Better Sound from PC to Sony Bravia - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-25-2009, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TimWilmath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have connected my Dell XPS410 to my Sony Bravia KDL- 46V25L1 via a DVI from the Dell to an HDMI input on the Sony. I am getting the sound via a single 3.5mm jack on the Dell to a splitter to Left/Right RCA inputs on the Sony.

I also have my Pioneer audio tuner connected to the Sony so TV sound comes out my stereo speakers.

When watching content from the PC to the Sony, the picture is great. But the sound is just ok. I don't think I can get sound from the DVI > HDMI, or at least I haven't figured out how.

If I install a sound card in my PC, will that improve the sound? I am open to suggestions.

Thanks in advance for your help.
TimWilmath is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-26-2009, 06:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
soulrider4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Buy a new soundcard, buy a power amplifier (Emotiva XPA-5), plug the 1/8" jacks into the poweramp, and then enjoy
soulrider4ever is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-26-2009, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
sharangad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it any better if you directly connect your PC to the amplifier?
sharangad is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-29-2009, 02:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
JiffOrange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
buy a ati HD4xxx card for your dell which supports audio (7.1 LPCM) over HDMI or a lesser card that supports SPDIF over the cards HDMI (supports regular DD or 2.0 LPCM) such as one of the nvidea modles & you are good to go.
Cheers,
Jiff.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JiffOrange is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-29-2009, 06:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
soulrider4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharangad View Post

Is it any better if you directly connect your PC to the amplifier?

If you have a good quality amplifier, then yes. Most receiver's make compromises in the amplification section, and that can have a large impact on SQ.
soulrider4ever is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off