ASUS My Cinema-PE9400 TV Tuner Card - any users? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-26-2009, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nathanielmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washoington, DC
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i can't find much about this card and suppose i may have taken a chance in buying it. i found enough positive reviews to think that i should be able to get it working properly, even if it requires a little fiddling... of course, the day after i buy it, i see a review that the card does not support Comcast ClearQAM... now i am thinking, ClearQAM is ClearQAM - is it even possible for it to work with one cable provider but not another, or is this likely to be user error? Still waiting on delivery and i am swapping out my MoBo which won't be coming until wednesday so it won't be installed for a few days anyway...
nathanielmark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-15-2009, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
narceron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So? How did it go?

I just ordered this card after reading about a dozen reviews.

Then I come over here, which is where I know I should start and see your post,
narceron is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-15-2009, 03:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ClearQAM is clearQAM.
However many Comncasts locations still do not provide the same digital channel name as is used by the broadcasters as part of their PSIP data such as 4-1. 5-1.
You will then have to find out what the actrual QAM channel frequencies are being used by Comcast in Washington DC such ass 102-4. 102-5 etc
walford is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-05-2009, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
narceron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so I'm new,

When I put the cable to the tuner(from comcast) in the Antenna port, I get a few HD channels, but not standard, when I put it in the analog port, I get 2-99, but no more channels. I assume if I get a splitter, I can get both at the same time, but my question is, how do I get my other channels, I had thought something called a cablecard was coming out, based on my research, but then I noticed all the dates were a year or more old,

I'm running the pe9400 on vista premium, and not that it seems to matter, but I have a Pq5-em board, with a 2.6 dual core intel, 8 gigs of ram, WMC tv pack, umm, not sure what else.

I took the basic set from elsewhere in this forum. I'm hoping to eventually have this as the HTPC in the living room, but right now, its snug in the bedroom, lol.
narceron is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-06-2009, 07:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The analog tuner on your card will only receive analog channel 2-99. The digital tuner on your card will receive either OTA digital channels or clear QAM cable channels.
Yes, to use both you need a splitter.
Currently PC cable cards which enable you to receive encrypted QAM channels to which you subscribe to with your cable company are only avaialbe with new systems from some computer manufacturers.
walford is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-06-2009, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
awcorbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been using this card for about 6 months on cable, split for analog and clear QAM inputs. It works very well and is quite small, also. It integrates well with Media Center and works even better on Windows 7. Glad to see another user - the card is underrated.
awcorbin is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-06-2009, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
jnporter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Win 7 find drivers for this card or do you have to install drivers in compatibility mode? Thanks.
jnporter is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-06-2009, 01:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Since Win 7 uses the same underlying I/O structure as Vista almost all if not all Vista drivers work wth Win7
walford is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-06-2009, 02:16 PM
Newbie
 
awcorbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnporter View Post

Does Win 7 find drivers for this card or do you have to install drivers in compatibility mode? Thanks.

The Asus drivers work great in Win7. There are newer ones available on their site than those that came with my card, I am using the newer ones.
awcorbin is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-12-2012, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
narceron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I recently backed up my system, cleaned the drives and did a fresh install. I got everything working(except my xbox vision camera which does not seem to agree with the service pack), except the combo card.

It says the drivers are not signed digitally, lol, and won't do anything,

It at least identifies what the card is...before it was just "Media Controller"


Anyone else hear about this or what I might have foolishly done?
narceron is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-13-2012, 08:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You can disable the Win7 requirement to use signed digital drivers, regretfully, I do not remember how.
walford is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off