Best video capture codec? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-29-2002, 02:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
d!abolic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What codec should i use to capture video? Is there any way that i can make captures that look as good as regular satellite broadcast? Without using those 10gb/hr codecs that is :)

"Wake up number thirty seven!"
d!abolic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-31-2002, 03:13 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
d!abolic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone care? :D

"Wake up number thirty seven!"
d!abolic is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-31-2002, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Accooe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well you could record in a 10/gb codec (MJPEG) and convert to a MPEG 2 or DIVX (both with 2 pass) to get the best results (IMO).
Accooe is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-31-2002, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kromkamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Toronto,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 4,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thats pretty much the best way to do it, unless you can use HuffYUV (lossless ~2:1 compression) for the first pass.

Compressing directly to MPEG2 or DIVX will not give you the best quality results.

Andy K.
kromkamp is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-31-2002, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Namlemez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Seconded.

I usually do HuffYUV for the initial capture then compress to DivX on a faster computer. If my current HTPC wasn't 400Mhz, I'd probably just do straight to DivX.
Namlemez is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-02-2002, 02:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
d!abolic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so once i capture in HuffYUV, how do i compress it further? Also, what will give me the best quality - DivX or MPEG2?

"Wake up number thirty seven!"
d!abolic is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-02-2002, 03:32 AM
Member
 
yawnmoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So HuffYUV is better than uncompressed?
Is HuffyYUV a codec you have to install, or what?
Does the hardware have to support it??
yawnmoth is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-02-2002, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BigAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I prefer Picvideo MJPeg quality 19 setting for the initial capture, but yes it is around 9gb/hr given a clean satellite signal at 640x480 and uncompressed audio. On my P4 1.4 I see about a 40-50% cpu utilization with no dropped frames during capture.
If you've got the harddrive space I'm sure that huffyuv would be preferrable since it's lossless... never used it though.

If I want to remove commercials I edit them out using Virtual Dub and it's directstream capture.

For recompression I get the best quality using Microsofts Windows Media 8 Encoding Utility with the Windows Media 8 Encoder GUI. 100% quality based encoding w 1 pass vbr, I use the inverse telecine processor on movies. It takes about 3 hours to encode an hour of video and when you play back the movie it takes a significant amount of cpu... approx 70% of my p4, I've heard you need at least a 1ghz to play a wmv8 file. Resulting files are approx 1.5gb/hr.
BigAl is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-03-2002, 02:10 PM
Member
 
Accooe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kromkamp did a nice walkthru on converting mjpeg to mpeg 2.
I might add, forget about de-interlacing. Encode your video with interlace enabled and let the software decoder (or hardware) worrying about the de-interlacing.
Accooe is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off