how to let my AVR do the decoding job? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-16-2008, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
samlee860407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guys, i am using ATI4870 as my graphic card in my PC, and i got a Creative XtremeGamer Fatal1ty as my soundcard

I just start up a Home Theater system, and if I would want to play movies in my TV, how should i set up my HTPC to my Home Theater system so that my AVR will do the audio decoding job, instead of my PC graphic card/sound card to do the job?

my AVR is the onkyo 805, so should i just take out the soundcard from my PC, and direct connect my ati4870 to the AVR using the HDMI cable

or

i connect my HDMI direct from my ATI4870 to the display , and connect my sound via toslink/coaxical digital cable to my AVR from my soundcard?


which should be the correct way to let my AVR do the decoding job, and not my soundcard or graphic card do it?

samlee860407 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 12-16-2008, 09:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,008
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 341
You don't need the sound card. Connect HD 4870 to the receiver via HDMI. It depends on the audio format where decoding should (or can) be done.

- Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD Master Audio: Decode has to be done by the software player. HD 4870 can't send undecoded TrueHD/DTS-HD MA bitstreams.
- Dolby Digtal, DTS: Does not matter. You can send decoded multichannel LPCM or DD/DTS bitstreams. Check this post for the player settings.
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-16-2008, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
samlee860407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ahh....but my movie are all MKV files in my Harddisk, and normally i use a free player like Windows Media Classic (using k lite codec pack)

so will it do the job?
samlee860407 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 12-17-2008, 12:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,008
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by samlee860407 View Post

ahh....but my movie are all MKV files in my Harddisk, and normally i use a free player like Windows Media Classic (using k lite codec pack)

so will it do the job?

Then perhaps you will use DD/DTS in most cases (?) unless you create files yourself and specify audio formats. You can either decode DD/DTS by the audio decoder or choose pass-through and leave decoding to the receiver. What you need is setup the audio decoder correctly (check the documentation of your audio decoder; ffdshow audio decoder is here).
renethx is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-17-2008, 03:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
samlee860407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hm...i see

will try to set it up tomorrow and see
thanks for the advice
samlee860407 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-17-2008, 04:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
mjfink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just to elaborate on what Renethx said above, the determination as to "who" decodes the content is NOT made in the AVR, it's made at the source device. So, don't look at the AVR, look at the computer to tell it to stream DD/DTS/etc to the AVR.

Just wanted to make sure that was clear, I was confused about that in the beginning as well!

I have a 4850 with a Pioneer AVR decoding all the formats, it works great. I use ffdshow, and just have all the formats that my AVR can handle (which is all of them) set to pass through. If it's not passed through, the computer will decode it and the AVR will see it as PCM (for example, MP3 format files).

_____________________________________

My Onkyo 3008 (non-professional) review
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=19539055
mjfink is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-19-2008, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
samlee860407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sigh...my HT setup is up, but i cant get my ati4870 to sent audio through HDMI cable to my Onkyo 805

as my ati 4870 does not have an HDMI output, i have to use the DVI to HDMI dongle for it, then connect it to my AVR, got video, but no audio

i am using a coaxial cable from my AVR to my motherboard (DFI lanparty JR) in order to have audio

PS: try many solutions but all failed me, i am using catalyst 8.12, and had downloaded the realtek audio driver from realtek website.

anyone got some solutions for this?
samlee860407 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-19-2008, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Tragik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You will not get audio while using the DVI to HDMI adapter. DVI is video only, no audio. If you do not have a native HDMI port on your video card your out of luck.
Tragik is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-19-2008, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
carrera1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tragik View Post

You will not get audio while using the DVI to HDMI adapter. DVI is video only, no audio. If you do not have a native HDMI port on your video card your out of luck.


Sorry, but you are mistaken. The ATI 4xxx boards ship with a special DVI/HDMI adapter (the ASUS board has a native HDMI port so no dongle). It has extra pins in it to pass the audio through to the HDMI. It works great. This is how my 4850 is set up. This is well documented in the various ATI threads.
carrera1 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 12-19-2008, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
samlee860407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carrera1 View Post

Sorry, but you are mistaken. The ATI 4xxx boards ship with a special DVI/HDMI adapter (the ASUS board has a native HDMI port so no dongle). It has extra pins in it to pass the audio through to the HDMI. It works great. This is how my 4850 is set up. This is well documented in the various ATI threads.

yes, but seems many people fail to set their system up for it to pass audio, or have pain in order to do so
samlee860407 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 12-19-2008, 11:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
samlee860407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeap, but i still fail to get audio through HDMI

btw, would like to ask, will the audio output from HDMI through the ati4870 better than what i am using now (using coaxial cable to connect my PC and AVR) ?
samlee860407 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 12-20-2008, 12:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
samlee860407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wooot...finally, i get to use HDMI to output sound!!

solution :

1)download realtek driver
2)disable motherboard onboard sound
samlee860407 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off