ASUS P5E-VM HDMI audio - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 03-09-2009, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
coatta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While I am aware that there are several threads on this topic, they are all far too advanced for a newbie like myself.

Basically I am trying to get audio through HDMI. The video is working fine, but no audio. I am running a ASUS P5E-Vm HDMI on G35 mobo. The HDMI is running through a Marantz SR5003 Dolby TrueHD / dts-HD Master Audio AV Receiver.

I`m not sure what other info is required, but any help that can be offered in simple terms is greatly appreciated.
coatta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-09-2009, 09:06 PM
Member
 
timinohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From your post I gather your running HDMI from the onboard HDMI port of the motherboard? If that is correct, do you have any other soundcards installed in this computer? Did you install your audio drivers for the motherboard?
timinohio is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-10-2009, 01:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
coatta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I am running the HDMI through the onboard HDMI port of the motherboard. As far as the drivers, I believe I have installed all the audio drivers for the motherboard. If I look under sound, video and game controllers on the device manager, I see:
- Audio Codecs
- Intel High Definition Audio HDMI
- Legacy Audio Drivers
- Legacy Video Capture Devices
- Media COntrol Devices
- Realtek High Definition Audio
- Video Codecs

Also, I have just noticed, under Display Adapters, I have 2 listings for Intel G35 Express Chipset Family. Under device status for both of these, it says "Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing." When I try to update the driver, it says it could not find a better match for the hardware.

I'm not sure if this has any effect on my HDMI audio, but I assume it needs to be corrected. Any help on this issue would be appreciated as well.
coatta is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 03-10-2009, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which graphics driver version do you have installed? Which HDMI audio version?

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-10-2009, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
coatta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is graphics driver the same as display adapter? If so, its version 7.14.10.1329, date 9/13/2007. The HDMI audio version is 5.10.0.1032, date 7/24/2007.
coatta is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 03-10-2009, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ancient. Vista, I presume? Try

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filt...3&submit=Go%21

Or, if I'm mistaken and you have XP:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filt...4&submit=Go%21


Included is a much newer HDMI driver. After you install this, we'll proceed to try to fix your problems.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
coatta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow. Apparently that fixed both my problems. Finally have audio through HDMI. Thanks
coatta is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
coatta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now, how do I determine the best video settings for this system? The monitor is a Hitachi 42" Plasma TV.
coatta is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coatta View Post

Now, how do I determine the best video settings for this system? The monitor is a Hitachi 42" Plasma TV.

What is its native resolution -- 720p?
lsarver is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
coatta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for the TV? 1080p
coatta is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coatta View Post

for the TV? 1080p

So that should be your "best video setting," as long as the set accepts its native resolution. Intel drivers support standard formats out-of-the-box.

I asked because I thought it might have been a plasma with one of the oddball resolutions. In that case, you would face more work.
lsarver is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off