HTPC build suggestions please... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 12-19-2008, 06:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Here is what I have from a week or so of searching the forums, I could definitely use the input. Am a total noob to AV stuff (but not system building).

Case: I'll decide on this after I decide on the rest of the components. I figure I'll just browse newegg which probably carries a vast majority of 'em. Or is there a site that has a better selection or a good comparison of the current ones?

Mobo/CPU: GA-MA780GPM-DS2H and AMD x2 5050e. Is there a better motherboard+igp solution out now? or even non-igp. want the video accel features. But possibly a faster solution for not much more power usage? I haven't bought a receiver yet, so not having lpcm over hdmi isn't an issue until then. But if there as a diff igp solution that offers same or better igp, might as well get that one. Or will a discrete video card that is similar speed but better audio solution give a similar total power consumption (when igp is disabled)?

Ram: Crucial Ballistix 2x1gb (pc6400) - have it laying around

video capture: Do they have tuner cards, or whatever, that will let me timeshift dish network programming? Actually it would only be about 6 or 7 international channels. Getting TivoHD for fios programming. Although I might end up not getting fios and getting Dish for all my tv. In that case I would just use dish's dvr. Still in the process of comparing the two, and hope to decide by tomorrow afternoon.

optical drive: ggc-h20l (possibly ggw-h20l). Are these drives quiet? when playing, hopefully they don't spin up to full speed and stay there. For most play back I figure they probably don't need to be spinning full speed. Or is there a better combo drive that is quieter?