Multiple monitors, refresh rate, vsync and tearing? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2009, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheOtherOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two displays hooked to a single computer. Display one is a Samsung LCD that runs 1080p @ 60Hz. Display two is a Hitachi CRT that runs 1080i @ 29hz. The computer has a 9500GT video card and the displays are cloned in the nvidia control panel so that both TV's get the exact same desktop from the computer. It works pretty well but display two does this when there is a lot of motion:



Is it because of the different refresh rates or is it because of some things I've heard about how windows vista can only do vsync on the primary display?

Basically... I want to know if I get rid of the CRT and replace it with a LCD TV that takes a 60hz input if the tearing will go away or not.
TheOtherOne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2009, 12:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think video playback will ever work with cloned monitors running at different refresh rates. One will have to tear as v-sync is driven by the other.


And turn off Aero maybe?

I run my video on the secondary monitor (not cloned) with no issues, on an ATi 2600XT. Aero causes havoc for me.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 12:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheOtherOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use DXVA in Media Player Classic for GPU acceleration and if I turn off Aero, it causes tearing on even the main TV.


Is there some program out there that can fake cloning? Like can I leave the monitors configured independently in the control panel yet still see the exact same desktop icons, taskbar and running programs on each display?
TheOtherOne is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
cameronl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I got around my tearing issues by using ovleray.

thanks

CaM
cameronl is offline  
Old 04-27-2009, 04:36 AM
Member
 
alorent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cameronl View Post

Hi, I got around my tearing issues by using ovleray.

thanks

CaM

Please, can you describe what you did exactly? Not sure about how to do overlay to fix this issue.

Thanks!
alorent is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off