The Inconvenient Truth about SPDIF Input! - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 193 Old 04-05-2016, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Yeah, I was only processing audio on the HTPC (unless the HTPC was the video source).

-tm
millst is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 193 Old 04-07-2016, 02:19 AM
Member
 
GrandeBoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
millst did you use graphstudio tu create these wasapi input to jriver program? could you be more specific? I am trying to get the spdif input of a lynx to communicate with jriver
GrandeBoma is offline  
post #183 of 193 Old 04-07-2016, 10:43 PM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 84
No, from what I remember, the Directshow filters have large buffers and it's difficult (impossible?) to get less than 500ms delay. That's fine for conversion, but I needed something near real-time. I was creating a C++ app based on the liba52 library, WASAPI API, and ASIO SDK.

-tm
millst is offline  
 
post #184 of 193 Old 04-08-2016, 01:04 AM
Member
 
GrandeBoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
any chance you could share this nice program? I would like to test it with my lynx. Can it be made compatible with another soundcard? I would be very interested in such a workaround.
GrandeBoma is offline  
post #185 of 193 Old 04-08-2016, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 84
It's been over a year since I looked at it and only in a prototype phase. It was targeted to the JRiver ASIO input and a console application with a text menu...not ready for integration into a HTPC setup. It just wasn't worth the time and money to put everything together. It wasn't going to compete with a pre-pro. I was only considering that solution in the first place because I had some unique requirements for driving three zones digitally.

-tm
millst is offline  
post #186 of 193 Old 04-09-2016, 08:54 AM
Member
 
GrandeBoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If I wanted to set up something similar, how would I open an spdif input with wasapi? which console program?
GrandeBoma is offline  
post #187 of 193 Old 04-11-2016, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 84
I don't know of any software that does it, which is why I was writing code.

-tm
millst is offline  
post #188 of 193 Old 04-11-2016, 11:34 PM
Member
 
GrandeBoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
do you mind if I test your software on my system?
GrandeBoma is offline  
post #189 of 193 Old 04-13-2016, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Sorry, it's not in distributable form and I'm not interested in spending time on it as I've already moved on from the concept. Just buy a pre-pro...it's cheaper and involves many less headaches.

-tm
millst is offline  
post #190 of 193 Old 03-04-2017, 01:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadudster View Post
...even though the Realtek chipset is able to recognize that the signal it is receiving IS, in fact, an AC3 signal.
You can verify this on your own by simply plugging a device that is outputting Dolby Digital directly into the SPDIF input and goto the Realtek HD Audio Manager ---> Digital Input tab ---> Digital Audio Input tab. You will see under Sample Rate: "AC3 48Khz"....
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadudster View Post

WHAT IS NOT POSSIBLE:[LIST][*]Source outputting an AC3 stream ---> SPDIF input on your computer ---> 5.1 speakers connected to your computer.[*]Source outputting an AC3 stream ---> SPDIF input on your computer ---> AC3 Software Decoder ---> 5.1 speakers connected to your computer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadudster View Post
The problem, I think, is mostly legal.
I know this post is years old, but for what it's worth I just want to thank you for going through this work. I started working on the same idea this weekend, and ran into the same dead end. This post came up in a search result and I was glad to find it. Now I know the Realtek ALC889 on my Gigabyte UD9 motherboard with onboard Optical SPDIF Input, is only usable with 2ch PCM. I was not able to confirm this with anything I read, and the mere fact that the management application can tell that I am sending it AC3, really made me question the dead end. Optical SPDIF Input worked great when I sent it 2ch PCM.

I did some testing with a Playstation 2 and games that do DTS live, as well as a PS3 playing a DVD with both DTS and DD5.1 tracks. (Stargate).

I was hoping to record some video game play, and include the DTS or DD 5.1 audio. Have any sound cards come out in the market since 2009, that will now do this from Optical?
bytesaber is offline  
post #191 of 193 Old 03-04-2017, 10:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 308
There are capture cards that can accept Dolby digital from optical and they're also popular with the game streaming crowd. Cards like the HD-PVR2 from Hauppage and others.

And yes, they capture in HD as well.
Worf is offline  
post #192 of 193 Old 03-06-2017, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 84
At one point, I played around with one of those, but gave up because the latency was horrible. The device was great for capture since you don't care about the latency. It's not so great when you're trying to fast forward on your TiVo and everything is off by half a second or so.

-tm
millst is offline  
post #193 of 193 Old 03-23-2017, 08:40 AM
Member
 
sebus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bytesaber View Post
I was hoping to record some video game play, and include the DTS or DD 5.1 audio. Have any sound cards come out in the market since 2009, that will now do this from Optical?
ESI - U24 XL with 2.6 driver OR M-Audio Audiophile USB (going cheap on ?bay) with 5.10.0.5142 driver BOTH on Windows 7 x64 do great recording of DTS/AC3 5.1 directly with ASIO drivers in ie Audacity 2 ASIO build.
Resulting wav can be then processed in any way one needs.


Last edited by sebus; 03-25-2017 at 12:50 AM.
sebus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off