Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 + Motorola 3416 DVR/Digital box compatible? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-10-2009, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tigers06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having problems configuring my TV tuner (Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250) with my DVR Digital cable box (Motorola 3416).

The problems:

- The IR Blaster isn't working with the digital box.
- When configuring the remote in 7MC it does not recognize the remote actions (numbers, channel up, etc)
- With the windows media remote I'll enter a channel and nothing happens.
- With the digital box remote, I'll enter a channel and it will change channel, but very slowly.
- The screen is displaying at 4:3 and not 16:9.
- Signal seems to be "fuzzy"

Current setup:
- Updated drivers for HVR-2250
- Coax out of wall into DVR
- Coax out of DVR into HVR-2250
- IR Receiver/Blaster out of HVR 2250
- HDMI out of onboard GeForce 9400 HDMI into Samsung LN32B360 LCD HDTV

FWIW: Here are the stats of my media pc:
- Lian Li PC-C37b Micro ATX HTPC
- Antec EA380 380W
- Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce 9400 HDMI Micro ATX
- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core
- G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
- Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM SATA
- Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB SATA
- LG Black Blu-ray/HD DVD-ROM & 16X DVD±R DVD Burner SATA Model GGC-H20L
- Rosewill RNX-G300LX IEEE 802.11b/g PCI Wireless
- Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250
- Windows 7 RC

I'd like to know if these two are even compatible? Does it matter if I have the DVR hooked up via coax or svideo? Has anyone successfully hooked this card up to a digital box?

I've been working on this for the past few days, and decided it was time to ask for help

Thanks for any direction.
tigers06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-10-2009, 07:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I suggest that you work one isssue at a time.
Configure the 3416 to use the an RF input or S-video input with one of the analog tuners on 2250 card. (S-video will provide picture quality then RF coax).
Don't worry about configuring any other inputs with the 2250 card till you get the 3416working correctly in MC.
When you configure MC analog make sure that you tell it that your are using a STB and not an antenna.

The analog output from the STB is all standard NTSC SD 4:3 aspect ratio.

After you get the 3416 working properlty you can try also connecting your cable from the wall to your 2250 using a splitter and use it to receive HD clear QAM channels.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-10-2009, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tigers06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

I suggest that you work one isssue at a time.
Configure the 3416 to use the an RF input or S-video input with one of the analog tuners on 2250 card. (S-video will provide picture quality then RF coax).
Don't worry about configuring any other inputs with the 2250 card till you get the 3416working correctly in MC.
When you configure MC analog make sure that you tell it that your are using a STB and not an antenna.

The analog output from the STB is all standard NTSC SD 4:3 aspect ratio.

After you get the 3416 working properlty you can try also connecting your cable from the wall to your 2250 using a splitter and use it to receive HD clear QAM channels.

Thank you SO much for the reply.

The 2250 did come with an A/V breakout cable
http: //www.hauppauge.com/pics/hvr2250_av-input-cable_diagram-b.jpg

Should I use that to connect the tuner to my STB?

So the ideal setup would be to split the cable coming from the wall into two. Have one connection go directly into the TV in (on the 2250). And the other connection go to the STB which will be connected via RF/S-video?
tigers06 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-10-2009, 10:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Cable appears to be used with S-video or composite input to one of the analog tuners from your STB.
You need to connect to both card and STB so you can receive either HD resolution clear QAM QAM channels or SD content from channel selected on the STB tuner.
walford is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off