Moneual Labs MonCaso 312 HTPC case - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 808 Old 04-21-2010, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by waxx View Post


although i am running 3 hds. perhaps i should get a modular psu with a 120mm fan.

The inlet for 120mm PSU is under the case so it wouldn't help with heat build up inside.
babgvant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 808 Old 04-21-2010, 02:22 PM
Member
 
chanmanx2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waxx View Post

just got this case, i love it. however, my temps are a bit high, Video/Chipset runs in the mid 160s deg F without rear 40mm fans, mid 140s deg F with rear fans. I'm using the shuriken rev. b, like most of you. i need to put a fan on the video/chipset, should i go with the discontinued extreme spirit II? Is there anything better that would fit next to the shuriken?

thanks all!

What kind of hard drives are you using? Because I was thinking about doing the same setup with 4 HDs. 1 SSD + 3 HD's in a raid fasion but they might run the case too hot. Maybe WD's green drives might help.
chanmanx2k is offline  
post #333 of 808 Old 04-26-2010, 06:47 PM
Member
 
chanmanx2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, I am planning on overclocking my processor but Im having trouble with heat.
From reading Jackal55's other forum with heat problems, people were saying to reverse the CPU fan so that it will pull the air up and out of the case. I was running prime95 and monitoring cpu temps the other day and I found that pulling air down and into the CPU was more effective. But this was JUST the cpu temps which did not reflect the temperatures of the entire case. Has anyone found the most effective fan configuration with CPU fan and the 40mm fans? I believe the best and most effective cooling is to have air move in and out in 1 direction. But the case is so small that it is hard to move air efficiently in there. I was thinking to have the 40mm fans pull air into the case, and have the CPU fan push it out through the top. Please tell me what you guys think
chanmanx2k is offline  
post #334 of 808 Old 04-27-2010, 08:33 PM
Member
 
skullnrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else have trouble getting the Mplay remote software to run? I'm running windows 7 64bit Asus P7H55D-M EVO>Intel i5 650. Software loads but only option I get is to close it. So far the remote only powers on and off the PC.

I emailed Richard@moneual for tech support but so far all I learned is that there are 2 different remotes a small one and the larger one which I have. If you need me to post pictures of the remotes PM me and I will.

Thanks for any help with this issue
skullnrose is offline  
post #335 of 808 Old 04-28-2010, 10:48 AM
Member
 
mrjag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you post a pic of your remote so I can compare it to mine? I don't have any issues with mine and here is the build I am using:

Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit)
ASRock H55M Pro LGA1156 Intel H55 chipset microATX
Intel Core i3 530
G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBNQ DDR3-1600 2 x 2GB Kit
Moneual MonCaso 312b (black)
OCZ Agility 2.5" 60GB SSD
(no bluray drive purchased yet)
SeaSonic X650 Gold 650W
mrjag is offline  
post #336 of 808 Old 04-28-2010, 10:42 PM
Member
 
skullnrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjag View Post

Can you post a pic of your remote so I can compare it to mine? I don't have any issues with mine and here is the build I am using:

Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit)
ASRock H55M Pro LGA1156 Intel H55 chipset microATX
Intel Core i3 530
G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBNQ DDR3-1600 2 x 2GB Kit
Moneual MonCaso 312b (black)
OCZ Agility 2.5" 60GB SSD
(no bluray drive purchased yet)
SeaSonic X650 Gold 650W

Mine is the same one pictured if you look up the 312B at newegg. Sorry I was unable to link to the pic
skullnrose is offline  
post #337 of 808 Old 04-30-2010, 04:57 PM
Member
 
mrjag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is the version of the remote that I am using so it should work fine with your setup. You might try reinstalling the software.
mrjag is offline  
post #338 of 808 Old 05-03-2010, 04:31 PM
Member
 
CynicalCS84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10



So which remote comes with the case?

Are there any cheaper alternatives to this case but with similar features? (built in card reader and IR.)
CynicalCS84 is offline  
post #339 of 808 Old 05-04-2010, 07:00 AM
Member
 
mrjag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 312b I ordered from Quiet PC USA came with the longer version of the remote (bottom picture). I have a second 312b from newegg that should be arriving shortly. I'll let you know which remote newegg is shipping once it arrives.
mrjag is offline  
post #340 of 808 Old 05-04-2010, 07:16 AM
Member
 
skullnrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine came from newegg and had the longer remote. I should be getting some RMA parts none of the trouble shooting has worked so far.
skullnrose is offline  
post #341 of 808 Old 05-04-2010, 08:48 AM
Member
 
CynicalCS84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. So does anyone know any cheaper alternatives that are similar to this case? Normally I go for high quality stuff like this but I've kept my build cost super low on this htpc and I dunno if I would feel right putting $300 in components in a $300 case. I just want something with a slim design, card reader and ir built in... Preferably in black. Like a knockoff of this case.
CynicalCS84 is offline  
post #342 of 808 Old 05-04-2010, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by CynicalCS84 View Post

Thanks. So does anyone know any cheaper alternatives that are similar to this case? Normally I go for high quality stuff like this but I've kept my build cost super low on this htpc and I dunno if I would feel right putting $300 in components in a $300 case. I just want something with a slim design, card reader and ir built in... Preferably in black. Like a knockoff of this case.

There are cheaper LP cases that look nice (like VidaBox's - which is still pricey), but I haven't seen any with built in IR. If you get one that has space for a VFD you could mount an IR receiver behind the window (that's what I do in my Ahanix D4).

That said, a good case lasts a long time. Depending on how "HTPC" is defined I've had 5-7 different builds in my D4.
babgvant is offline  
post #343 of 808 Old 05-24-2010, 03:51 PM
Member
 
chanmanx2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wanted to thank you guys for all the information on this forum. I finally finished my htpc. I only took 3 months. And if the silver bracket is a cause for sore eyes, its a 2 HDD bracket. The helpful people at moneual hooked it up. It took some work as I had to cut the bracket so that the ram would fit. But now it fits snug. I hope to RAID5 3 HDs in the future. I decided to buy the Coolermaster GeminII S for the CPU fan. Only problem was that it didnt fit with the lid, but BARELY! I had to replace the original fan with a 120x20mm scythe slim fan. The GeminII definitely helps to cool the i7 to help me overclock. I also decided to go without a DVD drive because it was impeding against the CPU fan. And I rarely find myself using the dvd drive anyways. And without further adieu, spics and pics.

Specs:
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Core i7 930 OC'ed to 3.8Ghz
Coolermaster GeminiII S CPU Fan +Scythe Slim CPU Fan on top.
3 Mini Kaze 40mm fans
Corsair 450 PSU
OCZ 6gb triple channel ram
ATI Radeon 5570 Low profile
OCZ 60gb SSD Agility
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Green






chanmanx2k is offline  
post #344 of 808 Old 05-31-2010, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
jmwbama311's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chanmanx2k View Post

The problem is that the space is so limited with adding HD's and the DVD Drive that airflow is limited. I wonder if there is a laptop to desktop rom drive bracket.

Newegg Item#:N82E16817998058
StarTech SLIMCDFDCAGE Slim Optical & 3.5in Hard Drive Mounting Bracket for 5.25in Front Bay
$35.99
Support Phone Number: 1-800-265-1844
Model SLIMCDFDCAGE

Slim Optical & 3.5in Hard Drive Mounting Bracket for 5.25in Front Bay
Just ordered one of these to try out a slim dvd optical drive in the center, and it has a slot underneath the slim opti drive to insert a 3.5 hdd! We'll see how well it actually works upon arrival. Not sure if i'll even utilize the hdd space, but I am hoping it will allow the installation of a slim opti drive.

Still haven't figured out how I am going to get it to eject with the "bluray plate" in place....any suggestions from anyone? Been thinking about drilling a small hole in the bluray plate, and inserting some sort of spring loaded rod that depresses the eject button when depressed, but then snaps back (towards the operator) when not depressed. Does that make sense to anyone? I'm open for ideas. I may end up also cutting out some of the bottom plate of the adapter to allow for better heat dispersion of the ram directly below, and to avoid any potential interference with cpu cooler........would love to hear any feedback.

Moneaul 312s
MSI Media Live Diva [7.1 card & 5.1 cards for more options, but also can run w/o any add in sound card and use spdif or dig coax out to receiver]
Imation 64GB SS Drive
8 GB Geil Black Dragon DDR2-667
Mushkin 580w modular PSU
ASUS Radeon HD 5450 EAH5450 SILENT/DI/1GD3(LP) Video Card
DIAMOND ATI TV Wonder HD 650 Combo Tuner TVW650PCIEV PCI-Express x1 Interface
D-Link DWA-556 PCI Express Xtreme Wireless N Desktop Adapter

p.s. without the help of the folks in this forum there is no way I would have had a successful build right out of the box. This case is full of caveats, and thanks to the valuable info gleaned from here I was successful! This is a lovely case, and is well worth the energy and time i've put into it (girlfriend loves the look, hates the amount of time i've spent on it!) Thanks folks!





jmwbama311 is offline  
post #345 of 808 Old 06-01-2010, 06:01 PM
Member
 
chanmanx2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey, this is exactly what I was looking for. And its great that it also has another HDD bay. But could you repost your pictures? They dont seem to be working.
chanmanx2k is offline  
post #346 of 808 Old 06-04-2010, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Jackal55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Crap. My IR thingy just went out. USB error. Now I have to open this things up and tinker with it. I hope I can get it back up and running. Not being able to use the remote is pain.
Jackal55 is offline  
post #347 of 808 Old 06-05-2010, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal55 View Post

Crap. My IR thingy just went out. USB error. Now I have to open this things up and tinker with it. I hope I can get it back up and running. Not being able to use the remote is pain.

Not being able to use the remote sucks - let us know how it turns out.

HTPCat
"Give Me More Audio & Video Toys"

HTPCat is offline  
post #348 of 808 Old 06-08-2010, 04:13 PM
Member
 
chanmanx2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do yourselves a favor and get the gyration remote. It is definitely worth the money.
chanmanx2k is offline  
post #349 of 808 Old 06-08-2010, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Jackal55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just opened the case and moved the cases USB plugs to different mobo USB ports. All is fine with the remote now. But I would like a different and better mouse device.
Jackal55 is offline  
post #350 of 808 Old 06-15-2010, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
For anyone interested in the MonCaso 320 (pretty much a 312 with a VFD), my review was posted today.


LL
babgvant is offline  
post #351 of 808 Old 06-16-2010, 06:05 AM
Member
 
GuyClinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have built several desktop PCs - why anyone would think to build a semi-modern computer with the kind of craptastic cooling found in these Monumenal cases is beyond me. I am glad my g/f is a bit more easy going and I can just use a Silverstone GDO5... I am just shocked there is a big thread about a case with 40mm fans. Yikes.
GuyClinch is offline  
post #352 of 808 Old 06-16-2010, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyClinch View Post

I have built several desktop PCs - why anyone would think to build a semi-modern computer with the kind of craptastic cooling found in these Monumenal cases is beyond me. I am glad my g/f is a bit more easy going and I can just use a Silverstone GDO5... I am just shocked there is a big thread about a case with 40mm fans. Yikes.

The lack of active options doesn't mean that cooling is "craptastic" there is plenty of natural convection. It's quite possible to get a full-featured HTPC in the case, you just need to put some thought into your build.

To answer your other question, it's quite simple - the MonCaso 312/320 are some of the best looking micro-ATX cases on the market today. And with integrated IR you can eliminate the external dongle for a more polished look in the A/V stack.
babgvant is offline  
post #353 of 808 Old 06-17-2010, 12:23 AM
Newbie
 
megatronz0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have pretty much given up on ever getting the remote to work. i see some other people are starting to get the remote i have the (the long one) ive tried absolutely everything ive read across the internet i just cannot get this thing to recognize my ir/remote/vol knob. i do not know what to do, ive been watching this thread for months.
megatronz0r is offline  
post #354 of 808 Old 06-17-2010, 08:22 AM
Member
 
mrjag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aside from using the driver on the supplied CD, the remote/volume-knob is basically plug and play. My only suggestion is to make sure you have the control unit plugged into a USB header on your motherboard. If yours his having trouble beyond that then you might have a defective unit.
mrjag is offline  
post #355 of 808 Old 06-17-2010, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

The lack of active options doesn't mean that cooling is "craptastic" there is plenty of natural convection. It's quite possible to get a full-featured HTPC in the case, you just need to put some thought into your build.

To answer your other question, it's quite simple - the MonCaso 312/320 are some of the best looking micro-ATX cases on the market today. And with integrated IR you can eliminate the external dongle for a more polished look in the A/V stack.

Absolutely agree this case was perfect for what I needed. I need a case that wasn't too deep to fit inside my cabinet and had a built in IR receiver that I could use with my URC MX-980 remote control. I am using an Enermax Liberty 400 Watt psu, i3-530, intel DH55TC mobo, 4GB G. Skill RAM and put in 3 SilenX 40 mm case fans - it runs silent and cool

HTPCat
"Give Me More Audio & Video Toys"

HTPCat is offline  
post #356 of 808 Old 06-17-2010, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTPCat View Post

Absolutely agree this case was perfect for what I needed. I need a case that wasn't too deep to fit inside my cabinet and had a built in IR receiver that I could use with my URC MX-980 remote control. I am using an Enermax Liberty 400 Watt psu, i3-530, intel DH55TC mobo, 4GB G. Skill RAM and put in 3 SilenX 40 mm case fans - it runs silent and cool

How do you like the SilenX? I usually go with them, but wasn't sure I wanted to drop $45 on three 40mm when the mini-Kaze (which do click a little) were $4/per.
babgvant is offline  
post #357 of 808 Old 06-18-2010, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Starsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

How do you like the SilenX? I usually go with them, but wasn't sure I wanted to drop $45 on three 40mm when the mini-Kaze (which do click a little) were $4/per.

I've been thinking about this case and the cooling of it. Has anyone tried fitting a Silverstone FX121 crossflow fan in the back panel. It looks like the hole pattern (108 x 32mm) could be close. It would be about the same airflow as 3x40mm fans but only 26dB intead of 3 x 14dB. But dB always screws me up, is one fan at 26dB actually quieter than 3 fans at 14dB?
Starsky is offline  
post #358 of 808 Old 06-18-2010, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starsky View Post

I've been thinking about this case and the cooling of it. Has anyone tried fitting a Silverstone FX121 crossflow fan in the back panel. It looks like the hole pattern (108 x 32mm) could be close. It would be about the same airflow as 3x40mm fans but only 26dB intead of 3 x 14dB. But dB always screws me up, is one fan at 26dB actually quieter than 3 fans at 14dB?

Now that's a great idea! I didn't know that existed, I'll have to check that out.

Thanks
babgvant is offline  
post #359 of 808 Old 06-19-2010, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

How do you like the SilenX? I usually go with them, but wasn't sure I wanted to drop $45 on three 40mm when the mini-Kaze (which do click a little) were $4/per.

I have used the SilenX case fans for a Antec Fusion case build and an Silverstone LC-18 build both and all have been silent including the most recent 40 mm ones for the Moneual 320 build. I have also used the Scythe S-12 in another Antec Fusion case build and although I have no complaints about the Scythe fans I just really like the silenx ones. I paid around $10/per for the 40 mm plus like $10 for shipping so not cheap, but not really all that much when you consider what you get.

HTPCat
"Give Me More Audio & Video Toys"

HTPCat is offline  
post #360 of 808 Old 06-19-2010, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
On my latest build using the 320B case I am using windows 7 x64 with intel mobo DH55TC. The VFD display on the case shows the current date/time (Sat 6/19/2010 2:00:00 PM) as Sat m/d/2010 2:00:00 PM? I am running M.Play MX latest ver. 1.1.2.5, but it did the same thing with ver. 1.1.2.1 that was supplied with case. My desktop displays date and time correctly and BIOS has system date correct. I have sent email to Moneual Support. Just wondering if anyone else has seen this issue?

HTPCat
"Give Me More Audio & Video Toys"

HTPCat is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off