HDMI audio problem in Windows 7RC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 05-07-2009, 11:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slowlybuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a problem getting DD 5.1 output to my receiver over HDMI. I get both video and stereo output from HDMI, but nothing multichannel when using LiveTV, Recorded TV. Dolby Digital DVDs playback in stereo and DTS DVDs do not produce any sound.

When I go into Control Panel->Hardware and Sound->Sound

I have 4 audio device options.

Speakers, which are the 3.5mm analogue outs
Headphones
Digital Audio (S/PDIF) and
Digital Audio (HDMI).

It only gives me the option for stereo when clicking configure in HDMI.

S/PDIF has the configure button greyed out. But clicking on properties for S/PDIF brings up a tabbed window. One of the tabs is for supported formats. This has check boxes that I can select. It offers DTS Audio, Dolby Digital, MS WMA Pro Audio and sample rates of 44.1, 48, 88.2, 96, 192.

So my thinking is that once I install a S/PDIF header and make this my default audio device I should get DD out of everything played on the system, that has a DD track. Am I correct in thinking that?

And why aren't these formats offered in the supported formats tab of HDMI? The HDMI version of the tab just says:

Max number of channels:2
HDCP:Not supported
Bit Depth: 16 Bit
Sample Rates: 48.0kHZ
Encoded Formats: No compressed formats found.

With no choices or check boxes like in the S/PDIF version of the tab.

For reference I'm using the following gear.
AMD 7750
TA790 GX 128 mobo with ATI HD 3300 IGP
4GB DDR2
Hauppauge 2250
Windows 7RC

Thanks in advance for any and all help offered. AVS has been treasure trove of help for the past 3 years for me. Thanks everyone!
slowlybuilt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 05-08-2009, 02:55 PM
Newbie
 
digitalDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same IGP. You will have to get the HDMI drivers. If they don't have them on your Mother Boards website you can get them from Realtek
digitalDee is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 05-08-2009, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slowlybuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalDee View Post

I have the same IGP. You will have to get the HDMI drivers. If they don't have them on your Mother Boards website you can get them from Realtek

I've tried that already. I'm actually running R2.18 now. I've also tried R 2.22 and neither version fixes the issue. Thanks for trying though.
slowlybuilt is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 05-09-2009, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need to update the drivers for the ATI. That's what I had to do to get 5.1 work.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 05-09-2009, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slowlybuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

Need to update the drivers for the ATI. That's what I had to do to get 5.1 work.

Which driver are you using? As I've stated before I've tried several different drivers with no luck. I've tried R2.18 and R2.22 from Realtek and ATI CCC 9.4 (both Win 7 and Vista versions). If there is another driver out there I haven't read about it yet.
slowlybuilt is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 05-09-2009, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used 9.4 Win 7 version. You have to go into device manager and update with it pointing to the driver folder.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 05-10-2009, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slowlybuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

I used 9.4 Win 7 version. You have to go into device manager and update with it pointing to the driver folder.

That's not an option. I just reinstalled CCC 9.4 Win 7 and then went to:

Control Panel->Hardware and Sound->Sound

Clicked on Properties button of Digital Audio(HDMI)

Clicked on Properties again in the new window.

That got me the option of the Driver tab, but the driver tab has all available options greyed out except driver details, which doesn't allow you to change anything!
slowlybuilt is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 05-10-2009, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Go to the device manager and go to sound that way.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 05-10-2009, 10:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slowlybuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

Go to the device manager and go to sound that way.

Bingo! It still doesn't show up as an option in Windows Sound, it does however playback as 5.1 on my receiver so I'm very happy right now.

I'm kinda pissed I spent $6 for an SPDIF header, but I'm thankful that this all worked out. Thanks so much.

I hope this thread helps other with the same problem as me!
slowlybuilt is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 05-16-2009, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA , USA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you go to Realteks website and download their latest drivers 2.3 you should then get 5.1 or DD & DTS from the HDMI.

Also once you install these drivers you will be able to see the choices in the Playback device section.
Carbo is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 05-16-2009, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slowlybuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbo View Post

If you go to Realteks website and download their latest drivers 2.3 you should then get 5.1 or DD & DTS from the HDMI.

Also once you install these drivers you will be able to see the choices in the Playback device section.

Wrong. That information is incorrect. The latest drivers are 2.23 and they do not work for DD/DTS over HDMI.

The proper driver is in ATI CCC 9.4 for Windows 7.

It will display in your Device Manager as "ATI Function Driver for High Definition Audio-ATI 791A" once installed manually using Device Manager to access the driver update function and manually select the driver from within CCC 9.4.
slowlybuilt is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 05-17-2009, 08:52 AM
Member
 
gpounders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowlybuilt View Post

Wrong. That information is incorrect. The latest drivers are 2.23 and they do not work for DD/DTS over HDMI.

The proper driver is in ATI CCC 9.4 for Windows 7.

It will display in your Device Manager as "ATI Function Driver for High Definition Audio-ATI 791A" once installed manually using Device Manager to access the driver update function and manually select the driver from within CCC 9.4.

Can you provide more details on what directory you pointed to for the hdmi drive file? I installed the 9.4 for windows but I don't see the item you mention in the Device manager. I only have 2 items under sound that say "High Definition audio device"
gpounders is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 05-17-2009, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slowlybuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpounders View Post

Can you provide more details on what directory you pointed to for the hdmi drive file? I installed the 9.4 for windows but I don't see the item you mention in the Device manager. I only have 2 items under sound that say "High Definition audio device"

Start->Control Panel->Hardware and Sound->Device Manager->Sound,video and game controllers

Within that I forgot which you chose, (I did it last week)I believe you first have to remove the Realek one, or possibly just update the driver, by clicking properties and update driver. It doesn't really matter if you remove the wrong driver, because windows will detect the device and reinstall one anyway.

I'm fairly certain that you select High Definition Audio Device->Update Driver->Browse my computer for driver software

I'm 100% certain the driver is located here:

C:\\ATI\\Support\\9-4_vista32_win7_32_dd_cc_wdm_enu\\Packages\\Drivers\\WDM\\HDM I\\LH

Sorry I'm shaky on the specifics of which to change in the device manager, but I'm 100% certain that is the driver. That's what I'm using now and I have DD/DTS playback over HDMI through my AVR.
slowlybuilt is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off