HD4650 Sound Output Setup Issue - 2 Channels Only - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 1 Old 07-04-2009, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*** DISREGARD *** I didn't realize a speaker wire became disconnected - once reconnected everything performs as expected. Sorry to both you all.

Hi there, I'm new to HTPC, trying to learn more about this by using an old PC I have as a proof-of-concept before I dive deeper.

To handle audio/video output from the PC to my Yamaha RX-V863 receiver, I purchased a Gigabyte ATI Radeon HD4650 AGP card (GV-R465D2-1GI) which has an HDMI port on the card. I've installed this card into my Intel P4 pc running XP SP2. Card is connected to the receiver via an HDMI cable.

Video appears to be working just fine, no issues.

Sound output is working too, but not properly. I am only getting sound out of either the center speaker, or center/front right, depending on how I set up the output on the PC and playback mode on receiver. Using the "Sounds and Audio Devices" control panel dialog, I have audio output set to "ATI HD Rear audio output". Setting the advanced property for this device to:

- "Two Desktop Speakers", the receiver display denotes a 2 speaker setup (L R), but sound comes out of center and/or right speaker only. Changing the playback mode of the receiver changes which of the 2 speakers delivers the sound.

- "5.1 Surround Sound Speakers", the receiver display denotes a 5.1 speaker setup (L C R SL SR), but sound only comes out of center and/or right speaker only. Changing the playback mode of the receiver changes which of the 2 speakers delivers the sound.

In both cases, the display of the receiver also indicates "PCM", as opposed to "DSD" (Direct Stream Digital).