both the poster view and movie details (like MMs does):

That is excellent! Hopefully the MB team will be adding that in soon as all my HD movies look a bit odd in the poster view at the moment
bigsid05 is offline  
post #186 of 4110 Old 01-15-2009, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
jdubbs23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd love for this to have Virtual Clone Drive support so I can check it out!
jdubbs23 is offline  
post #187 of 4110 Old 01-15-2009, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stanglx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Virtual Clone drive works for me for some Blurays which is weird.. why a different bluray make the difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdubbs23 View Post

I'd love for this to have Virtual Clone Drive support so I can check it out!

stanglx is offline  
post #188 of 4110 Old 01-15-2009, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Youg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks superb.

So much nicer than MM.
Youg is offline  
post #189 of 4110 Old 01-16-2009, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraZtiK View Post

It does crash alot and for the most part I've been lucky to retrieve the metadata I needed but, Does it crash on everything? Do you have full read/write access to the folders and files including an xml? Have you tried test folders on your local drive (assuming your movies are stored on a server)? Is it a default install of the program or did you change some options?

Anyway...good luck. As for as video browser, I have been using it for a long time and will update it soon.

Default install, full read/write access to the folders (USB external hdds), crashes on everything. I haven't tried testing to my local drive, since I don't keep any media on it, but I'll give it a shot. Fingers crossed!

And yeah, I agree, Video Browser (now Media Browser) rocks. Can't wait for the BD frames. And if it could use MPC-HT as the player, that would be icing on the cake.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #190 of 4110 Old 01-16-2009, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebr View Post

They may be planning to do this but I'm having fun tinkering so I added the feature to put BD frames around my BD titles in both the poster view and movie details (like MMs does):

That's awesome! How are you identifying which of your titles are BD and which are DVD? Are you using the MM back end (which does create Metadata with this info), and then added code to parse this additional data? If so, would it be possible to add code to also parse the sort titles from the MM XML? That would allow us to finally sort movie series in the proper order.

I took the liberty of posting your screenshots over on the MB forum in the hopes that they will add this feature to a future build.
pclausen is offline  
post #191 of 4110 Old 01-16-2009, 11:28 AM
Member
 
benjamin.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ebr,

You should register as a dev over at MediaBrowser so that you can merge your changes into the trunk. What you're doing is really great!
benjamin.r is offline  
post #192 of 4110 Old 01-16-2009, 11:37 AM
Member
 
benjamin.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
benjamin.r is offline  
post #193 of 4110 Old 01-17-2009, 03:04 AM
Member
 
Chalupacabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thing rocks!

That said, how do I add folders from more than one location? I have multiple external drives connected and aside from the "initial drive" option, I can't see any way to add folders.
Chalupacabra is offline  
post #194 of 4110 Old 01-17-2009, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rupert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chalupacabra View Post

This thing rocks!

That said, how do I add folders from more than one location? I have multiple external drives connected and aside from the "initial drive" option, I can't see any way to add folders.


Create a MOVIES.VF file in your "My Videos" folder:

http://code.google.com/p/videobrowser/wiki/FAQ
Rupert is offline  
post #195 of 4110 Old 01-17-2009, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
DraZtiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post

Default install, full read/write access to the folders (USB external hdds), crashes on everything. I haven't tried testing to my local drive, since I don't keep any media on it, but I'll give it a shot. Fingers crossed!

Try the 2.6.3 version...that's the version I've always used. Here. make sure to uninstall prior if you go that route.
DraZtiK is offline  
post #196 of 4110 Old 01-17-2009, 03:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoNkLorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spring Valley, NY - NY,NY - Allentown PA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
in an older version i remember there was once a way to change the default location of vids.. i do not want the software to find in the my videos default location, how can i fix that with the latest version? I am running vista 32bit.
MoNkLorD is offline  
post #197 of 4110 Old 01-17-2009, 09:24 PM
Member
 
Humpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does IMP cover art work for anyone in Salami's Movie Organizer? I can get from MM.nl, and IMDB, but it refuses to show a preview from an IMP Poster.. I can view them in the built-in browser on the site, but it never seems to grab it and use it from IMP...
Humpy is offline  
post #198 of 4110 Old 01-18-2009, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
MoNkLorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spring Valley, NY - NY,NY - Allentown PA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TV scout can't find anything for starwars the clone wars series which come on cartoon network? has anyone found a work around for this?

i found it !
MoNkLorD is offline  
post #199 of 4110 Old 01-18-2009, 07:53 AM
Member
 
jeffnukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Da' Burgh....
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.thetvdb.com/?tab=series&id=83268&lid=7


You can manually add from thetvdb.com. I have yet to not find what I was looking for on there.


I have gotten good at manually adding stuff since SMO crashes every time on me......

Sticking feathers up your butt doesn't make you a Chicken...
jeffnukem is offline  
post #200 of 4110 Old 01-18-2009, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraZtiK View Post

Try the 2.6.3 version...that's the version I've always used. Here. make sure to uninstall prior if you go that route.

Same thing, crashes as soon as I hit "get metadata". No biggie, I'll stick with metababel.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #201 of 4110 Old 01-18-2009, 12:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoNkLorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spring Valley, NY - NY,NY - Allentown PA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do you join movies from 2 or more different locations? need movies in MKV to all appear under Movies - HD on MB by i have some (example) comping from c:\\ HD movies and some coming from D:\\ HD movies, but i would like for all of them to appear under MB under movies with no sub folders
TIA
MoNkLorD is offline  
post #202 of 4110 Old 01-18-2009, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
bigsid05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoNkLorD View Post

how do you join movies from 2 or more different locations? need movies in MKV to all appear under Movies - HD on MB by i have some (example) comping from c:\\ HD movies and some coming from D:\\ HD movies, but i would like for all of them to appear under MB under movies with no sub folders
TIA

Not to be rude, but please read the thread. This question has been answered at least 3 times. Heck, there's an answer to it 7 posts before yours!
bigsid05 is offline  
post #203 of 4110 Old 01-18-2009, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
DraZtiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsid05 View Post

but please read the thread.

How do I read!! Can you do that for me too?
DraZtiK is offline  
post #204 of 4110 Old 01-18-2009, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoNkLorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spring Valley, NY - NY,NY - Allentown PA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsid05 View Post

Not to be rude, but please read the thread. This question has been answered at least 3 times. Heck, there's an answer to it 7 posts before yours!

sorry, some otions have changed since i last used this software, when it was video broswer.
sometimes when threads grow to the size of this one, some things can be overlooked easily when skimming through...

anyways i found a way around that small issue.

scared to ask any questions
MoNkLorD is offline  
post #205 of 4110 Old 01-19-2009, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
mkedda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have isos working with clone drive. you just need to download the latest branch and make a one line code change. if there is that much interest i can upload my setup.msi to some site.
mkedda is offline  
post #206 of 4110 Old 01-19-2009, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
mkedda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have an HD movie say The Matrix. The Matrix is split into two AVCHD1 and AVCHD2 folders:

Folder: C:\\The Matrix
Folder: C:\\The Matrix\\AVCHD1
Folder: C:\\The Matrix\\AVCHD2

In media browser I see The matrix and then I click on The Matrix. When I click on The Matrix I expect media browser to automatically see the two discs and create a playlist as I have "Enable Nested Folders" unchecked and the Playlist limit set to 2. WHat I get is the two folders AVCHD1 and AVCHD2 and I have to choose each one seperately. I have experimented with checking and unchecking "enable nested folders" and I have also experimented with changing the playlist limit.

I want to click on The Matrix and have media browser automatically careate the playlist of the two discs.

What am I doing wrong ?
mkedda is offline  
post #207 of 4110 Old 01-20-2009, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
MoNkLorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spring Valley, NY - NY,NY - Allentown PA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoNkLorD View Post

scared to ask any questions


OK so i got another question

I have been messing with this software for quite a bit over the weekend and I am enjoying it more and more, the more time that i spend with it.

I haven't used this for any dvds just yet ( right now it is just for .mkv and other single vid files.)

I started setting up catagories ( not genre for say) just small easy to get to groups.

TV
HD movies (all .mkv and .WMA)
Sports
Documentaries
Music Videos
(Home videos - Soon)
etc...

how do you set up an image file for each category?


second, i have been having a hard time finding metadata for Documentaries mostly National geographics (not all were seasons). what is the best method to update this? same goes for sports, kids like wrestling (even though it is not a real sport- I sill place it in that category as well. same goes for boxing matches, etc....

this time i read the entire thread even though i may still have over looked some posts.

forgive me if this has already been asked.
MoNkLorD is offline  
post #208 of 4110 Old 01-20-2009, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
DraZtiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoNkLorD View Post


how do you set up an image file for each category?


Read Here and see if it helps. Basically you'll need to assign an image and create new .vf files for each folder is one way.
DraZtiK is offline  
post #209 of 4110 Old 01-20-2009, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stanglx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you guys use to get the Meta Info..? I have used MyMovies in the past but that is bloat software (when it doesnt need to be as seen by MB).. I want something the same interface but with less of a footprint..thanks
stanglx is offline  
post #210 of 4110 Old 01-20-2009, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I use "metababel" for movies, and "TV Scout" for TV series.

Just finished ripping Supernatural Season 3 Blu Ray, and TV Scout found everything. I'm really liking Media Browser.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off