Windows 7 7600.16385 built in decoder seems to work well for HA on high bitrate mkv - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 220 Old 02-23-2010, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
fraggermcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes! That fixed it, you're a genius!

I'm not even going to begin to try and figure out why that did the trick as it makes no sense to me, but I'm happy now

But what if I want passthrough of AC3?
fraggermcg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 220 Old 02-23-2010, 02:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by fraggermcg View Post

Yes! That fixed it, you're a genius!

I'm not even going to begin to try and figure out why that did the trick as it makes no sense to me, but I'm happy now

But what if I want passthrough of AC3?

I think it is a bug with FFDShow. I have a lot of instability with pass thru trying to play in the default WMC player. For instance, I can have two mkvs with the same details, one will play and bitstream perfect and the other won't. If I go into FFDShow Audio Config, uncheck all the audios, and then recheck it works, but only a handful of times??? Try leaving AC3 checked and see if you get playback, it may just be the HD audio that is breaking things???

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #213 of 220 Old 03-12-2010, 07:05 PM
Member
 
mbordas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Park City
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I followed the quick guide (post #52) and blu ray is playing fine in 7MC, but it seems to randomly break playing .avi videos - some work and others don't. I tried running the offending file through graphstudio to see if something was missing but it looks OK and there's nothing obvious they have in common, except maybe ffdshow audio; but I don't see why that would be a problem when it works fine for .mkv and .m2ts.

Anyone see anything like this or have any thoughts?
mbordas is offline  
post #214 of 220 Old 03-12-2010, 07:38 PM
Member
 
blackcell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Post #52 . What do you mean by "break"? Refuse to play at all or just No audio?
blackcell is offline  
post #215 of 220 Old 03-12-2010, 10:37 PM
Member
 
mbordas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Park City
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, won't play at all, and they play just fine in graphstudio. The only thing I've noticed that they have in common is they all use the AC3 audio codec.
mbordas is offline  
post #216 of 220 Old 11-07-2010, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 157
I am trying to set my system up to play all my HD video files using ffdshow DXVA decoder in W7 Media Center. I'm using Win 7 Filter Tweaker. Media Foundation is disabled. It's set to ffdshow dxva for h264 and vc-1, and that plays perfectly fine within .mkv files. However, when I play .m2ts or .ts files the Microsoft DTV-DVD codec overrides these settings and I can't use ffdshow dxva. I also used graphstudio and it shows that it should be using ffdshow dxva for the file, however when played in Media Center it doesn't. The only way to make this work is I have to disable the DTV-DVD codec but then that breaks Live TV.

Any idea to make this work? Perhaps a registry hack to force ffdshow dxva on .m2ts and .ts files? I'm not sure how to go about that though...
StinDaWg is offline  
post #217 of 220 Old 11-07-2010, 07:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,098
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post

I am trying to set my system up to play all my HD video files using ffdshow DXVA decoder in W7 Media Center. I'm using Win 7 Filter Tweaker. Media Foundation is disabled. It's set to ffdshow dxva for h264 and vc-1, and that plays perfectly fine within .mkv files. However, when I play .m2ts or .ts files the Microsoft DTV-DVD codec overrides these settings and I can't use ffdshow dxva. I also used graphstudio and it shows that it should be using ffdshow dxva for the file, however when played in Media Center it doesn't. The only way to make this work is I have to disable the DTV-DVD codec but then that breaks Live TV.

Any idea to make this work? Perhaps a registry hack to force ffdshow dxva on .m2ts and .ts files? I'm not sure how to go about that though...

Are you sure that mfds.dll is renamed to mfds.dll.bak?

A screenshot of the filter graph by GraphStudio at M2TS playback in WMC is helpful (use DirectShowSpy.dll).
renethx is offline  
post #218 of 220 Old 11-08-2010, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Yes, I'm sure it's changed. Something weird is happening now though. .ts files that are vc-1 will play fine using ffdshow dxva, however on graphstudio it simply shows no video decoder being used. With AVC .ts files (Hot Tub Time Machine) it shows DTV-DVD being used in graphstudio but actually uses ffdshow when played in Media Center. On .mkv files it shows DTV-DVD used in graphstudio but uses ffdshow when played. So basically, it does not show ffdshow dxva in graphstudio no matter what, but still functions properly in Media Center with the exception of AVC .ts/.m2ts encoded files still using the DTV-DVD codec...
LL
LL
StinDaWg is offline  
post #219 of 220 Old 11-09-2010, 10:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,098
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post

Yes, I'm sure it's changed. Something weird is happening now though. .ts files that are vc-1 will play fine using ffdshow dxva, however on graphstudio it simply shows no video decoder being used. With AVC .ts files (Hot Tub Time Machine) it shows DTV-DVD being used in graphstudio but actually uses ffdshow when played in Media Center. On .mkv files it shows DTV-DVD used in graphstudio but uses ffdshow when played. So basically, it does not show ffdshow dxva in graphstudio no matter what, but still functions properly in Media Center with the exception of AVC .ts/.m2ts encoded files still using the DTV-DVD codec...

Maybe the issue has something to do with Windows update. Which splitter are you using? You may get help in Doom9's forum.
renethx is offline  
post #220 of 220 Old 11-10-2010, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Using Haali... oh well.
StinDaWg is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off