"Official" PowerDVD Ultra 9 Thread - Page 86 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2010, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

This is quite true, but, I find it hard to believe that Cyberlink would (intentionally) open up their codecs for use by anyone. Try it out and let us know. That would be really big news if they did.

Had to change a couple of registry settings for the audio decoder but I got full multichannel decoded audio in GraphStudio using Cyberlink Demux 2.0 and Cyberlink Audio Decoder (PDVD9). It might even be possible to bitstream with the right entries (but I doubt it).

Gotta run out but I'll post the reg changes later (unless someone beats me to it).
vladd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2010, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Had to change a couple of registry settings for the audio decoder but I got full multichannel decoded audio in GraphStudio using Cyberlink Demux 2.0 and Cyberlink Audio Decoder (PDVD9). It might even be possible to bitstream with the right entries (but I doubt it).

Gotta run out but I'll post the reg changes later (unless someone beats me to it).

Well that's pretty impressive. I'm a bit surprised but pleased at that one. I wonder if eac3to could be made to use the DTS-HD MA decoder...
SamuriHL is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
It gets better: the decoder does not downsample (at least not with my 5770). 96/24 TrueHD connected to the renderer at 96/24. Unfortunately, I could only get sound using the Directsound renderer (which gets run through the mixer), I could not get sound when connected to the WaveOut renderer.

As for the registry settings:
  1. Export the folowing registry key ("notice the double PowerDVD9"):
    Code:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD9\\PowerDVD9
    
  2. Edit the key in the .reg file to point to (Changing "[exe name]" of course:
    Code:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\CyberLink\\Common\\CLAud\\[exe name]
    
  3. Save and import the reg file.

GraphStudio for example would be:
Code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\CyberLink\\Common\\CLAud\\GraphStudio
vladd is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Most impressive! Nice work.
SamuriHL is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I could post the two values that need to be changed but it's just easier the way I posted. That way, if you adjust your audio setup in PDVD, you can just replicate it again to the app of your choice.
vladd is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

It's definitely a bug of PDVD9. All the other players work fine (WinDVD 2010, TMT3 [no bitstream], MPC-HC etc.). Somehow CyberLink has not listed Core i3/i5 processors in Hardware Support List.

BTW the screenshot was taken with Core i3 530, GIGABYTE GA-H55M-UD2H, Win 7 32, graphics driver 2040, PDVD9 2320a.

Renethx, is this bug exclusive to the new Core IGPs? I find it curious that no review sites have run into or documented this bug. Seems significant.
kevinqian is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

It gets better: the decoder does not downsample (at least not with my 5770). 96/24 TrueHD connected to the renderer at 96/24. Unfortunately, I could only get sound using the Directsound renderer (which gets run through the mixer), I could not get sound when connected to the WaveOut renderer.

As for the registry settings:
  1. Export the folowing registry key ("notice the double PowerDVD9"):
    Code:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD9\\PowerDVD9
    
  2. Edit the key in the .reg file to point to (Changing "[exe name]" of course:
    Code:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\CyberLink\\Common\\CLAud\\[exe name]
    
  3. Save and import the reg file.

GraphStudio for example would be:
Code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\CyberLink\\Common\\CLAud\\GraphStudio

Nice! You could always use ReClock for exclusive mode...


EDIT: does it decode 7.1 DTS-MA by the way?
Andy o is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

EDIT: does it decode 7.1 DTS-MA by the way?

That I can't tell. I only have speaker setups for 5.1 at the moment. I'll try to connect additional speakers tomorrow.
vladd is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinqian View Post

Renethx, is this bug exclusive to the new Core IGPs? I find it curious that no review sites have run into or documented this bug. Seems significant.

I saw this bug only with the combination of Core i3 and 2320a/2582. Core i3+2201 (or any previous patch) works fine (of course no HD audio bitstreaming). ATI or NVIDIA+2320a/2582 works fine.
renethx is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 10:00 PM
Member
 
jpitt42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody had luck getting a Core i3 + Gigabyte H55 UD2H to bit-stream HD audio with Cyberlink PowerDVD 9 Ultra? I'm testing with Dark Knight and it says it has a True HD track, but I'm only getting DD 5.1 I'm passing the signal via HDMI from my HTPC to a Denon AVR-1910.

Any suggestions?
jpitt42 is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 10:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. I'm testing my Core i5 with 2201 now and video playback is still broken.
kevinqian is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:00 PM
Member
 
Ludvig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EXPANSION is still there !!! Has Cyberlink tried to watch a movie in these conditions to see how it feels ? Last version working correctly is 2201.That's FOUR months ago and it's still not fixed.I already asked this question: does anybody care because there are no comments about this massive pb...

All the the flaws that appeared with .2320 (Expansion,RAM usage,dvd ?) are still there.They didn't correct anything on this side !
Ludvig is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
mackworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

It gets better: the decoder does not downsample (at least not with my 5770). 96/24 TrueHD connected to the renderer at 96/24. Unfortunately, I could only get sound using the Directsound renderer (which gets run through the mixer), I could not get sound when connected to the WaveOut renderer.

As for the registry settings:
  1. Export the folowing registry key ("notice the double PowerDVD9"):
    Code:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD9\\PowerDVD9
    
  2. Edit the key in the .reg file to point to (Changing "[exe name]" of course:
    Code:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\CyberLink\\Common\\CLAud\\[exe name]
    
  3. Save and import the reg file.

GraphStudio for example would be:
Code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\CyberLink\\Common\\CLAud\\GraphStudio

So what would I need to do to get this to work in media browser/MCE?
mackworth is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by mackworth View Post

So what would I need to do to get this to work in media browser/MCE?

To do what exactly? What is your end goal?
vladd is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
mackworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

To do what exactly? What is your end goal?

Decode TrueHD/DTS-HD into LPCM from an MKV I ripped from a bluray.

My gf is using the tonight so I didn't get a chance to mess around or I would have just tried it (and probably failed, not really sure how all this stuff works).
mackworth is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I'm not sure it's possible. I do't think that the Cyberlink Demux 2.0 will demux an MKV and I don't think that available MKV splitters use the same mediatypes that the audio decoder expects for HD audio. I don't have any MKVs personally so I can't test at the moment. If you're familiar with GraphEdit or GraphStudio, you can try building a graph yourself to see. If you are successful with that, you will probably then need to override MCE's filter handling. renethx posted a guide on how to do this, I think it was in the 5xxx series thread. I don't use MCE or MediaBrowser so I never had to deal with that issue.

Edit: Found the post by renethx about tweaking Media Center filters: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post16974976
vladd is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:36 AM
Newbie
 
gpmcderm515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kildare, Ireland
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got bitstreaming working on my 5670 but get a stutter in playback every 20 seconds or so...don't see this with MPC bitstreaming. Anyone else noticed this?...have a Q9450/4GB so don't think it the problems there...have to try out the latest build but on 2320 at the moment.
gpmcderm515 is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can someone with the latest PDVD9 build test a BD with a DD track for me? I need it tested with the ATI HDMI driver, NOT the realtek driver. Does it show DD+ on your receiver? Thanks.
SamuriHL is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

Can someone with the latest PDVD9 build test a BD with a DD track for me? I need it tested with the ATI HDMI driver, NOT the realtek driver. Does it show DD+ on your receiver? Thanks.

Just tested and you are right:

ATI 10.1 driver + BD + DD 5.1 = AVR detects DD+
RealTek Driver + BD + DD 5.1 = AVR detects DD 5.1

I'm using a Yamaha RX-V863 so it's not isolated to Onkyo
vladd is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thank you Mr Vladd. So this is either a bug, or a workaround for a bug. Hopefully Cyberlink can put it on the list for the next build.
SamuriHL is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
seems more like an ATI bug, no?
kevinqian is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinqian View Post

seems more like an ATI bug, no?

Unknown at this point. The driver could be encapsulating it for DD+ or it could be the Cyberlinks audio decoder filter doing it. It's either a bug or a workaround as SHL said.
vladd is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I can assuredly tell you it's a Cyberlink bug. They need to fix it.
SamuriHL is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 05:14 PM
Member
 
SenojNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
I have been running component video from my HD4670 card to my TV (and optical from a HT Omega Claro soundcard to my Denon 1909 Receiver) but thought I would try HDMI connections so I can get TrueHD audio.

I have PowerDVD9 Ultra and have read here that you can stream TrueHD audio from the HD4670 cards with PowerDVD9 Ultra rather than upgrading to a 5 series card:

http://www.hometheaterforum.com/foru...pc-to-receiver

Is this correct?

Thanks
SenojNW is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You have read incorrectly. The 4xxx cards do not have PAP so they will not be able to bitstream audio. The 5xxx series of cards do have PAP and are able to. With the 4xxx card you can have the player decode to LPCM which gets downsampled to 48/16 and send that through HDMI to your receiver.

EDIT: Just so you understand, doing what I suggest is INFINITELY better than toslink. LPCM is the "raw" format that TrueHD and DTS-HD MA get decoded to no matter if you're bitstreaming or not. The downsampling won't be noticeable to most people. It's still "HD" audio doing it this way. It's just that you rely on the player to decode it correctly vs bitstreaming to the receiver to have it decode it.
SamuriHL is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 07:50 PM
Member
 
SenojNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks SamuriHL
That clarified things... I'll give it a go and then maybe upgrade to a 5 series card when the prices come down a bit as I would rather have my Denon decoding rather than PowerDVD.

Will report in when I have tried - going to pick up HDMI cables now...
SenojNW is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Prices come down?? How much lower do you need them to go? LOL! If you're not into games, get a 56xx card and you're beyond golden for about 100 bucks.

Anyway, yea, you're now on the right path.
SamuriHL is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 10:58 PM
Member
 
SenojNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oops re: the price... was looking at the higher spec 5 series cards...

So this would be a good bet for a HTPC card then and would pass through TrueHD audio to my receiver:

http://guru3d.com/article/his-radeon...iceq-review/22
SenojNW is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:41 PM
Senior Member
 
klillevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried switching pixel format from YUV 4:4:4 to RGB 4:4:4 (Full), and PowerDVD 9 started rendering Blu-ray video way too dark. As far as I know, I have no settings in PDVD to affect the brightness and CCC is set to disable Application settings. I did not test other types of content, but I verified with the Brightness and contrast setting in "Up" that all blacks disappear. Limited RGB looks the same.

MPC-HC + EVR CP renders the same (correct) way PowerDVD 9 does in YUV 4:4:4 also for RGB 4:4:4, so it looks like PowerDVD is messing something up.

So I am back to YUV 4:4:4. Is there a reason to prefer RGB?

Video card : Radeon 5670, Win 7 32 bit
klillevo is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 12:46 AM
 
yoyo01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yoyo01 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off