Windows failed to play the test tone - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-23-2009, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
theboyfold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all

I'm a little new around here and have an issue with a Dell Studio 1555 laptop which has an HDMI port that I'm trying to make use of.

Now I have a few issues, and from Googling until the early hours of the morning it seems I'm not alone.

My setup is as follows:
I have a Yamaha DSP-AX763 setup which has been working fine with a Panasonic DMP-BD30 and Sky HD as the HDMI sources.

I've had no issues with these, however, I've no tried to connect my new laptop, it's a Dell Studio 1555 with a ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 on board card with an HDMI out. I don't have a DVI output on the laptop, so I can't use Gefen's DVI Detective I'm afraid.

Now my issue is that when I play the Dell through the amp I don't get any audio, the video works fine.
However, when I plug the laptop straight into the screen which is a Panasonic TH42PV500 I get sound and video.

Now I've been looking around at that one and I've had no success in finding a solution that works for me, so any advice would be great.

I also have another issue, where Windows won't allow me to play a test sound, either a DTS or Dolby Digital sound. I get the following error message: "windows was unable to play the test tone support for this format will be disabled" I've tried various tests and I still have no luck.
Is this just a simple issue like a missing driver? If it is I can't seem to find a driver for it anywhere.

Thanks in advance for your help, I've done a lot of reading on this forum and the level of knowledge and help looks superb so hopefully you will be able to help me out as well.

Thanks
theboyfold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-23-2009, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theboyfold View Post

Hey all

I'm a little new around here and have an issue with a Dell Studio 1555 laptop which has an HDMI port that I'm trying to make use of.

Now I have a few issues, and from Googling until the early hours of the morning it seems I'm not alone.

My setup is as follows:
I have a Yamaha DSP-AX763 setup which has been working fine with a Panasonic DMP-BD30 and Sky HD as the HDMI sources.

I've had no issues with these, however, I've no tried to connect my new laptop, it's a Dell Studio 1555 with a ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 on board card with an HDMI out. I don't have a DVI output on the laptop, so I can't use Gefen's DVI Detective I'm afraid.

Now my issue is that when I play the Dell through the amp I don't get any audio, the video works fine.
However, when I plug the laptop straight into the screen which is a Panasonic TH42PV500 I get sound and video.

Now I've been looking around at that one and I've had no success in finding a solution that works for me, so any advice would be great.

I also have another issue, where Windows won't allow me to play a test sound, either a DTS or Dolby Digital sound. I get the following error message: "windows was unable to play the test tone support for this format will be disabled" I've tried various tests and I still have no luck.
Is this just a simple issue like a missing driver? If it is I can't seem to find a driver for it anywhere.

Thanks in advance for your help, I've done a lot of reading on this forum and the level of knowledge and help looks superb so hopefully you will be able to help me out as well.

Thanks


Have you set up the HDMI as the default audio path in the audio properties panel?

Right click on the speaker icon and select playback devices.
Then select HDMI as the default audio path.

Wait, just re read your post...you don't get audio through the AVR but do get it straight to the TV.

Odd. Would seem like an input select issue on your AVR, but if video is coming through but not audio, that would not make sense.

Is your AVR HDMI 1.3 compliant?

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-23-2009, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
theboyfold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

Have you set up the HDMI as the default audio path in the audio properties panel?

Is your AVR HDMI 1.3 compliant?

Yes and yes.

I'm somewhat confused, and I hate being beaten by stuff like this!!
theboyfold is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-07-2010, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
James, you should have started a new thread, since your problem has nothing to do with the original thread, and it's 6 months old.

What software are you using to play the blu-rays? It's possible that it doesn't support hardware acceleration of the video, or that it's disabled.

Quote:


updating drivers (didn't follow through on this)

Why didn't you do this? Always run the latest drivers.
spivonious is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-07-2010, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 121
So, I had this same problem last night trying to switch from using SPDIF to HDMI audio. No test tone. I have a homemade build and a Onkyo HTIB AVR.

After fiddling for a while and becoming frustrated I realized I hadn't changed the sound input on my AVR to use HDMI! Given that it works with your TV, any chance this is a config problem on your AVR? Do you need to go into the AVR setup and tell it to use HDMI for the sound? I did.

Oh, and don't be dismayed if your HDA config says it's only 2-channel LPCM. That just means the PC isn't going to do the decoding of DD/DTS 5.1. It'll still send it to your AVR to decode it. At least, in my case anyway with ATI HD3200 (780G) and HDMI.

[EDIT]
Oh sh*t, I didn't realize this thread was ancient. I hope the OP got it straightened.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-08-2010, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, something wasn't right. Glad to hear they're replacing it.

This whole forum is for HTPC topics. Just start a new thread next time
spivonious is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-09-2010, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:


As there is not a catagory of Windows HTPC how do folks find it?
How do I start a new thread if there is not a catagory for it? There really should be one for Windows.
Thanks for your help.?

The Mac and Linux forums are SUB-Forums. Everything that doesn't go in those goes in the main board here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=26
sitlet is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off