Movies with forced subtitles - Page 15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 782 Old 04-17-2012, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Jobber8742's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbrown80 View Post

Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol Bluray has a forced subtitle track - the third English track (4610) - contains 87 subs and they are scope friendly, but are a little bit high on the screen, kind of annoying. Cheers!

Okay, I'm totally lost on this whole forced subtitle thing. I use MakeMKV to make MKV from my Blu-Rays. I play them back in MediaBrowser. I select all the forced subtitle tracks, but I'm still missing some forced subtitles. What do I need to do?

I downloaded the clown program, but what do I use it for? I don't have AnyDVD or anything like that. I just want the forced subtitles, and only the forced subtitles to show up at the right time. How do I make that happen. I'm currently trying to make MI: Ghost Protocol work. Thanks.
Jobber8742 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 782 Old 04-17-2012, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Thanks cjbrown80. MakeMKV is easy to use, but sucks at picking up forced subs.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #423 of 782 Old 04-17-2012, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
If you are making MKVs and all you want is forced subs and no others then eac3to command line or anothereac3togui will be your best bet.
Killroy is offline  
post #424 of 782 Old 04-17-2012, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Jobber8742's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

If you are making MKVs and all you want is forced subs and no others then eac3to command line or anothereac3togui will be your best bet.

Everything I see says eac3to requires AnyDVD. I have no interest in paying that kind of money. I want to find an option that isn't going to cost me an arm and a leg.
Jobber8742 is offline  
post #425 of 782 Old 04-17-2012, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jobber8742 View Post

Everything I see says eac3to requires AnyDVD. I have no interest in paying that kind of money. I want to find an option that isn't going to cost me an arm and a leg.

Hate to tell ya... not too many options for that...if any. The entire process has borderline legalities so you won't find many.

AnyDVD is expensive but its very worth it for what it does.
Killroy is offline  
post #426 of 782 Old 04-17-2012, 08:00 PM
Member
 
Jobber8742's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

Hate to tell ya... not too many options for that...if any. The entire process has borderline legalities so you won't find many.

AnyDVD is expensive but its very worth it for what it does.

Isn't there any way to rip it with MakeMKV with subs, extract subs from MKV, flag the subs a forced, then recombine with mkvmerge?
Jobber8742 is offline  
post #427 of 782 Old 04-18-2012, 12:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jobber8742 View Post

Isn't there any way to rip it with MakeMKV with subs, extract subs from MKV, flag the subs a forced, then recombine with mkvmerge?

If MakeMKV is ripping the correct subtitle stream, but isn't flagging them correctly - just open the file with mkvmerge and change the header options (and save) - no need to extract and remux.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #428 of 782 Old 04-22-2012, 01:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbrown80 View Post

Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol Bluray has a forced subtitle track - the third English track (4610) - contains 87 subs and they are scope friendly, but are a little bit high on the screen, kind of annoying. Cheers!

I grabbed the English subtitles, but of course MakeMKV ignored all the Russian translation subs and got all the subtitls for English spoken words instead.

Why don't they just make English translation subtitles of foreign languages part of the video frame?
sebberry is offline  
post #429 of 782 Old 04-22-2012, 01:36 PM
Member
 
evilengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebberry View Post

Why don't they just make English translation subtitles of foreign languages part of the video frame?

Because that means you can't use the same video master for any version destined for a non English speaking market!
evilengineer is offline  
post #430 of 782 Old 04-22-2012, 01:51 PM
Newbie
 
XvMMvX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to make this easy on you guys

1. Pick movie you want to rip.
2. Go to subscene.org and search said movie
3. Look in English section for forced subs
4. Incorporate said subs into mkv as you wish
5. ???
6. Profit

I personally use ripbot and burn into image if I am transcoding. If I am keeping it as is and just repackaging I set it to the English track and turn them on. I haven't found a way to make a forced track that is always ok.

If I lose my hearing some day and need full English subtitle I am screwed and will have to start over.
XvMMvX is offline  
post #431 of 782 Old 04-22-2012, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by XvMMvX View Post

I am going to make this easy on you guys

1. Pick movie you want to rip.
2. Go to subscribe.org and search said movie
3. Look in English section for forced subs
4. Incorporate said subs into mkv as you wish
5. ???
6. Profit

I personally use ripbot and burn into image if I am transcoding. If I am keeping it as is and just repackaging I set it to the English track and turn them on. I haven't found a way to make a forced track that is always ok.

If I lose my hearing some day and need full English subtitle I am screwed and will have to start over.

With mkvmerge you set the forced subtitle track to forced. Once that is done it is all dependent on what player you use to play back your mkvs. If a player supports forced subtitles in mkvs it should automatically be displayed without having to turn on subtitles. If it does not, then you have to turn on subs manually

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #432 of 782 Old 04-22-2012, 03:33 PM
Newbie
 
XvMMvX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


With mkvmerge you set the forced subtitle track to forced. Once that is done it is all dependent on what player you use to play back your mkvs. If a player supports forced subtitles in mkvs it should automatically be displayed without having to turn on subtitles. If it does not, then you have to turn on subs manually

In my experience this doesn't work as advertised on WMC or XMBC. To make it work well you have to set it as forced and default and it has to be the ONLY sub track in the mkv.... There is not a codec or program out there that will do it correctly. The only one I have found is VLC and I am working on a remote solution that is easy for family.

Unfortunately buring in is the best option. You just have to transcode which is a lossy process.
XvMMvX is offline  
post #433 of 782 Old 04-22-2012, 03:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by XvMMvX View Post

In my experience this doesn't work as advertised on WMC or XMBC. To make it work well you have to set it as forced and default and it has to be the ONLY sub track in the mkv.... There is not a codec or program out there that will do it correctly. The only one I have found is VLC and I am working on a remote solution that is easy for family.

Unfortunately buring in is the best option. You just have to transcode which is a lossy process.

As I mentioned, it is the software you are using I don't recall ever seeing WMC or XBMC advertise forced subtitle support, but especially WMC which is very poor OOTB

MPC + Lav Filters support forced subs perfectly. You should also be able to use LAV + WMC for forced subtitle support. XBMC does not allow you to use 3rd party codec packs (unless you want to use DSPLayer which is no longer developers). Out of all the media players out there more are starting to support forced subs in mkvs, but it has been a long process

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #434 of 782 Old 04-23-2012, 01:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Media Portal - again with LAV filter and mpc-hc subtitle engine supports forced subtitles flagging as does XBMC which was one of the first to.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #435 of 782 Old 05-05-2012, 09:11 AM
Member
 
cigga24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbrown80 View Post

Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol Bluray has a forced subtitle track - the third English track (4610) - contains 87 subs and they are scope friendly, but are a little bit high on the screen, kind of annoying. Cheers!

Track 13
cigga24 is offline  
post #436 of 782 Old 05-07-2012, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Doane View Post

Seven out of ten episodes of Game Of Throne has forced subtitles in it.

-Tim

Does anybody have a list of these?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #437 of 782 Old 05-10-2012, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
TFalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The following BluRay movies have forced subtitles and I did not see in the list:

Jack and Jill (2011) - Track 6
The Darkest Hour (2011) - Track 5
The Godfather (1972) - Track 8
The Godfather Part II (1974) - Track 8
The Godfather Part III (1990) - Track 7
The Sum of All Fears (2002) - Track 6
The Whistleblower (2010) - Track 5
TFalcon is offline  
post #438 of 782 Old 05-10-2012, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Thanks!

IDK if anybody is even maintaining the speadsheet but I think anyone can revise it and save it sort of like an un-moderated wiki.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #439 of 782 Old 05-11-2012, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
augerpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by XvMMvX View Post

I am going to make this easy on you guys

1. Pick movie you want to rip.
2. Go to subscene.org and search said movie
3. Look in English section for forced subs
4. Incorporate said subs into mkv as you wish
5. ???
6. Profit

I personally use ripbot and burn into image if I am transcoding. If I am keeping it as is and just repackaging I set it to the English track and turn them on. I haven't found a way to make a forced track that is always ok.

If I lose my hearing some day and need full English subtitle I am screwed and will have to start over.

Will try this, thanks!! I still don't understand why this is such a PITA. If my standalone player plays everything right without me doing anything, why the hell can't the rippers figure it out!!
augerpro is offline  
post #440 of 782 Old 05-11-2012, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by augerpro View Post

Will try this, thanks!! I still don't understand why this is such a PITA. If my standalone player plays everything right without me doing anything, why the hell can't the rippers figure it out!!

That's the game. I do believe that ripping software is reverse-engineered stuff and maybe they haven't figured it all out.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #441 of 782 Old 05-12-2012, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
"This Means War" has 7 forced subs in its own track (labeled). Not scope friendly.
Killroy is offline  
post #442 of 782 Old 05-13-2012, 09:21 AM
Member
 
LoneAspen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by augerpro View Post

Will try this, thanks!! I still don't understand why this is such a PITA. If my standalone player plays everything right without me doing anything, why the hell can't the rippers figure it out!!

I thought about using subscene too, but haven't yet (also note - it's subscene.com, not .org)

But every time I search for a movie, like Avatar, there are dozens of subtitle files there, and I have no clue which to try. There's a rudimentary rating system ("rated good") but even then, for a movie like Avatar, there are still what looks like 50 entries to pick from.

I don't know why Blu-ray subtitles are so damn difficult to process in the HTPC world. I agree with the previous poster who said standalone players work...why don't HTPC players "just work"?
LoneAspen is offline  
post #443 of 782 Old 05-13-2012, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneAspen View Post

I don't know why Blu-ray subtitles are so damn difficult to process in the HTPC world. I agree with the previous poster who said standalone players work...why don't HTPC players "just work"?

Actually, lately MPC-HC has been real good with forced subs in either mkv or m2ts. Not sure about .ts since I don't use that.

It has honored the forced flags with no issues.
Killroy is offline  
post #444 of 782 Old 05-17-2012, 03:44 PM
Member
 
cjbrown80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Intruders BD has forced subs, 2nd Eng track, should be 264 total subs and it looks like they're scope friendly.
cjbrown80 is offline  
post #445 of 782 Old 05-26-2012, 12:18 AM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Studio burned-in embedded forced English subtitles on US Blu-ray:
Contagion
Contraband
The Debt
Fast Five
shortcut3d is offline  
post #446 of 782 Old 05-28-2012, 03:08 AM
Member
 
Tim Doane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cars 2 - track 16. Doesn't seemed to be coded to be forced, but there are two lines of subtitled english.

-Tim
Tim Doane is offline  
post #447 of 782 Old 05-29-2012, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbrown80 View Post

Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol Bluray has a forced subtitle track - the third English track (4610) - contains 87 subs and they are scope friendly, but are a little bit high on the screen, kind of annoying. Cheers!

Timely tip! I just ripped my MI4 BR this past weekend and handbraked it, haven't checked the result yet but it looks like I'll want to re-check that before I dump the rip.

Sidenote, the latest nightly release of Handbrake looks like it might support BR subs, FINALLY. This will be a good test!
Kalani is offline  
post #448 of 782 Old 06-01-2012, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
Nbenekos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a total newbie on ripping my dvd / blu ray library collection. I just recently started making backup copies of library. I am using anydvd hd, then using Handbrake to encode to MKV. I have found this to be the easy way for myself to rip the movies. Again I am new to this so EASY is the way for me. I have come across movies in my library that have forced subtitles in them but do not show up on my rips. I would like to know if anyone could help me out and give me a step by step walk through on how I can get the forced subtitles to show up in my rips. I would like to continue to use Handbrake since I am comfortable with the program. Anyone care to help me out. Thanks
Nbenekos is offline  
post #449 of 782 Old 06-01-2012, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Damien's (dbone1026 on avs) awesome guide. You might want to take a look at Ripping Blu-rays II also.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #450 of 782 Old 06-10-2012, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
Wayne Gale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are a couple for the list, all US Blu Ray

The Thing (2011) Hardcoded for Norwegian or Dutch parts ( don't remember which it was)
Lock Stock And Two Smoking Barrels (1998) Hardcoded for British slang to English
American Gangster (2008) Hardcoded for Vietnamese parts
Quantum Of Solace (2008) Hardcoded for French/Spanish parts
Ip Man (2008) Forced - clearly labeled Cantonese. Your choice between English dubbed audio or Cantonese audio/ Eng subs
Wayne Gale is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off