"Official" PowerDVD Ultra 9 Thread - Page 87 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2581 of 2862 Old 02-12-2010, 02:06 AM
Member
 
johnxxsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the latest patch of powerdvd i dont get the option of hd hdmi out?

This on a hd 5450. It says hd is available on some cards, and the 5 sereies is on that list.
johnxxsmith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2582 of 2862 Old 02-12-2010, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SenojNW View Post

Oops re: the price... was looking at the higher spec 5 series cards...

So this would be a good bet for a HTPC card then and would pass through TrueHD audio to my receiver:

http://guru3d.com/article/his-radeon...iceq-review/22

That's like the perfect HTPC card IMO.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #2583 of 2862 Old 02-12-2010, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
klillevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

That's like the perfect HTPC card IMO.

Indeed. I was lucky when I returned the Sapphire 5750 and got the HIS 5670 instead*). It's double width but fits in my Shuttle XPC SP35 P2 Pro, which has exactly two slots. Its fan is quieter than the other quiet fans in the system, and blows hot air out of the little box instead of heating the inside air. Almost everything works now, except TrueHD bitstreaming in PDVD9. MPC-HC+ffdshow can bitstream both HD formats.

I filed a PDVD bug, received a reply today, requiring me to gather some info for them, which I will do tomorrow. Hopefully it will get fixed. I will try TMT3 when they add bitstreaming.

*) It's possible the Sapphire 5750 failed because it did not receive enough power through the 6-pin connector. The 5670 doesn't have an external connector and somewhat lower power requirements. 5670 : recommended 400W P/S, 5750 recommended 450W P/S
klillevo is offline  
post #2584 of 2862 Old 02-12-2010, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I may get one when I rebuild my bedroom machine, as well.

And, TMT3 did release bitstreaming...today. Hit up the 5xxx bitstreaming thread.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #2585 of 2862 Old 02-12-2010, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
klillevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

I may get one when I rebuild my bedroom machine, as well.

And, TMT3 did release bitstreaming...today. Hit up the 5xxx bitstreaming thread.

Oh, I haven't bought it yet. Have to wait for the trial to include it, to see if I want to buy

P.S. The RealTek 2.42 HDMI driver update did not fix the PDVD 9 TrueHD problem, but didn't seem to break anything either.
klillevo is offline  
post #2586 of 2862 Old 02-12-2010, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by klillevo View Post

Oh, I haven't bought it yet. Have to wait for the trial to include it, to see if I want to buy

P.S. The RealTek 2.42 HDMI driver update did not fix the PDVD 9 TrueHD problem, but didn't seem to break anything either.

Can't use the 2.42 driver yet until TMT3 gets patched again to fix issues with it. For now I need to use the ATI driver. sigh. But I have bitstreaming in PDVD9, TMT3, WinDVD, and MPC-HC now. Gotta love that.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #2587 of 2862 Old 02-14-2010, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Don't know if anyone else has seen this but sometimes the Media Center integrated player will not show the "non-decoded high resolution audio to external device" option in the audio settings menu.

Restarting Media Center almost always fixes this. Anyone know of a workaround?
politby is offline  
post #2588 of 2862 Old 02-14-2010, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Wazzey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would like to see that fix as well. I wish the sound option would just stay on the setting.

Mike's attempt at a Theater

DIY motorized masking system

"Name?" Shropshire Slasher
"Occupation?" Shropshire Slasher
Wazzey is offline  
post #2589 of 2862 Old 02-14-2010, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The whole way it's handled is ridiculous. It should detect if you have PAP and let you set it at all times. I don't get that at all.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #2590 of 2862 Old 02-15-2010, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
klillevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

Can't use the 2.42 driver yet until TMT3 gets patched again to fix issues with it. For now I need to use the ATI driver. sigh. But I have bitstreaming in PDVD9, TMT3, WinDVD, and MPC-HC now. Gotta love that.

Very good

I received a completely useless response from Cyberlink re bitstreaming Dolby TrueHD in PowerDVD 9 not working. Fortunately it works in MPC-HC.

Cyberlink Support wrote:
In response to your issue I suggest you to remove the Elby Clone drive once and check the playback again.

Also note that though the system is Blu-Ray capable, however the Graphics card "ATI Radeon HD 4200" > Drivers do not support the RGBOverlay technology thus giving errors with Blu-Ray playback.


EDIT: When I had to enter a code to verify I am human to enter a response, I thought it was a particularly suitable one they provided: "PDFu"

Does anyone with a 5670 (or 55xx or 54xx) have bitstreaming working for TrueHD in PowerDVD 9?
klillevo is offline  
post #2591 of 2862 Old 02-15-2010, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeaaaaa, that's highly impressive for a response there. Awesome. Um, good luck with that?
SamuriHL is offline  
post #2592 of 2862 Old 02-15-2010, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rathbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have found a registry switch which reveals the kind of Hardware acceleration PDVD9 supports in the information tab:

Quote:


DXVA1 Mpeg2 Support Profile: BSP: (X) IDCT: (O) MC: (X) (via VMR)

DXVA1 H.264 Support Profile: BSP: (X) BSP_Intel: (X) MC: (X) MC_ATI: (X) MC_NV: (X)
DXVA1 VC-1 Support Profile: BSP: (X) BSP_Intel: (X) IDCT: (X) MC: (X)
DXVA2 Mpeg2 Support Profile: BSP: (X) IDCT: (O) MC: (X)
DXVA2 H.264 Support Profile: BSP: (O) BSP_Intel: (X) MC: (X) MC_ATI: (X)
DXVA2 VC-1 Support Profile: BSP: (O) BSP_Intel: (X) IDCT: (X) MC: (X)

Rathbone is offline  
post #2593 of 2862 Old 02-15-2010, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rathbone View Post

I have found a registry switch which reveals the kind of Hardware acceleration PDVD9 supports in the information tab:

How do you adjust those settings? in the registry? I would like to enable H.264 on mine.
kevinqian is offline  
post #2594 of 2862 Old 02-15-2010, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rathbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinqian View Post

How do you adjust those settings? in the registry? I would like to enable H.264 on mine.

Yes, in the registry. This setting does not enable anything it just shows which acceleration PDVD9 uses.

I played around with a lot of hidden switches e.g. makes information window during playback transparent and shows more information. Or there is a regkey in which you can set the number of seconds before the mouse disappears. Quite interesting what is hidden in there. Unfortunately I did not write it down.

EDIT: Examples what you can do in the registry attached.
LL
LL
Rathbone is offline  
post #2595 of 2862 Old 02-18-2010, 01:15 PM
Member
 
DMD61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DMD61 is offline  
post #2596 of 2862 Old 02-19-2010, 11:53 PM
Member
 
Hibo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've downloaded and started the most recent trial from cyberstink. Purchased it last march and have the key. Also can access the my account and view their records of my purchase.

However, unlike older versions, i cant find a place to enter the key code. The support says wait for the trial to expire, but want to use BrayD.

Can anyone help? thanks, gh
hibo
Hibo is offline  
post #2597 of 2862 Old 02-20-2010, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SirDrexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think you can activate the trial version. When I bought it, they gave me a link to download the version to be activated. If you didn't keep that file, you could be out of luck, unless you paid the extra charge () to be able to re-download it later.

To update, you download the patches, not the new trial versions.
SirDrexl is offline  
post #2598 of 2862 Old 02-20-2010, 11:02 AM
Member
 
nrbrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a problem with PowerDVD 9 Ultra 2320a. When trying to watch DVDs or BluRays the screen intermittently goes black for 1-2 seconds. On DVDs, its just a pain, but on BRDs, it usually pops up an error message(something about error 102. the way it reads, it leads you to belive its a problem with HDCP) and stops playback. If it was an HDCP problem though, I don't think I'd get playback at all. I'm watching on a 22" ViewSonic monitor that is HDCP compliant and using DVI.


On some discs it doesn't happen very often while on others its basically unwatchable, but it always seems completely random. Flip on AnyDVD and there's no problem at all.

Any ideas what might cause this? I've been through pretty much every update of PowerDVD and they all seem to have issues, and so far updating video drivers hasn't done anything either. I've had this issue for quite a long time, so I've been through a lot of ATI drivers. Haven't tried out the 9.2s yet. I'm using Vista 64
nrbrandt is offline  
post #2599 of 2862 Old 02-20-2010, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metropole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NW Chicago burbs
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for some advice on how to get best video playback results for BD and DVD. I have PowerDVD 9 Ultra on Win7x64 with a ATI4670 graphics card using the DVI out.

PowerDVD questions:
- is it better to use the software "enhancements" in PowerDVD or the hardware acceleration?
- what other settings should I check?

Catalyst:
- what is a good playback setting combination? After playing around a bit I concluded that the default settings are not optimal. But I don't think I reached the optimum yet. E.g. for DVD playback I'm not reaching yet the quality of my old HTPC with Theatertek. But I'm sure this is only a matter of tweaking.

General:
Do I need to do anything regarding the black levels (0..255 to ? mapping)?
metropole is offline  
post #2600 of 2862 Old 02-20-2010, 07:31 PM
Member
 
ivanhoek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrbrandt View Post

I have a problem with PowerDVD 9 Ultra 2320a. When trying to watch DVDs or BluRays the screen intermittently goes black for 1-2 seconds. On DVDs, its just a pain, but on BRDs, it usually pops up an error message(something about error 102. the way it reads, it leads you to belive its a problem with HDCP) and stops playback. If it was an HDCP problem though, I don't think I'd get playback at all. I'm watching on a 22" ViewSonic monitor that is HDCP compliant and using DVI.


On some discs it doesn't happen very often while on others its basically unwatchable, but it always seems completely random. Flip on AnyDVD and there's no problem at all.

Any ideas what might cause this? I've been through pretty much every update of PowerDVD and they all seem to have issues, and so far updating video drivers hasn't done anything either. I've had this issue for quite a long time, so I've been through a lot of ATI drivers. Haven't tried out the 9.2s yet. I'm using Vista 64

What card do you have? I saw this problem on my 4850 when I upgraded to 10.1 drivers. The problem doesn't exist for me on 9.12 OR 10.2 ... on the 10.1 release notes, there is a mention about signal loss during blu-ray playback being "fixed" (it caused it for me though) ... So , if you have the problem on the other versions.. perhaps your card behaves backwards relative to mine. Try the 10.1 drivers.
ivanhoek is offline  
post #2601 of 2862 Old 02-20-2010, 07:33 PM
Member
 
nrbrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a sapphire 4850. I'm using the 10.1 drivers now and have the problem. I'll try the 10.2s tomorrow and see what happens.
nrbrandt is offline  
post #2602 of 2862 Old 02-21-2010, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Also it appears your Power DVD version is out of date as well. Version 2528 was released a couple weeks ago, may want to see if that fixes your problem as well. There was an ATI related fix in the release notes, not sure if it's your problem though.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #2603 of 2862 Old 02-21-2010, 09:49 AM
Member
 
nrbrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for that. It sure is nice that sometimes the player tells you there is an update available, and sometimes it doesn't.
nrbrandt is offline  
post #2604 of 2862 Old 02-21-2010, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yea, you have to keep an eye on this thread. Then you'll know when things are updated.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #2605 of 2862 Old 02-21-2010, 11:32 AM
Member
 
ivanhoek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonscott87 View Post

Also it appears your Power DVD version is out of date as well. Version 2528 was released a couple weeks ago, may want to see if that fixes your problem as well. There was an ATI related fix in the release notes, not sure if it's your problem though.

True, he should also upgrade. I actually thought about the version of PDVD being the problem initially and did some trials.. I uninstalled it completely re-installed , upgraded from 7 in my CD to 9 and then applied successive patches all the way to 2528. The problem existed in all versions, I only got it to go away once I switched out of 10.1 drivers. Either to 9.12 or to 10.2.
ivanhoek is offline  
post #2606 of 2862 Old 02-24-2010, 09:24 AM
Member
 
DMD61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SMALL TWEAK

1- Allow connection with certification is not valid
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\Cyberlink\\PowerDVD9]
"UI_EnableAACSOnline"=dword:00000001
2 - Disable libray Movie Remix
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SOFTWARE\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD9]
"EnableMovieLibrary"=dword:00000000
"EnableMovieRemix"=dword:00000000
3- Disable keyboard support BD-J
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\Cyberlink\\PowerDVD9]
"UI_EnableBDJKeyboard"=dword:00000000
4-Elimination notice Moove Live scores
Delete the file 2cMovie.dll the path C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD9


5- Remove warnings and registration info to Cyberlink products
Delete the folder OLRSubmission the path C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD9\\OLRSubmission
DMD61 is offline  
post #2607 of 2862 Old 02-24-2010, 12:58 PM
Member
 
nrbrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Neither the new ATI drivers nor the PowerDVD update fixed my screen going blank issue.
nrbrandt is offline  
post #2608 of 2862 Old 02-25-2010, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
bmwnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a sony BD-5730s laptop burner and it doesnt read certain discs?? the drive just disappears i put latest firmware on and am properly updated with POWERDVD9 need some help??
my specs are 2.4ghz core2duo nvidia 256 8600M GS 4gb Ram sony BD-5730s 6x BD-R
bmwnick is offline  
post #2609 of 2862 Old 02-25-2010, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WTF is it with this F'n player!

I just downloaded the trial to check picture quality (there's some talk about dithering) and the freaking trial ran once (need to "register" with your info or no workie), then first thing I noticed is what looks like an overloaded bloated effin flash website (even though I SKIPPED the moovie live agreement). In hindsight, I should have applied what learned in the past years and not allowed PowerDVD access to the net.

Then I try to check out this "cinema mode" player, and effin thing takes me to a Buy Now screen, with no option to bypass it (telling me "your trial version expires in 30 days". Now I can't get back to the normal version, nor I can bypass that screen which comes up every time I open PDVD. I'm gonna try opening the .exes but this is bullcrap.

And even though I already registered, the register window always comes up asking again for name, email, etc.

I guess I still won't be buying this intrusive piece of bloatware. I don't care about dithering anymore.
Andy o is offline  
post #2610 of 2862 Old 02-25-2010, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
...aaaand pic's no better than with WinDVD or TMT3. Test gradients look the same, no dithering.
Andy o is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off