upscaling standard dvd movies to 1080p using ffdshow and your htpc - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 354 Old 03-19-2010, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Aegwyn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post

I like the idea of being able to drop the avisynth addition, but i want to have it working so that i can have a comparison. Where do you tweka ffdshow filters, in mpchc(renderer settings) or ffdshow video config. Renethex who did the thread on HTPc builds says that internal upscaling within gpu filters does as good a job as all these special settings? what do you think. i am tallking specifically about dvd's. Looked at MadVR but it doesn't work well with dvd playback( i am assuming they mean SD)

ffdshow filter settings are right there in the ffdshow video decoder config. Just be sure and re-arrange the order...the order they are listed in on the left is the order the processing happens. And order can and does have an effect on the output.

I tried using the internal upscaling for my i3 530, but wasn't that impressed with the quality. Personally I felt that ffdshow with its filters worked the best for my situation.

As for MadVR....I wish I could use it, would love to try it. Stupid Intel HD graphics only support an even number of textures...MadVR needs integer support. I've considered getting an ATI card, but ultimately decided I need to get my theater room complete before spending too much more money on equipment...

Stupid. I'm totally stupid.
But, "they" say ignorance is bliss.
I just wish I knew what "they" were talking about.
Aegwyn11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 354 Old 03-19-2010, 09:28 AM
Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is how the screen reads:
Evaluate: System Exception - Access Violation (ffdshow_filter_avisynth_script.line12)

If this doesn't start working soon, I am going to drop it just because of the trouble.
buzzforb is offline  
post #153 of 354 Old 03-19-2010, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Aegwyn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is your system 64 bit?

Stupid. I'm totally stupid.
But, "they" say ignorance is bliss.
I just wish I knew what "they" were talking about.
Aegwyn11 is offline  
post #154 of 354 Old 03-19-2010, 11:20 AM
Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, but i am running mpchc x86 and have put the avisynth dll. in syswow64
buzzforb is offline  
post #155 of 354 Old 03-19-2010, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Aegwyn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post

Yes, but i am running mpchc x86 and have put the avisynth dll. in syswow64

Using ffdshow 32 bit as well?

Stupid. I'm totally stupid.
But, "they" say ignorance is bliss.
I just wish I knew what "they" were talking about.
Aegwyn11 is offline  
post #156 of 354 Old 03-19-2010, 12:29 PM
Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. It is the version that came with the software pack. I am going to see what MadVR can do.
buzzforb is offline  
post #157 of 354 Old 03-19-2010, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
GrandPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I want to play DVD's upscaled for a 1080p display with improved picture quality. I would like to use GOM player if it's all the same. And I have been led to believe that I should use ffdshow for the video processing. I noticed that ffdshow has not been updated in 6 years, and have been re-directed to ffdshow-tryouts. Is ffdshow-tryouts authentic?

I just want the basic info on how to make GOM use ffdshow. So far I have installed ffdshow-tryouts beta 7 (latest stable release - even though it says beta) and have enabled ffdshow resize to 1080p but am not seeing a change in GOM. Can someone help me get started please?
GrandPixel is offline  
post #158 of 354 Old 03-20-2010, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Aegwyn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Previously, if I tried to use RGB conversion inside ffdshow per the instrucitons in this post, levels would no longer match other programs (MCE, HULU, etc.). I could get around this by just not doing RGB conversion inside ffdshow, but I wanted to understand what the deal was. I finally sat down and figured this out.

Under the RGB conversion tab, you need to set the input levels to "standard" and the output levels to "computer monitor". This will get everything to match up.

Stupid. I'm totally stupid.
But, "they" say ignorance is bliss.
I just wish I knew what "they" were talking about.
Aegwyn11 is offline  
post #159 of 354 Old 03-20-2010, 06:54 PM
Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to try installing the new sw packet and see what happens. As of right now, the best PQ comes from a Staxrip of an AutoMKV generated file encoded to h.264/m2v file played through MPCHC with CoreAVC 2 using
Cuda acceleration and custom renderer with no 3d fullscreen. IMO this is better looking than a straight VOB copy. I would like to try MadVR, but it seems unstable in my PC environment. this and all other troubles i am having are more than likely mine and not the programs. Any help is greatly appreciated. Give it a try and see what you think. The jury is still out on your custom setup 8:13 as I have not been able to get it to work(probably my fault as well). I will try again because of both the positive reviews and also because of your dedication and hard work in doing all this for free.
buzzforb is offline  
post #160 of 354 Old 03-21-2010, 04:36 AM
Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
8:13,

Did you see the post about the script error i was getting. Do you know what i amay be doing wrong?
buzzforb is offline  
post #161 of 354 Old 03-21-2010, 08:58 AM
Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post

As of right now, the best PQ comes from a Staxrip of an AutoMKV generated file encoded to h.264/m2v file played through MPCHC with CoreAVC 2 using
Cuda acceleration and custom renderer with no 3d fullscreen.

I meant to say H.264/MP4 file
buzzforb is offline  
post #162 of 354 Old 04-02-2010, 09:28 AM
Newbie
 
Wryel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I've finally gotten round to trying this but the updated package doesn't seem to contain a replacement ffdshow.ax. Is this an oversight or is it no longer necessary? Thanks.
Wryel is offline  
post #163 of 354 Old 04-03-2010, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
NotSoCoolJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is no longer needed Wryel. Just make sure you have the plugins installed in the right folders and install the C+ 2005 and 2008 redistributables. Most people seem to get lost at that part. If you have an ATI video card, shoot me a PM. I have some settings I would like you to try out.
NotSoCoolJ is offline  
post #164 of 354 Old 04-06-2010, 07:44 AM
Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When tryin thr installation of you setup I encountered a problem that I thought I would share in case others had similar problems. I already had mpchc on my pc and did not download yours with the rest of the package. I could not get anything to work as mentioned earlier. The way I was able to resolve this was by putting a copy of the the dll files that go in the avisynth folder in the mpchc folder as well. I did this because I noticed your downloaded version had it this way. Now everything is working. Just thought it mght help someone else. Any new avisynth settings?
buzzforb is offline  
post #165 of 354 Old 04-06-2010, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
NotSoCoolJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's strange buzz. I have MPC-HC and I did not move those files into it's directory at all. I double checked and they are not there. Mine has been working fine.
NotSoCoolJ is offline  
post #166 of 354 Old 04-06-2010, 12:59 PM
Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Then maybe I am wrong. Wouldn't surprise me. I did replace the avisynth dll at the same time so maybe that is what did it. If you look in his software kit at what is included with the mpc file I believe you will find those plugins. Whatever did it, it's working and I am thankful for the help and info.
buzzforb is offline  
post #167 of 354 Old 04-16-2010, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
shailj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I am building a new htpc. I want to know whats the ideal processor to carry out upscaling with ffdshow with near Hd quality. I tried to test the same on my current pc with 3.0 ghz dual core but the performance is not very good. please suggest?
shailj is offline  
post #168 of 354 Old 04-18-2010, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
NotSoCoolJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shailj View Post

Hi I am building a new htpc. I want to know whats the ideal processor to carry out upscaling with ffdshow with near Hd quality. I tried to test the same on my current pc with 3.0 ghz dual core but the performance is not very good. please suggest?

What exactly are you trying to do. I was able to get a better than average up-scale with a dual core 2.6Ghz Opteron. If you want to use the motion enhancement scripts, then the bare minimum would be a Core2 Quad.

For now. Don't use Avisynth tab. Change resize tab to Laczos 4tap. Check Specify Horizontal and Vertical size(1920x1080). Move the sharpening filter so that it is above resize in the menu. Select Unsharp mask. I set mine to around 15. Sometime I turn it off. That's about it really. At that point you are already doing more than most up scaling DVD players.
NotSoCoolJ is offline  
post #169 of 354 Old 04-27-2010, 08:27 PM
Newbie
 
DentDent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
8:13,

Just wondering what is the purpose of the Luma Guassian Blur 0.50 setting you recommend in the resize settings. Don't we want the video to appear sharp as opposed to purposely blurring things?
DentDent is offline  
post #170 of 354 Old 05-02-2010, 02:22 PM
Newbie
 
Molim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8:13 View Post

To whoever uses the frame doubler I made a new script:...
Code:
setmtmode(2)
Last=ffdshow_source()
setmemorymax(550)
LimitedSharpenFaster_JD(strength=11)
LimitedSharpenFaster_JD(strength=11)
super=MSuper(pel=2, hpad=16, vpad=16)
backward_1=MAnalyse(super, chroma=false, isb=true, blksize=32, blksizev=32, search=5, searchparam=1, badrange=(-24))
forward_1=MAnalyse(super, chroma=false, isb=false, blksize=32, blksizev=32, search=5, searchparam=2, badrange=(-24))
backward_2 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_2 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=2)
MBlockFps(super, backward_2, forward_2, num=FramerateNumerator(last)*2, den=FramerateDenominator(last)*1, mode=1)
SetMTMode(1)
GetMTMode(false) > 0 ? distributor() : last

Hello 8:13,
I registered only to post for two reasons - first that I'm really thankful for all of your work with this guide I've been using it with slight adjustments for what seems years now, maybe it is So thank you very very much for your time and effort!

Secondly I wanted to give thanks for latest framerate doubler - I've been using your framerate doubler script and the last posted is the best version yet, without a shadow of a doubt!

I'm running a 4GHz core i7, so I run forced sharpen and resize/upscale+framerate doubler on 1080p movies even on your older scripts without dropped frames, though there were a couple of wmv videos I came across that produced delay frames on some scenes.

With your newest script my cpu usage running all enhancements of the most demanding 1080p video I have dropped my cpu load from 75% to just 50-55%! Result - no more delayed frames at all!
And now even my 3.8ghz core i5 secondary pc can framerate double+resize+sharpen+loads on 1080p as well with only some delayed frames which aren't noticable which is amazing, it was impossible before to do that with older scripts!

Furthermore, the newest version that I quoted not only is significantly faster, but also produces much much less artifacts and is less prone to exhibiting them in faster moving scenes or scenes with a lot of different motion, which was sometimes very obvious.

So I would suggest perhaps putting that script as your default recommended for framerate doubling?


Also, I recommend looking into madVR video renderer, which btw is gpu assisted.
I've been using it for almost a year now, the thing is amazing and the picture quality increase is very noticable.
can't link since this is my first post, just google "madVR doom9 forum download".
Molim is offline  
post #171 of 354 Old 05-04-2010, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
noods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^ I agree, that last script he posted is epic! much better than any other script I have tried (less artifacts, more natural motion, no dropped frames on 1080p).

Thanks 8:13.. if you make any other tweaks please let us know

btw : is reclock needed with these scripts to get vsync enabled?
noods is offline  
post #172 of 354 Old 05-04-2010, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
GrandPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How do i use these scripts? I would like to play dvd's on my computer with enhanced quality. Thanks.
GrandPixel is offline  
post #173 of 354 Old 05-07-2010, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Nighthog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm getting crazy here trying to figure out what the heck is wrong whit the frame doubler scripts by that they give dropped frames when going full screen but no drops at all when in window mode or in full screen but having the playback controls/info up over the video. Then I get no dropped frames but the moment I remove them, and move away mouse so the playback HUD goes down and mouse goes away the frames start to drop again even though the cores are far from any kind of peaks. Each core rarely go over 40% on regular dvd size.

I have a Phenom X4 9750 and the cpu utilization is below 40% spread across all cores.

This has been the case whit every frame doubler script to date on my computer.
I really want to use the frame doublers, but this issue keeps rearing it's ugly head making me unable to use them.
Nighthog is offline  
post #174 of 354 Old 05-10-2010, 01:26 PM
Newbie
 
noods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a bit of a play with your last script 8:13, even though I don't really know what I'm doing, heh. Using MadVR it works great.


I was wondering why scripts like the following haven't been posted?
Just doing a test on my machine right now with this - everything looks AMAZING !! almost 3D.

With this script my cpu usage is around 60% with 1080p, 30% on anything <720p and never drops any frames.

Specs - i7 @ 4ghz
6gig ddr3 @ 1600mhz
ati radeon 5870 1gb

Quote:


SetMemoryMax(3000)
SetMTMode(5,8)
ffdShow_source()
setmtmode(2)
LimitedSharpenFaster_JD(strength=11)
LimitedSharpenFaster_JD(strength=11)
super=MSuper(pel=2, hpad=16, vpad=16)
backward_1=MAnalyse(super, chroma=false, isb=true, blksize=32, blksizev=32, search=5, searchparam=1, badrange=(-24))
forward_1=MAnalyse(super, chroma=false, isb=false, blksize=32, blksizev=32, search=5, searchparam=1, badrange=(-24))
backward_2 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_2 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_3 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_3 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_4 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_4 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_5 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_5 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_6 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_6 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_7 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_7 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_8 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_8 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_9 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_9 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_10 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_10 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_11 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_11 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_12 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_12 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_13 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_13 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_14 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_14 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_15 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_15 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_16 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_16 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_17 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_17 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_18 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_18 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_19 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_19 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_20 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_20 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_21 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_21 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_22 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_22 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_23 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_23 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_24 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_24 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_25 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_25 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_26 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_26 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_27 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_27 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_28 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_28 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_29 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_29 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
backward_30 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, backward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
forward_30 = MRecalculate(super, chroma=false, forward_1, blksize=32, blksizev=32, thSAD=100, search=5, searchparam=1)
mblockfps(super, backward_30, forward_30, num=60, den=1, mode=2)
SetMTMode(1)
GetMTMode(false) > 0 ? distributor() : last

edit : just watched a few HD eps using that script on my projector, holy ****!!!
edit2 : made a couple of changes, if you got the power try that scipt it's amazing!!!!!!!!!!
noods is offline  
post #175 of 354 Old 05-12-2010, 06:19 PM
Member
 
WarnerL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8:13 View Post

I updated the sw kit with the new frame doubler and a new ffdshow. For the frame doubler I suggest you install haali and in mpc choose haali renderer. It fixes tearing and seems to provide a smooth picture. I tried madvr and it is really hard to register in windows 7 64 bit so I will just leave that alone for now.

The new ffdshow I made today might be faster? Try it out and see if it works better for you.

8:13,

The avisynth plugins are missing from the updated sw kit you just made available.
WarnerL is offline  
post #176 of 354 Old 05-14-2010, 06:28 PM
Newbie
 
DentDent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
8:13,

In your recommended settings for the FFDshow Audio Decoder analog, in your instructions.txt in your software package you say to set the uncompressed tab to 16-bit integer and the output tab to 24-bit integer. This differs from your previous recommendations to set both options to 32-bit integer. Also, your recommendations on the first page still list the settings as 32-bit integer. Which is correct and if it was changed, why the change?
DentDent is offline  
post #177 of 354 Old 05-20-2010, 04:28 AM
Member
 
mingleberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to use FFDShow to decode my MPEG2 MKVs ripped from my DVD collection in order to utliise its superior upscaling/post-processing capabilities.

I'm using Win7 Filter Tweaker 3.1 to change the codec from Microsoft's to FFDShow but when I try to play an MPEG2 MKV in 7MC or WMP or Graphedit,, the application crashes. Other media types all work fine with FFDShow - H264 and VC1 blu ray rips, XVID DVD rips. It's just the MPEG2 rips that are causing this problem.

I've checked FFDShow is set to decode MPEG2 etc etc. Is there something else I could check to make this work?

I did have it working via Shark 007 codec pack but I'd rather not re-install that as it felt like overkill.
mingleberry is offline  
post #178 of 354 Old 05-21-2010, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
NotSoCoolJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your nearly there man. Sharks probably installed some MKV splitter. There is an MKV playback thread around here somewhere.
NotSoCoolJ is offline  
post #179 of 354 Old 05-21-2010, 02:50 PM
Member
 
mingleberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got Haali's splitter installed and h264 and xvid mkvs play fine. It's just the mpeg2 ones that crash! Any ideas where to look to sort this out?
mingleberry is offline  
post #180 of 354 Old 05-26-2010, 01:48 AM
Member
 
mingleberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did try disabling the other WMF options in Filter Tweaker but it broke my 7MC BBC iPlayer plug in. I can't remember to be honest, but I don't think it solved the MPEG2 crashing problem.

Also, I tried using MPC-HC with FFDshow as an external filter and I experienced the same crashing behaviour when I tried playing an MPEG2 MKV. This suggests it's FFDShow rather than WMF. Might try posting on the Doom9 FFDShow thread to see if there's a version without the prob.
mingleberry is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off