TotalMedia Theatre 3 Platinum - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 04:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rickcfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
http://www.arcsoft.com/public/softwa...nt=LANG_DETAIL

More info now on Arcsofts website. Priced at 79.95 . Supports HDMI 1.3a with compatible hardware?
Wonder when we get the "Buy" button?
rickcfer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It does not seem to offer much over version 3.

Perhaps this one will give us 1080p/24 output that actually works.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is offline  
post #3 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
From the Features website:

< snip >
  • DMI 1.3 pass-through support, for lossless 7.1 channel audio output through receivers*
.....
*ASUS Xonar HDAV series audio card required.

< snip >

Does this mean it supports bitstreaming through the XONAR card, i.e. the ASUS OEM software is no longer the only one that works with this card?

Would this also include HD-DVD?

____
Axel



Axel is offline  
post #4 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel View Post

Does this mean it supports bitstreaming through the XONAR card, i.e. the ASUS OEM software is no longer the only one that works with this card?

Looks like it. The Xonar support was implemented by Arcsoft (with the work being partially funded by Asus). It's not too surprising that they now merge this into their own retail product.
Quote:


Would this also include HD-DVD?

Well, let's first see if HD DVD is supported at all. If it's not, that's an instant "no sale" as far as I'm concerned.

For completeness' sake the other features marked as "new":

- Enhanced Blu-ray interactive features, including BD Profile 1.0, Bonus View and BD-Live [ weren't those already supported by version 2?]
- Direct playback from high-definition Camcorder
- Experience surround sound with two-channel output devices such as speakers
- Advanced video features such as HQV support, and Auto Enhance
- Popular internet HD video support – MKV

Looks a bit underwhelming to me. If the video quality is really improved as the second but last bullet seems to imply, that might be a reason to upgrade.
Rigby Reardon is offline  
post #5 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I would be really nice, if this version also ran on Win7 (beta).

____
Axel

Axel is offline  
post #6 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The single biggest thing is that this should support Windows Media Center integration with bitstreaming. That is huge!
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #7 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Cool keep the InFo coming

Mucho Gracias to all !

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #8 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawguy View Post

It does not seem to offer much over version 3.

Perhaps this one will give us 1080p/24 output that actually works.

1080p24 has worked for me for a long time. Vista x64, NVidia 9800GX2.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #9 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

The single biggest thing is that this should support Windows Media Center integration with bitstreaming. That is huge!

Huge? For the 11 people that own an HDAV maybe
AngelEyes is offline  
post #10 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
xgecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigby Reardon View Post

Looks like it. The Xonar support was implemented by Arcsoft (with the work being partially funded by Asus). It's not too surprising that they now merge this into their own retail product.
Well, let's first see if HD DVD is supported at all. If it's not, that's an instant "no sale" as far as I'm concerned.

The site page says:

For HD DVD and Blu-ray, TotalMedia Theatre fully supports the entire specifications and can play back:

Blu-ray movies (BDMV, BD Live), including all Hollywood movie discs, with full support for Java games and Internet interactivity
HD DVD movies, including full support for user interaction and Internet interactivity through HDi
Personal recorded BD-R/RE discs (BDAV)

"But it's just a flesh wound!"
xgecko is offline  
post #11 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,632
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 171
I wouldn't doubt if this was just a second leak of the product info.

There is no PR http://www.arcsoft.com/public/press_list.asp about the product and it's a different page then we saw back in januarary.

Also there is ALOT less HD-DVD, including the removal of the HD-DVD on the main page verus last time it leaked when it was still prominent.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #12 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 10:11 AM
Member
 
chadamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What exactly does "Advanced video features such as HQV support, and Auto Enhance" HQV is a test I thought. Do they mean that they're including some kind of upscaling ala pdvd9
chadamir is offline  
post #13 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 10:39 AM
Member
 
granadol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
granadol is offline  
post #14 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
martijua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

I dont see a buy button.....I'll be buying this when available.
martijua is offline  
post #15 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 11:54 AM
Member
 
chadamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CUDA Only?!
chadamir is offline  
post #16 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Emissary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If they managed to get the keyboard shortcuts working for BD-J discs, then they might have a product worth buying...
Emissary is offline  
post #17 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rickcfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
When can you buy it?
rickcfer is offline  
post #18 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Jason said sometime between now and late Monday night PST. So, I guess keep checking. Also, there will be a trial but it will not include Dolby support. (Beats me...I guess Dolby said no according to what Jason posted). I asked about HD DVD support and he said it should work the same as TMT 2. There should also be some upgrade pricing, as well, but I don't know the details of that yet. All in all this is a must buy for me as TMT is my favorite player software at this time.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #19 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Oh, P.S. This is supposed to work with Windows 7, as well. I didn't get a reply about the Cat 9.x drivers yet, though.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #20 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 09:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone use the VMC integration on it before?

I have the OEM version so mine doesn't have it and am considering upgrading to TMT 3. Do you get box art like media portal on VMC and then just choose your MKV or blu-ray ISO to play? Does it automount ISO?
ymarker is offline  
post #21 of 3406 Old 03-20-2009, 11:00 PM
Senior Member
 
cameronl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi, 24p works for me.

I use reclock and lock it at 24p.

CaM
cameronl is offline  
post #22 of 3406 Old 03-21-2009, 06:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rickcfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It would be nice if Arcsoft_Jason could post in this thread about availibility and new features.
rickcfer is offline  
post #23 of 3406 Old 03-21-2009, 09:02 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
He said it will support HD-DVD, but in the current way it is supported (on Ver 2). In other words, do not ever expect bitstreaming for HD-DVD. That is understandable.

It will play them, though.

Right now, he is elbows and ******* deep in putting up the trial version...finishing the QA testing, etc. At least he was as of late Friday night. I would not expect to hear from him for a few days.
cybrsage is offline  
post #24 of 3406 Old 03-21-2009, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I agree that it's acceptable for HD DVD not to bitstream. The fact that they're keeping support for it at all makes this a must buy for me the moment it's available. By far my favorite player on the market.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #25 of 3406 Old 03-21-2009, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

I agree that it's acceptable for HD DVD not to bitstream. The fact that they're keeping support for it at all makes this a must buy for me the moment it's available. By far my favorite player on the market.

Agreed. "Unofficial" support on the existing level is just fine. If this turns out to be the case, I will buy the upgrade just to reward them for not leaving some of their customers high and dry without any good reason (and to fart in Cyberlink's general direction ).
Rigby Reardon is offline  
post #26 of 3406 Old 03-21-2009, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

I agree that it's acceptable for HD DVD not to bitstream. The fact that they're keeping support for it at all makes this a must buy for me the moment it's available. By far my favorite player on the market.

Does that mean it will decode DD+ and TrueHD fully and output as multi channel (if applicable) LPCM over HDMI like all HD DVD STB's? If so that is acceptable, if it will only outputs lossy over S/PDIF then that's not.
William is offline  
post #27 of 3406 Old 03-21-2009, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by William View Post

Does that mean it will decode DD+ and TrueHD fully and output as multi channel (if applicable) LPCM over HDMI like all HD DVD STB's? If so that is acceptable, if it will only outputs lossy over S/PDIF then that's not.

TMT2 does that now. I play my HD DVD's using TMT2 and output LPCM over HDMI using my ATI. What it means, however, is that the sound is downsampled. Which isn't nearly as bad as outputting over S/PDIF, but, understand that you'll get 48/16 when it downsamples the audio.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #28 of 3406 Old 03-21-2009, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
BobSalita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CHI, CLD, PAR, PHX, PDX, NKC, AUK, MEL, SYD, BUE, SCL
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hope they removed the "feature" that causes TMT to shutdown if Visual Studio is used.

Former Top 1000 Amazon reviewer bemoaning the loss of objective user reviews. Amazon, stop your complacency!
BobSalita is offline  
post #29 of 3406 Old 03-21-2009, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Oh ouch. Hadn't seen that issue but I haven't installed VS on my machine in a while, either.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #30 of 3406 Old 03-21-2009, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobSalita View Post

Hope they removed the "feature" that causes TMT to shutdown if Visual Studio is used.

I doubt it. It's probably part of the Themida protection system used by TMT to shut the software down when it detects a debugger running. While this is not nice, it is another case where the AACS license agreement forces them to make some efforts to prevent tampering and reverse engineering (extraction of AACS keys etc.). Since I don't use my HTPC for development, it doesn't bother me so much personally, but I can certainly understand that it does inconvenience others.
Rigby Reardon is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off