HD 1080i Test Pattern to determine Vector Adaptive Deinterlacing + others icl. Ticker - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 283 Old 12-14-2009, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rico66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's taken during video playback (from MPC HC)
Rico66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 283 Old 12-14-2009, 05:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 368
@Rico66

It looks like "Blend" is working (as 1P area is uniformly gray). You have to use a video decoder supporting DXVA and EVR (CR):

- MPEG-2: Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder, CyberLink Video/SP Decoder (PDVD7/8/9)
- VC-1: ArcSoft Video Decoder with VC-1 Tweaker
- H.264: MPC - Video Decoder, CyberLink H.264/AVC Decoder (PDVD7.x, PDVD8). Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder is also OK.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #93 of 283 Old 12-14-2009, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rico66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Actually I just noticed that the previous screenshot is useless, since it got resized to 1024x576. The 1p area looks like this:

and the center like this:


I'm using a dxva capable decoder (MPC Video Decoder). The native Microsoft DTV Decoder looks the same in WMP as mentioned above.
LL
LL
Rico66 is offline  
post #94 of 283 Old 12-14-2009, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico66 View Post

It's taken during video playback (from MPC HC)

There are several phases to the video while it's playing, IIRC - static image, no motion, with alternating line pattern but ticker stationary; followed by more different alternating moving patterns (ticker starts scrolling). I was wondering when it was taken.
tsanga is offline  
post #95 of 283 Old 12-14-2009, 05:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Yeah, it's hard to tell what's working because there is no movement in the patterns at all (as seen from the relative positions of the patterns and the ticker); the ticker is moving but I can't see the detail. Please upload the entire picture (1920x1080) somewhere else.

So you overclocked GPU core from 500MHz to 900MHz, right? (Another extreme overclocking example.) Are you using SidePort memory?

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #96 of 283 Old 12-14-2009, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rico66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not sure how helpful these screenshots are anyhow, since it's a video.

@tsanga: I can take another screen shot. What's a good time slot of the video to look at?

@Rene: Yes, this board contains SidePort memory
Rico66 is offline  
post #97 of 283 Old 12-14-2009, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tsanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico66 View Post

@tsanga: I can take another screen shot. What's a good time slot of the video to look at?

During the initial ticker scrolling movement.
tsanga is offline  
post #98 of 283 Old 12-14-2009, 07:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico66 View Post

Not sure how helpful these screenshots are anyhow, since it's a video.

Actually a proper screenshot is enough to tell instantly which is working, VA or MA. Take a screenshot at the moment when the letter "," (comma) in the ticker is (horizontally) between the 1-4p area and the area surrounded by red lines. The distinction between MA and VA should be clear at this moment:

- MA: jaggies on the edges of white track lines and the orange tubnails of the ticker as explained in the first post
- VA: smooth.





BTW the pictures in your post are totally useless because there is no movement except for the ticker (as seen from the relative positions of the patterns and the ticker in your previous picture), and you didn't include the ticker in the second picture!

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #99 of 283 Old 12-25-2009, 05:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 368
So nobody has ever been able to get HD Vector Adaptive deinterlacing (or an equivalent) from any IGP (AMD, NVIDIA, or Intel) under Vista/7 (with Aero on or off)... that agrees with my experience.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #100 of 283 Old 12-26-2009, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blaubart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
renethx, sometimes my english is not the best - who is "nobody"? Do you mean some people posting above or nobody in this world "has ever been able to get HD Vector Adaptive deinterlacing (or an equivalent) from any IGP (AMD, NVIDIA, or Intel) under Vista/7 (with Aero on or off)..." ??
Or is it ironical?

Your 1st Screenshot in Post #40 looks like VA under Win7...

I'm planning to buy a Laptop, may be a "HP Pavilion dv8-1050eg" with a GeForce GT 230M inside - would you say no chance for VA? Or should I take one with Ati inside? Or no chance anyways?
blaubart is offline  
post #101 of 283 Old 12-26-2009, 06:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaubart View Post

renethx, sometimes my english is not the best - who is "nobody"? Do you mean some people posting above or everybody in this world "has ever been able to get HD Vector Adaptive deinterlacing (or an equivalent) from any IGP (AMD, NVIDIA, or Intel) under Vista/7 (with Aero on or off)..." ??
Or is it ironical?

Your 1st Screenshot in Post #40 looks like VA under Win7...

I'm planning to buy a Laptop, may be a "HP Pavilion dv8-1050eg" with a GeForce GT 230M inside - would you say no chance for VA? Or should I take one with Ati inside? Or no chance anyways?

Basically those who claim VA with 780G/785G IGP (in this thread).

The 1st screenshot in Post #40 was taken with HD 4670, a nice discrete card.

GeForce GT 230M is a discrete graphics (in that it is not integrated on the NB die). This GPU looks fine at least in specs (equivalent to GT 220, that supports VA).

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #102 of 283 Old 12-26-2009, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blaubart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

GeForce GT 230M is a discrete graphics (in that it is not integrated on the NB die). This GPU looks fine at least in specs (equivalent to GT 220, that supports VA).

Thanks for the note.
I have only chosen the HP because a review claimed an enormous vertical viewing angle of the built-in screen. I hate those Notebooks where the top is dark and bottom grey sitting right in front (most are like that). Although it's not antireflective (like most notebook screens). I don't understand those laptop manufacturers. Crazy for shining...
blaubart is offline  
post #103 of 283 Old 12-30-2009, 11:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I finally got around to taking some screenshots of VA vs. MA in action. Can any of you experts with trained eyes tell me whether the attached is VA working? I've also included a screenshot of MA for reference. I used Windows Media Player in Win7 to play the Mpeg2 version of the file so I assume all DxVA duties were performed by the gpu.

Also a quick note: I am able to get this working in Win7 with Aero ON. I am using the HD2600 Pro AGP with 256mb DDR2. I simply have to OC the memory speed to 1000mhz for CCC to "authorize" VA deinterlacing. Otherwise, it defaults to Adaptive under stock speeds. The funny thing is, I can then return the memory clock back down to 800mhz stock, and VA will still be activated and functional.

EDIT: seems like AVS downsizes all uploaded images. I've uploaded them here. Thanks!
kevinqian is offline  
post #104 of 283 Old 12-30-2009, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Your VA screenshot looks like it's really MA and the MA looks like it's really Adaptive. I'm pretty sure you will not achieve VA with the 2600. It is basically the same as the 3200HD IGP.
vladd is offline  
post #105 of 283 Old 12-31-2009, 12:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinqian View Post

So I finally got around to taking some screenshots of VA vs. MA in action. Can any of you experts with trained eyes tell me whether the attached is VA working? I've also included a screenshot of MA for reference.

- VA test.jpg: VA is working.
- MA test.jpg: MA is working.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #106 of 283 Old 12-31-2009, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

- VA test.jpg: VA is working.
- MA test.jpg: MA is working.

Thanks for the confirmation!
kevinqian is offline  
post #107 of 283 Old 12-31-2009, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Your VA screenshot looks like it's really MA and the MA looks like it's really Adaptive. I'm pretty sure you will not achieve VA with the 2600. It is basically the same as the 3200HD IGP.

That may be due to me overcompressing the jpeg to fit under AVS attachment limits, then realizing that it'll never fit, but already losing details due to the lossy jpeg compression the first go round.
kevinqian is offline  
post #108 of 283 Old 12-31-2009, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinqian View Post

That may be due to me overcompressing the jpeg to fit under AVS attachment limits, then realizing that it'll never fit, but already losing details due to the lossy jpeg compression the first go round.

Ah, yeah, that would do it. Impressive that you got it working with a 2600.
vladd is offline  
post #109 of 283 Old 01-01-2010, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blaubart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About a year ago hundreds of HD 2400/2600 people posted having VA working without overclocking by simply patching the registry:
http://home.comcast.net/~exdeus/ati-hd2x00/
or using DXVAChecker 's reg tweaking features.
But they did not have the Cheese Slices to verify VA so nobody knows today if they only had activated the trigger...

Next thing is how fluent (no or few stutters) a 1080i video is running on different OS, renderers, players, formats (MPEG2, H264, VC1), decoders and drivers.
blaubart is offline  
post #110 of 283 Old 01-01-2010, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah Blaubart, I originally started with CCC 9.12, applied the ExDeus registry tweaks to Win7. CCC allows me to select VA deinterlace. However, in DxVA checker, VA only allowed resolution up to 720x480. When playing 1080i, it would revert back to Adaptive, as confirmed by Cheese Slices. So I began tinkering with driver and OC settings. Since some mentioned taht OC'ing the memory allowed for VA, I tried that route. Only after OC the DDR2 to 1008Mhz (effective), would DxVA checker report VA for 1080i sources. I then ran the Cheese slices again and confirmed VA functional. So then I tried downclocking to 800Mhz stock speeds and VA was retained until next system reboot.

I have tried the Mpeg2 and H264 versions of Cheese Slices and both work with 0 frame drops using MS DTV-DVD decoder. WMC 1080i OTA also works flawlessly. GPU usage hover around 50% for Mpeg2 and 20-30% for H264. this is due to the 2600 series lacking full Mpeg2 VLC decoding in UVD. So the stream processors handle part of the work.

I don't how this would play out in XP, as most of those ppl a year ago probably used. I think most ppl back then were uninformed of VA deinterlacing without a true test, and concluded that they had it working simply because CCC allowed that option.
kevinqian is offline  
post #111 of 283 Old 01-02-2010, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blaubart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well done, kevinqian. You should post that in the ATI Radeon HD 2X00 Thread, ah I see you've already been there before.

"play out in XP" - no problem, the CCC AGP Hotfixes run fine in XP and PDVD8 decoders play DXVA. Funny, the first time I posted this a year ago in Germany, especially the AGP thing
-> "people, don't trash your old PC - it will play HDTV!" here, this produced not only masses of angry "specialists" but also an awesome race of other specialists - who's got the slowest computer to run HDTV flawlessly? I think the winner was a Pentium III (600Mhz) + HD2600 AGP VectorAdaptive was no condition..
blaubart is offline  
post #112 of 283 Old 01-02-2010, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow a P3 can handle 1080i Mpeg2? My old P4 2.8 runs around 60% cpu watching 1080i OTA. that's crazy. But I'm glad I can make good use of an old junk PC, albeit not an elegant low power solution.
kevinqian is offline  
post #113 of 283 Old 01-02-2010, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blaubart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
German TV is always H.264 in HD. And your mpeg2 60% cpu is too high, on a P4 3.0 I have 18% mpeg2 and 7% H.264. Maybe the PDVD8 decoder does it better? And/or the Overlay Renderer in XP. A P4 1.0 had 18% H.264 and the P3 about 30%.
blaubart is offline  
post #114 of 283 Old 01-04-2010, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
callsignapollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone.

I've been tried to resolve an MPEG2 DXVA issue with my HTPC for some time now. I've got an AMD Athlon X2 5200+ and a GA-MA78GM-S2H (1.1) which has an integrated HD3200.

Thus far I've been unable to use MPEG2 DXVA which was my goal but this thread has educated me enough to aim for VA DXVA.

I'm trying to achieve VA DXVA at the lowest possible cost - would an HD4670 GPU be able to achieve VA DXVA for MPEG2 1080i material?

Cheers,

callsignapollo
callsignapollo is offline  
post #115 of 283 Old 01-04-2010, 08:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by callsignapollo View Post

would an HD4670 GPU be able to achieve VA DXVA for MPEG2 1080i material?

Yes. HD 4670 is minimum (and sufficient) for HD VA.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #116 of 283 Old 01-05-2010, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
kiwijunglist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Thanks for the awesome post.

I have HD4670 + XP Pro SP3 on my HTPC running mediaportal.
I set ATI CCC to output Full RGB32
I have used the ATI registry colorspace tweak
For codecs i use PDVD9 for MPEG2, and MPC-HC Decoder for h264
For live HDTV i use PDVD9 H264.

Which catalyst version should i be using, and why?

GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G 2GB RAM | AMD X2 4200+ CPU | HD4670 | HVR 2200 | XP Pro SP3 | MediaPortal 1.1+SVN | SAF CODEC PACK (Haali/PDVD9/MPC-HC)
kiwijunglist is offline  
post #117 of 283 Old 01-30-2010, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i did this Cheese slices test on a Core i5 Arrandale chip. Seems like it can do MA-like deinterlacing. I assume this will be the same on a Clarkdale setup.
kevinqian is offline  
post #118 of 283 Old 01-30-2010, 07:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 368
"Running letters" (ticker) and "Determine Vector adaptive" look MA, "Video reference" (the white track lines) looks VA, "Response - noise" looks much better than ATI HD 5750. In real-world video playback, perhaps it's hard to notice a difference between Clarkdale and ATI (and NVIDIA).

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #119 of 283 Old 01-31-2010, 01:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blaubart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correct, the MA-VA differences "In real-world video playback" (1080i) are so tiny that even the impact of a complete clean "Response - noise" would be purely academical. Except you're watching sport events on a big screen all day sitting close in front of it.
blaubart is offline  
post #120 of 283 Old 01-31-2010, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
kevinqian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is true. But the funny thing is, aren't most LCD/Plasma TVs only capable of doing MA-like deinterlacing as well, sometimes even worse? So this has really become a very theoretical/technical debate at this point as most of us used to watching straight from the television never really paid any attention and were happily ignorant in the past.
kevinqian is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off