HTPC loses Sharp LCD, or blown-up resolution - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-20-2009, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
schmoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All, I have a XP Pro SP2 HTPC running video from a HDCP-enabled nVidia 8600 GTS via DVI -> HDMI cable to a Denon 3808 receiver, and from the Denon 3808 to a 46" 1080p Sharp Aquos, from Costco, bought in 2007.

The HTPC is set to go to S3 sleep after 5 minutes of inactivity. Power to the TV and AVR are turned off via universal remote.

Recently I've experienced two new issues: primarily, when resuming from sleep, the TV seems not to receive a signal and as a result gives no picture. Occasionally it will wake up and the resolution will be blown up to where the screen shows just a small section of the overall desktop, and moving the mouse will cause the screen to scroll around.

I don't know if this is due to computer drivers, computer hardware, something in the receiver, or the TV itself. I've tried updating the plug n play driver, but it seems like the old 2001 (or so) generic monitor driver is the latest. The card has two DVI outputs, and I have tried using both to no avail. If I reboot, I'll see "normal" resolution with the POST screen, and XP will load at the appropriate resolution. If I pull one of the HDMI cables (input to AVR, output from AVR to TV) and replug it in, the picture will return (I haven't tried when the resolution blows up / zooms).

I don't know what I could have done to bring this on, but this definitely never used to happen.

Any ideas?
schmoppa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-21-2009, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
schmoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(bump)
schmoppa is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-21-2009, 06:27 PM
Member
 
dazzo17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have seen these problems but with amd cards video drivers not nvidea, look at the drivers get the latest or roll back to what was working before. do a search there are similar topics in here on the issue you have but as I said mostly amd cards I think.
dazzo17 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-04-2009, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
schmoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible this has something to do with the monitor's EDID? I found a bit on this, but I'm not sure whether this is the right direction to take this.
schmoppa is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-04-2009, 06:53 PM
Member
 
dazzo17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the exact same sharp lcd and use hdmi in with pixelmap I think its called set through the tv at 1 to 1 video set to 1920x1080p @60hz and dont have this issue with my amd card.
dazzo17 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-17-2010, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
mo0sic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmoppa View Post

Hi All, I have a XP Pro SP2 HTPC running video from a HDCP-enabled nVidia 8600 GTS via DVI -> HDMI cable to a Denon 3808 receiver, and from the Denon 3808 to a 46" 1080p Sharp Aquos, from Costco, bought in 2007.

The HTPC is set to go to S3 sleep after 5 minutes of inactivity. Power to the TV and AVR are turned off via universal remote.

Recently I've experienced two new issues: primarily, when resuming from sleep, the TV seems not to receive a signal and as a result gives no picture. Occasionally it will wake up and the resolution will be blown up to where the screen shows just a small section of the overall desktop, and moving the mouse will cause the screen to scroll around.

I don't know if this is due to computer drivers, computer hardware, something in the receiver, or the TV itself. I've tried updating the plug n play driver, but it seems like the old 2001 (or so) generic monitor driver is the latest. The card has two DVI outputs, and I have tried using both to no avail. If I reboot, I'll see "normal" resolution with the POST screen, and XP will load at the appropriate resolution. If I pull one of the HDMI cables (input to AVR, output from AVR to TV) and replug it in, the picture will return (I haven't tried when the resolution blows up / zooms).

I don't know what I could have done to bring this on, but this definitely never used to happen.

Any ideas?

I have this issue with Windows 7 with a Nvidia 8600gt, a Denon 889 and a Sharp LCD 52". Did you find a solution? I've tried the MCE Standby tools to no avail...
mo0sic is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-17-2010, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
zzyckz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You might find your solution in the EDID override thread...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1091403

zzyckz
zzyckz is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off