Movies with forced subtitles - Page 10 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > Movies with forced subtitles

Home Theater Computers

Killroy's Avatar Killroy
05:37 PM Liked: 63
post #271 of 838
06-28-2011 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

I assume you are losing chapters doing it this way though, correct, since you are just grabbing the individual m2ts files?

Yes, and no. I extracted the chapters from both playlists as a text file and then edited it in a text file by doing simple math of the second m2ts and created a full chapters.txt file. Not that hard but time consuming.
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
07:55 PM Liked: 71
post #272 of 838
06-30-2011 | Posts: 5,968
Joined: Dec 2000
I'm having trouble with these BDs. Hope someone can help. I ripped all 6 movie discs using AnyDVD HD. But, when I use Clown_BD to output a Blu-ray structure, it keeps crashing when it gets to the tsMuxeR part. I then opted for HdBrStreamExtractor and extracted all the English subs, opened them one by one in BDSup2Sub, but can't figure out which the forced track is (which Killroy said is really not forced, but a separate track). Any ideas on how to end up with a MKV of just the movie with the necessary English subs for the non-English spoken parts?
Killroy's Avatar Killroy
08:13 PM Liked: 63
post #273 of 838
06-30-2011 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
I'm having trouble with these BDs. Hope someone can help. I ripped all 6 movie discs using AnyDVD HD. But, when I use Clown_BD to output a Blu-ray structure, it keeps crashing when it gets to the tsMuxeR part. I then opted for HdBrStreamExtractor and extracted all the English subs, opened them one by one in BDSup2Sub, but can't figure out which the forced track is (which Killroy said is really not forced, but a separate track). Any ideas on how to end up with a MKV of just the movie with the necessary English subs for the non-English spoken parts?
I am going to get flamed for saying this.... stop using all those front end apps!!!

Use eac3to (the back end of all those apps) in command line and do a simple remux (or demux) and at the end the log.txt will tell you which sub tracks will have "forced subs" or you can look for the real tiny English sub track (for those that are separate tracks) and you will know.
Killroy's Avatar Killroy
08:15 PM Liked: 63
post #274 of 838
06-30-2011 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Oct 2008
BTW, the log will look something like this:

Code:
Subtitle track 5 contains 666 captions.
Subtitle track 6 contains 507 captions.
Subtitle track 7 contains 493 captions.
Subtitle track 8 contains 5 captions.
Can you guess which is the forced track (that is a separate track)?
pfp's Avatar pfp
08:38 PM Liked: 12
post #275 of 838
06-30-2011 | Posts: 110
Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
I'm having trouble with these BDs. Hope someone can help. I ripped all 6 movie discs using AnyDVD HD. But, when I use Clown_BD to output a Blu-ray structure, it keeps crashing when it gets to the tsMuxeR part. I then opted for HdBrStreamExtractor and extracted all the English subs, opened them one by one in BDSup2Sub, but can't figure out which the forced track is (which Killroy said is really not forced, but a separate track). Any ideas on how to end up with a MKV of just the movie with the necessary English subs for the non-English spoken parts?
I've been using Clown_BD to rip my discs for a while now and every once in a while it crashes while running tsMuxer. What I've learned to do is clean up the files from the crashed run, open the tsMuxeR.LOG file, copy the command line from the file, and run that command line manually. So far this has worked every time for me.

Forced subs which are not marked as forced are usually really small file compared to the others. I examine them in BDSup2Sub just to be sure I get the right one. Once I have the right file I copy it and save as the same filename + "_forced" just like Clown_BD would have if the subs were flagged as forced. Next I edit, in a text editor, the movies demux.metafile that Clown_BD created to add the new forced file I created. It will make much more sense if you examine the log files generated by a movie that has forced subs flagged as forced - all you are looking to do it mimic that. Finally I need to remux so I manually run tsMuxer as described previously.

This procedure has worked well for me so far, but I don't make MKV's - I just do with a blu-ray structure.
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
11:31 AM Liked: 71
post #276 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 5,968
Joined: Dec 2000
Thanks Killroy, got it working your way.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
11:38 AM Liked: 75
post #277 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Thanks Killroy, got it working your way.

This is my project for this weekend. I am still going to attempt to rip to one BluRay folder per movie.
Killroy's Avatar Killroy
11:57 AM Liked: 63
post #278 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Thanks Killroy, got it working your way.

You are welcome.

The only real problem with using the eac3to command line is the fact that if there is two separate DTS-MA audio tracks you may not be able to remux both at the same time (some sort of Arcsoft filter limitation that may have been fixed in later versions but I still have the older version since it is the most stable). Using the -demux method may work but since I don't do demux I cannot confirm this.
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
12:21 PM Liked: 71
post #279 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 5,968
Joined: Dec 2000
Okay, I feel stupid now ... I thought I had it & I don't. After demuxing the first movie's part 1 disc using eac3to, here is what I get:

00014 - 8 - Subtitle (PGS), 1095 captions.sup
00014 - 9 - Subtitle (PGS), 1030 captions.sup
00014 - 10 - Subtitle (PGS), 1038 captions.sup
00014 - 11 - Subtitle (PGS), 374 captions.sup
00014 - 12 - Subtitle (PGS), 218 captions.sup
00014 - 13 - Subtitle (PGS), 410 captions.sup
00014 - 14 - Subtitle (PGS), 720 captions.sup
00014 - 15 - Subtitle (PGS), 20 captions.sup

That last (smallest) one is Spanish. I looked at the remaining ones in BDSup2Sub, but none appear to be right. They either contain production credits or other language. The first (largest) one is English appears to be subs for the full movie.

Am I not looking at or not doing something I should be? Thanks.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
12:23 PM Liked: 75
post #280 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Okay, I feel stupid now ... I thought I had it & I don't. After demuxing the first movie's part 1 disc using eac3to, here is what I get:

00014 - 8 - Subtitle (PGS), 1095 captions.sup
00014 - 9 - Subtitle (PGS), 1030 captions.sup
00014 - 10 - Subtitle (PGS), 1038 captions.sup
00014 - 11 - Subtitle (PGS), 374 captions.sup
00014 - 12 - Subtitle (PGS), 218 captions.sup
00014 - 13 - Subtitle (PGS), 410 captions.sup
00014 - 14 - Subtitle (PGS), 720 captions.sup
00014 - 15 - Subtitle (PGS), 20 captions.sup

That last (smallest) one is Spanish. I looked at the remaining ones in BDSup2Sub, but none appear to be right. They either contain production credits or other language. The first (largest) one is English appears to be subs for the full movie.

Am I not looking at or not doing something I should be? Thanks.

Why not just keep using Clown_BD? You can filter out to only get the english subs and from the output it is easy to tell which are the forced by the file size. If you are comfortable using Clown_BD I see no reason to bother with command line as you can get the same result
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
12:34 PM Liked: 71
post #281 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 5,968
Joined: Dec 2000
I tried Clown_BD a couple of times on this and it kept freezing when it got to the tsMuxeR part. May need to try pfp's workaround above.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
12:38 PM Liked: 75
post #282 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

I tried Clown_BD a couple of times on this and it kept freezing when it got to the tsMuxeR part. May need to try pfp's workaround above.

kill the tsMuxer part though and you will have all the temp files (including the subtitles).
Killroy's Avatar Killroy
12:38 PM Liked: 63
post #283 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Oct 2008
Silly question... what version is this... is this the US disc?

Assuming all discs are the same the first Elvish sub should come up at:

Code:
1 
01:19:13,874 --> 01:19:17,001 
I am Arwen - I've come to help you.

dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
05:33 PM Liked: 75
post #284 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Do all discs have forced subtitles? I just did LOTR Fellowship the 1st disc and there are no forced subs pulled. This is what is pulled for all the english subs

Code:
Subtitle track 9 contains 1095 captions.
Subtitle track 12 contains 374 captions.
Subtitle track 13 contains 218 captions.
Subtitle track 14 contains 410 captions.
Subtitle track 15 contains 720 captions.
I checked these in BDSup2Sub and none are the forced ones when reading the text
Killroy's Avatar Killroy
05:53 PM Liked: 63
post #285 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Do all discs have forced subtitles? I just did LOTR Fellowship the 1st disc and there are no forced subs pulled. This is what is pulled for all the english subs

Code:
Subtitle track 9 contains 1095 captions.
Subtitle track 12 contains 374 captions.
Subtitle track 13 contains 218 captions.
Subtitle track 14 contains 410 captions.
Subtitle track 15 contains 720 captions.
I checked these in BDSup2Sub and none are the forced ones when reading the text

Check the timeline I posted earlier and see if they are burned in. I am beginning to think that the US discs are different.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
05:58 PM Liked: 75
post #286 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

Check the timeline I posted earlier and see if they are burned in. I am beginning to think that the US discs are different.

Yup, that looks like the case. I have the US disc and the subtitles are burned in. What version do you have?
Killroy's Avatar Killroy
06:14 PM Liked: 63
post #287 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Yup, that looks like the case. I have the US disc and the subtitles are burned in. What version do you have?

EU version. I couldn't wait.
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
06:52 PM Liked: 71
post #288 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 5,968
Joined: Dec 2000
Whew, I thought I was going nuts. Thanks Damian, the subs are indeed burned in on the U.S. version for the Elvish spoken bits.
Killroy's Avatar Killroy
07:06 PM Liked: 63
post #289 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Whew, I thought I was going nuts. Thanks Damian, the subs are indeed burned in on the U.S. version for the Elvish spoken bits.

I find it weird that they would produce two different versions for something so insignificant as 28 forced subs.
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
08:19 PM Liked: 71
post #290 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 5,968
Joined: Dec 2000
Weird indeed. Maybe the EU is separated to allow for French, Spanish, etc. subs for those Elvish bits.

Still, thanks to you and Damian, I learned a few things about eac3to and Clown_BD.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
08:34 PM Liked: 75
post #291 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Trying to join the first LOTR 2 Discs together into one clean BluRay folder rip with Clown_BD + tsMuxeR. Will report back when done if I am successful
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
08:55 PM Liked: 71
post #292 of 838
07-01-2011 | Posts: 5,968
Joined: Dec 2000
I used MKVMerge to join, but it showed a warning when doing so. The resulting joined MKV seems to play fine though. Still, I opted to keep them separate as part 1 and part 2 for each movie.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
04:18 AM Liked: 75
post #293 of 838
07-02-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
I used MKVMerge to join, but it showed a warning when doing so. The resulting joined MKV seems to play fine though. Still, I opted to keep them separate as part 1 and part 2 for each movie.
The join worked in tsMuxeR but when I get to the second part I get an audio delay. May try mkv next
Yraen's Avatar Yraen
05:35 AM Liked: 12
post #294 of 838
07-02-2011 | Posts: 72
Joined: Jan 2007
Both BD's and mkv have been done successfully.

dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
05:38 AM Liked: 75
post #295 of 838
07-02-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:

Thanks! Tried mkvmerge and got sync issues as well when I get to the second part. Will try with BDRebuilder as you linked. Looking at the link, this is what is causing my sync issues, will try fixing:

*Stripping Part 1 of FOTR EE* - removes trailing 5 seconds of blank video
Step 4) Open TsMuxerGui.exe (I used version 1.10.6)
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
12:00 PM Liked: 75
post #296 of 838
07-02-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Thanks! Tried mkvmerge and got sync issues as well when I get to the second part. Will try with BDRebuilder as you linked. Looking at the link, this is what is causing my sync issues, will try fixing:

*Stripping Part 1 of FOTR EE* - removes trailing 5 seconds of blank video
Step 4) Open TsMuxerGui.exe (I used version 1.10.6)

Update - did a merged BR Folder for the first LOTR following t he guide on the Slysoft forum, worked out brilliant!
Killroy's Avatar Killroy
12:05 PM Liked: 63
post #297 of 838
07-02-2011 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Update - did a merged BR Folder for the first LOTR following t he guide on the Slysoft forum, worked out brilliant!

Those silly pirates sure are ingenious...
cjbrown80's Avatar cjbrown80
06:44 PM Liked: 10
post #298 of 838
07-02-2011 | Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2010
Not sure if anyone cares or already knows this, but True Blood Season 3 has a small forced sub track (2nd English track) for episodes 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11 and 12.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
06:47 PM Liked: 75
post #299 of 838
07-02-2011 | Posts: 11,394
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbrown80 View Post

Not sure if anyone cares or already knows this, but True Blood Season 3 has a small forced sub track (2nd English track) for episodes 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11 and 12.

Cmon man, when it comes to forced subs we all care :-)
djstretch's Avatar djstretch
01:27 PM Liked: 10
post #300 of 838
07-29-2011 | Posts: 65
Joined: Aug 2007
First of all, thanks for all the valuable info! I just finished reading all 10 pages of this thread and have learned A LOT!

Unfortunately, I've got excess of 100 BR's already ripped and didn't think about "forced subtitles" until I went to watch Hereafter recently.

My ripping process has always been...
1) ANYDVD-HD running
2) BDinfo to determine which playlist is the main playlist
3) Use tSmuxer 1.10.6 to rip to a BR structure
4) Watch the 00000.m2ts file from the "STREAM" folder via Windows Media Center

After reviewing this thread, I don't see anybody who is using my method from above so I clearly need to switch methods in order to handle the "forced subs" issue. My new plan is clownbd - bdsup2sub - tSmuxer

I have a firm grasp on the three different ways in which "forced subs" present themselves, my main question is, what to do with the "xxx_forced.sup" file in order for it to actually be displayed in Windows Media Center. I've tried naming it the same as the m2ts file and putting them both in the STREAM folder and that isn't working (00000.sup to coincide with 00000.m2ts).

Is anybody else using Windows Media Center?

Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3