Are energy efficent PSUs really worth it? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 12-26-2008, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need to pick up a powersupply for a new PC build that I am doing. I am a very experienced builder and understand Powersupplies.

I am just wandering if these 80 Plus Certified units are worth it economically.

If I install 500 Watt PSU that is >80% then I am wasting about 100 watts. If I went with a 600 Watt to compensate and it get lets say >65%, then I would be 210 watts. This is a difference of 110 watts.

If I left this running 24/7, I am coming up with the following math under full load.

110 watts x 24 hours x 30 days = 79200 watts / 1000 = 79.2 Kwatts

I think I am at $.15 per kwatt so that is a savings of $11 per month.

But this is under full load. I would say that it would it would only be under full load for about 15% of the time at most. The other 85% it would be relatively idle with an occasional drive access.

So I coming up with an actual difference of $1.65 (15%) and $4.25 (85% at half power).

So that is actually $6 per month. And this is assuming that the efficiency doesn't drop over time. Does it?

Anyone else have any thoughts?

HD DVD: 45 SD DVD: 350 BR: 120
PCs: 12, Mame Arcade:1, HD HTPC: 1, WHS Server: 1, HD A3: 2, HD-A30: 1

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 12-26-2008, 10:48 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjmarchini View Post

If I install 500 Watt PSU that is >80% then I am wasting about 100 watts. If I went with a 600 Watt to compensate and it get lets say >65%, then I would be 210 watts. This is a difference of 110 watts.

I have no idea what you mean by "compensate" here.
You are assuming that the power draw of your components is 500W: you have some multi-processor, multi-graphics card system with attached storage farm?
Quote: