iSCSI as recorded TV location? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 08-24-2009, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
myso-htpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Silicon Vizzle fo' Shizzle
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a NAS that can be selected as an iSCSI target:

I will be swapping out my XPS 420 for a Lenovo IdeaCentre Q700 as my media center.

The problem is that adding disks internally is a pain....so I got to thinking....can i set up an iscsi drive and use that location as the recordedTV location?
myso-htpc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 08-24-2009, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I have no experience with the new iSCSI but I think you would be fine. I believe iSCSI is far faster than USB 2.0 and I record and playback from an HP 750GB PMD (a USB swappable internal hard drive). No hiccups here.
Garrett Adams is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off