Which DVD player software? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have a laptop that I use to stream music with MediaMonkey and I want to use it as a DVD player also. Specs for the laptop are:
  • Pentium IV 3200MHz
  • 1GB RAM
  • Wireless G with good signal
  • Radeon Mobile 9800 video card, 256MB memory, 1024 x 768, DVI and VGA out
  • DVD drive (QSI SBW242U)
  • Windows XP SP3 installed, Vista Home Premium on the shelf
The monitor is a Samsung LNT4053H:
  • HDMI and VGA input
  • 1366 x 768 resolution (1024 x 768 supported)
Audio is via an EMU 0404 USB interface that feeds a stereo with subwoofer.
  1. What DVD player software do you recommend?
  2. Can I get it to play widescreen?
  3. Could I add an external Bluray drive and get a better picture?
ajaxmike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
search. there are lots of dvd sw out there.

you could add a blu-ray drive, but your hardware will never be able to play it. waaaay to slow.
Derek K. is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

search. there are lots of dvd sw out there.

Of course there's lots out there, but I want to know what you experts recommend as the best. If I didn't want an expert opinion, I would google it. I come here for the expert opinions. If you don't have an informed response, then better to not respond.
ajaxmike is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DJWikiera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL.
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. TheaterTek - DVD only playback, one of the better players.
2. Yes you can play in widescreen
3. You could add an external BD drive but your system may have alot of stuttering since it's not really upto specs for Blu-ray playback. You would need TMT3, PDVD or WinDVD for BD playback.
DJWikiera is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Youg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zoomplayer.

It'S free and very good.
Youg is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You could install Vista Premium and use the built-in DVD Windows Media Center player for free, but your laptop specs won't handle Vista so well, so you may not want to.
jrwalte is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Apparently the laptop is capable of 1920 x 1200 resolution, but I am only getting 1024 x 7868 with the latest driver from Dell. Researching that issue.
ajaxmike is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DJWikiera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL.
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your laptop display probably only supports upto 1024x768. If you have both displays active your probably in clone mode and that is all you will get. Try making HDMI display primary and shutoff laptop display. Model# of laptop would help.
DJWikiera is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rockytt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No reason to output 1920x1080 as your monitor can't display it-it wants to be fed it's native resolution.
rockytt is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Laptop is Dell Inspiron 9100 with Y5703 Display (1920x1200). It appears that the video card (ATI Mobility 9800 with 256MB) only hits that resolution with low color.

The video card splits its memory between the two displays if both are active. I set the resolution for the laptop display at 1280x800 and 1360x768 for the Samsung external display. Works great, but I can only have one on at a time.

I'll have to look and see if I can set a hot key to make it easy to switch between monitors.
ajaxmike is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DJWikiera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL.
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anything on your function keys? My HP has a hot key to swap monitors.
DJWikiera is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 08-24-2009, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ajaxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ajax (Toronto) Canada
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
FN+F8 toggles between monitor/dual/external.

I have an MCE remote control on order which I will use with eventghost to control MediaMonkey. I'll look to see if i can map a key on the remote to toggle the monitor.
ajaxmike is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-13-2009, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
peterho3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have something similar and Bluray player just refuse to start because the video card is not supported. Among the big 3 I would recommend WinDVD 9 for DVD. All2HD really works with difficult interlace material while it can look terrible and judder in both PDVD and TMT3.
peterho3 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-14-2009, 03:06 AM
Newbie
 
ilil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use WinDVD. It has extended control for DVD-Video.

Bombono DVD | Author DVD Freely
ilil is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off