"Official" ASRock ION 330 nettop thread - Page 9 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Are you buying an ION-based nettop?
No, no interest in them 0 0%
Maybe, once I get more info and reviews 0 0%
Yes, but not sure which, or waiting for others to appear 0 0%
Yes, and it will be the ASRock ION 330 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2010, 01:20 PM
Member
 
reuveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Onkyo TX-SR606 and ION 330HD BD. I there any way to pass Dolby TrueHD direct to the Onkyo? I tried using shark007 codecs but it didn't work.
reuveng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2012, 03:59 AM
Newbie
 
barneybear69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I've owned a 330 for a couple of years now and must say I've been happy with it.
6 months ago the DVD stopped working which I just put up with until my family are saying they want to play DVD's (we don't own any BD).
I just want to know what spec of DVD to buy?
Is it SATA or IDE?
Can I just buy anything that says slimline?
Is it 2.5" or 3.5"?

Thanks in advance
Regards
Nigel
barneybear69 is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 05:46 PM
Member
 
whatever69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barneybear69 View Post

Hi,
I've owned a 330 for a couple of years now and must say I've been happy with it.
6 months ago the DVD stopped working which I just put up with until my family are saying they want to play DVD's (we don't own any BD).
I just want to know what spec of DVD to buy?
Is it SATA or IDE?
Can I just buy anything that says slimline?
Is it 2.5" or 3.5"?

Thanks in advance
Regards
Nigel

Hi Nigel,

It's SATA. It's very rare to find computers that are 2 years old with IDE in them. Also, you're right in that you need to find a slimline DVD reader. I would look at the measurements of your current slimline DVD drive and compare it with ones online. The key is the height and width if you really want to be certain, or just bring the drive with you to the computer store.

Good luck.
whatever69 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 03:35 AM
Newbie
 
Essay2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an old thread but it seems the most appropriate.

My ION 330 is coming up on 3 years old. The HDD has died, no problem easily replaced, however I can't get it to boot off a Ubuntu or XBMCbuntu iso burned to CD. It won't read the disk I'm sure I built it from in the first place either

The CD was written on a win7 machine. Both the win7 and an old XP box can boot off that disk. The ION happily boots off an old XP install disk so I know the drive is actually working.

Figuring perhaps it was just where it was written and where it was read drive incompatabilites I wrote it agan from a different machine and still no luck.

The message is "Reboot and select proper boot device or Insert Boot media in selected boot device and press any key". It seems to not be seeing the CD as a boot disk - it is definitely trying to read the CD.

Any ideas?
Essay2 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 05:47 AM
Newbie
 
dhomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Essay2,

I have the same model Ion 330 and I have successfully installed XBMCbuntu on it. However, I used the boot from USB option to do it. Perhaps you could try to install it this way, as a workaround?
dhomas is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 07:40 AM
Newbie
 
Essay2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I'll give that a try in the morning.

It's a bit weird how the XP Install disk works but the Ubuntu one I used last time no longer does, nor a new one.
Essay2 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 10:03 PM
Newbie
 
Essay2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks dhomas, that worked.

The installer font was so small as to sometimes be illegible on our HD TV, did you see that?

All went well except after install it didn't actually restart and had to power cycle. So much simpler than last time (2009) in how audio (including digital surround passthrough) and video all worked perfectly out of the box. I only had to adjust the overscan.
Essay2 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off