6ch analog in? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-14-2009, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Paul MN
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, do you guys know of any sound cards that deliver 6ch analog inputs, preferably somewhere close to 24bit 192khz? I would like to record my SACD's from my 6ch SADC player to multichannel, high bandwidth FLAC, if this is even possible.

Thanks in advance guys!

"The satisfaction of a great price will be overshadowed by the bitterness of poor quality."

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO Abear
You still measure your TV in "inches"? Thats so cute! :D
zryder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-15-2009, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Paul MN
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
any ideas?

"The satisfaction of a great price will be overshadowed by the bitterness of poor quality."

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO Abear
You still measure your TV in "inches"? Thats so cute! :D
zryder is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-15-2009, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smitty2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Afraid you are out of luck unless you look into professional solutions. It's pretty easy to copy DVD-A to you hard drive using a computer's DVD drive. I would figure SACD isn't too different.
Smitty2k1 is online now  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-15-2009, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Paul MN
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks.. I have found good ways of encoding DVD-A to Flac, for example... but it seems SACD is another beast all together. DVD-A's can be read by a DVD drive, but SACD's can not. they dont use the PCM architecture, they use Direct Stream Digital, wich aparently is a 1bit signal, and there are no computer drives in existance, that I am aware of, that can read SACD's. Nearly all SACD's are hybrid disks, in wich they store both the SACD and standard CD layers on the same disk, so when you put that in your drive, it only reads CD.
I wish there was a good way to do this...

"The satisfaction of a great price will be overshadowed by the bitterness of poor quality."

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO Abear
You still measure your TV in "inches"? Thats so cute! :D
zryder is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-15-2009, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only type of card with that many inputs would be a pro grade recording card.

SACD's are a tricky beast and as you have found the drives are not avialable for the PC.
I haven't looked into this subject very much but if yor serious about it, perhpas some research is in order to find the most cost effective way to back up your SACD investments.
ROBSCIX is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-15-2009, 06:01 PM
Member
 
phelmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought an M-Audio Firewire 1814 unit for under $300 not too long ago but haven't had time to try it with SACD's yet (even though its hooked up to a dedicated Pioneer DV-588A SACD player...). I wanted an external unit to avoid noise issues. It seemed to be the best deal at the time.

- Peter
phelmers is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-15-2009, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Paul MN
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
let me know how those solutions work out for you guys, i would be curious. sad that there isnt anything under $300 that will do anything close to what I am looking for..

"The satisfaction of a great price will be overshadowed by the bitterness of poor quality."

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO Abear
You still measure your TV in "inches"? Thats so cute! :D
zryder is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off