Core i7, i5 & i3 LGA1156 Processors Thread: Clarkdale Supports HD Audio Bitstreaming! - Page 123 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3661 of 3674 Old 04-10-2011, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HMenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Kentucky (Greater Cincinnati)
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
OK I've installed the Intel ME driver. Where do I go now to set up bitstreaming HD audio? In the Intel Display Audio driver I found some settings for speaker configuration and size.
HMenke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3662 of 3674 Old 04-10-2011, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
What BD player are you using? There should be a setting in PDVD 9/10 or TMT 3/5 to tell it to bitstream the audio. In TMT, in the Audio Output settings, set the Output Mode to "HDMI" and the Mixing Mode to "Original primary audio only". I forget what the exact setting is called in PDVD.

But in Windows, if you go to the audio playback devices, and edit the "Properties" of the Intel Display Audio, you can confirm that the Supported Formats tab lists "DTS-HD" and "Dolby TrueHD" among other things such as "Dolby Digital", etc. It knows this based on the EDID information sent from your receiver.

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #3663 of 3674 Old 04-11-2011, 04:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HMenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Kentucky (Greater Cincinnati)
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Ah ha now it's all coming together!

My machine has a Samsung Blu-ray player. It came with PowerDVD but I need to upgrade to be able to play Blu-ray disks...haven't done that yet...wanted to research other software beforehand. But it makes sense that's where the settings would be!

Thanks for your help, gorthocar! I really appreciate your patient, knowledgable answers.
HMenke is offline  
post #3664 of 3674 Old 09-04-2011, 05:18 AM
Senior Member
 
TimA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Will these new drivers (Management Engine and HD Graphics) below work with a Clarkdale (H55) based motherboard? Has anyone tried them? According to the Intel site, the Management Engine driver is specific to an 6 Series chipset and the graphics driver is specific to Intel desktop boards. I'm desperately trying to solve a HD bitstream audio problem and I'd like to try these drivers.

Management Engine:
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...agement+engine)

HD Video:
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...eng&iid=dc_rss

Update: I pulled the trigger and tried to install both. The HD Video driver installed fine but the Management Engine driver stated my system didn't meet the minimum requirements.

Tim


Tim
TimA is online now  
post #3665 of 3674 Old 09-05-2011, 02:44 PM
Member
 
PeterPL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have problem with my HTPC (i3 530, Asus P7H55D-M EVO) getting audio through jack 3,5m - jack 3,5 cable on my TV Sony Bravia (KDL-46Z4500).
I connected my TV by DVI/HDMI cable and picture is fine from HTPC but no audio by jack/jack cable.

Everything is connected corectly I'm sure, also settings in system too, tried different options, using latest intel HD Graphics drivers.

My TV automatic disable analog sound probably when detect HDMI connection.
When I changing inputs and change for HTPC for a second I hear sound before picture is displayed, when picture is display immediately sound is off.

I readed is a driver bug and Intel should fix it like nvidia done.

Is it some solution for this ? maybe edit EDID or something ?

Please help.

Sony 46HX850 | Sony 46Z4500 | Onkyo 905, Monitor Audio RX8 + RX LCR | Logitech Z-680 | HTPC: (Core i5 4570S, Asus H87M-PRO, 4GB, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, WD20EARS, Pionner BDC-202, Antec Fusion Remote Black)
PeterPL is offline  
post #3666 of 3674 Old 09-07-2011, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I decided to reformat my HTPC yesterday. What is the status of the Intel video drivers? I am assuming that they never got the 24p issue ironed out, are there any issues with the current versions? I installed 2361 last night. Running windows update showed that an update was available for it so I installed it. This morning I realized that 2476 is available so I am guessing that is what windows update installed. Any idea which is the best one to be running right now?
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #3667 of 3674 Old 09-07-2011, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
On my SandyBridge system, I get about 23.973 fps with drivers 2476, which is pretty darn close to the ideal 23.976 most BDs are mastered to. The math shows that it should drop a frame once every 5 minutes & change when playing 23.976 material on a 23.973 display.

I sold my Clarkdale system earlier this year, so I can't comment on whether it is doing any better with the 24p issue. I suspect not, but I am curious.

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #3668 of 3674 Old 09-14-2011, 08:29 PM
Member
 
PeterPL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
now we have 2509 drivers

Sony 46HX850 | Sony 46Z4500 | Onkyo 905, Monitor Audio RX8 + RX LCR | Logitech Z-680 | HTPC: (Core i5 4570S, Asus H87M-PRO, 4GB, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, WD20EARS, Pionner BDC-202, Antec Fusion Remote Black)
PeterPL is offline  
post #3669 of 3674 Old 10-11-2011, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I had an issue while trying to install the 2509 drivers yesterday. I was either on the v2279 or v2361 of the drivers before. I got a BSOD during the install. Anyone else have issues when trying to install the 2509 drivers? I should've known better and just not 'upgraded' the drivers and let things be since I had no issues at all using the previous drivers. I will be reverting back to the v2361 today and hopefully be back up and running like before.

NOTE: Does anyone have a link to an older version of the driver before v2361 just in case I have issues with that?
utee05 is offline  
post #3670 of 3674 Old 10-11-2011, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently had some problems with a .net framework critical windows update. ...at least I think that is what it was. Every time I tried to run windows update it would hang on update #4 no matter how long I let it go, not sure what that is all about. TMT5 is giving me issues as well so I think I am going to have to try a restore from the server.
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #3671 of 3674 Old 10-11-2011, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have an Asrock H55m Pro. Anyone have this mobo and what version of the intel drivers are you using? On the asrock site they have VGA driver ver:2104 while on intel site there is a v2509 and v2361.
utee05 is offline  
post #3672 of 3674 Old 01-06-2012, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i3 Core 2100 in Asrock 67M output to Sony 40XBR6 TV: Went into the Intel Graphics Media Control Panel (main screen right click then to "graphics properties"). In the color area, I got a major PQ bump by checking off the xvycc box after I read my Sony owner's manual that this would be appropriate. The effect was a blockbuster with much more sharpness and clarity. Only problem is I can't seem to save it. When I change inputs (to cable box or something else) I lose it and have to enable it all over again. One other has raised the issue in an Intel Forum. Anyone found a work around? It is a pain to go in there and re-enable everytime I change TV inputs. Anyone from Intel thinking this might be a good next step driver update?
sgbroimp is offline  
post #3673 of 3674 Old 02-21-2012, 07:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
T.Wells's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am having an issue getting Dolby TrueHD soundtracks to bitstream. My setup has no problems with DTS-HD audio but anything that uses TrueHD is converted by my AVR to Dolby Digital EX (at best). I believe that I have the option for Dolby TrueHD set to "Dolby TrueHD" so I do not think the AVR is making the conversion.

I think I have everything configured properly since I get DTS-HD to work but I am looking for help on the TrueHD audio.

I think the relevant information for setup includes:
Intel DH57JG with Core i3
DVDO Edge
Onkyo TX-NR905
Playback with TMT5
All drivers updated via Intel automatic update utility

Thanks,
T.Wells
T.Wells is offline  
post #3674 of 3674 Old 02-22-2012, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
salacious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland's wet coast
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by T.Wells View Post

Hello,

I am having an issue getting Dolby TrueHD soundtracks to bitstream. My setup has no problems with DTS-HD audio but anything that uses TrueHD is converted by my AVR to Dolby Digital EX (at best). I believe that I have the option for Dolby TrueHD set to "Dolby TrueHD" so I do not think the AVR is making the conversion.

I think I have everything configured properly since I get DTS-HD to work but I am looking for help on the TrueHD audio.

I think the relevant information for setup includes:
Intel DH57JG with Core i3
DVDO Edge
Onkyo TX-NR905
Playback with TMT5
All drivers updated via Intel automatic update utility

Thanks,
T.Wells

I have a Core i5 on a Gigabyte H55M motherboard connecting to a Onkyo TX-SR875 and I'm also using TMT5 and I don't have any problems playing DTS-HD or TrueHD

Brian

__________________________
Blu-Rays 100
HD DVDs 65
DVDs 300+

salacious is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off