Movies with forced subtitles - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2015, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 64
If you want to see really fancy use of PGS subs as part of the video check out "You Don't Mess with the Zohan" (2008). They use PGS subs to show the HUD on a pair of night vision glasses. They load from the top of the screen about middle of the HUD. Only time I have seen PGS subs to do this.
Killroy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-22-2015, 01:46 PM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Theory of Everything has subs for the French speaking doctor - hospital scene.
G1Nger is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by G1Nger View Post
Theory of Everything has subs for the French speaking doctor - hospital scene.
Hardcoded, not forced.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
Old 02-25-2015, 11:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post
Here are some others that I found:
  • The Mummy
  • The Mummy Returns
  • The Rundown
  • Dragon Wars
  • Paprika
  • The Professionals
  • Che Part 1 & 2
  • The International
  • Grand Torino
  • Defiance
  • Immortel
  • Hannibal Rising (only one caption)
  • Star Trek VI
  • Star Trek V
  • Star Trek III
  • Star Trek
  • Persepolis
  • Da Vinci Code
  • Mean Girls
  • Babylon A.D.
  • The Eye
  • Blindness
  • Dance With Wolves
  • Bangkok Dangerous
  • Pathfinder
  • The Legend of Zorro
  • The Mutant Chronicles
  • The Mummy Dragon Emperor
Thanks.
micagordon is offline  
Old 04-20-2015, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
BDestroyer8418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When you need to update the header info for a subtitle not playing which one do I edit.

Default track - no
Track enabled - blanked out unless I select add element
forced display - same as above

Do I just changed Default track -Yes ?

* I changed to Yes seems to work. What would the other 2 be used for.
BDestroyer8418 is offline  
Old 04-21-2015, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDestroyer8418 View Post
When you need to update the header info for a subtitle not playing which one do I edit.

Default track - no
Track enabled - blanked out unless I select add element
forced display - same as above

Do I just changed Default track -Yes ?

* I changed to Yes seems to work. What would the other 2 be used for.
I change mine to Forced = yes, Default = yes. Seems to do the trick.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
Old 04-22-2015, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 92
The US BD of Everly has forced subs for Japanese spoken parts. It's a separate track and ClownBD doesn't pick it up at all.
ScottJ is offline  
Old 04-29-2015, 04:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
The US BD of Everly has forced subs for Japanese spoken parts. It's a separate track and ClownBD doesn't pick it up at all.
Are you sure? They may be hardcoded. I'll find out for sure today.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
Old 04-29-2015, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
speedoflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
Are you sure? They may be hardcoded. I'll find out for sure today.
They're not hard coded and they are not really forced subs. The first sub track is only the Spanish and Japanese subs.
speedoflight is offline  
Old 04-30-2015, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedoflight View Post
They're not hard coded and they are not really forced subs. The first sub track is only the Spanish and Japanese subs.
MakeMKV 1.9.2 misses them as well, but Sub Track 5 is the correct track, and you're correct, it's not marked as a forced track.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
Old 05-19-2015, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 6,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Any forced subs in 'American Sniper'?

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
Old 05-19-2015, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Any forced subs in 'American Sniper'?
None ripped by MakeMKV.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
Old 05-20-2015, 04:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 6,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 80
It appears no forced subs, though MakeMKV isn't reliable in this regard.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
Old 05-21-2015, 05:11 PM
Member
 
alex014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am hoping somebody can help me with the Iron Man and Avengers bluray. I am having 2 different problems. With Avengers I can not get the forced subtitles to work. I manually set the flag to forced using MKV merge. However the subtitles will not play using MPC-HC or Kodi. Am I missing something? Other MKVs play properly so I do not think its the players. With Iron Man the subtitles play for the scene in the caves but not later when the terrorists are in the village around the 1:16 mark. I am completely at a loss for that one. Any help would be appreciated.
alex014 is offline  
Old 05-22-2015, 01:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Like you I doubt its the players - particularly as other files are rendering correctly. My guess would be that the rip hasn't pulled the subs correctly, perhaps something corrupt the process. I would try a re-rip of those particular titles.
steelman1991 is offline  
Old 05-23-2015, 05:03 AM
Member
 
alex014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried reripping iron man and still no luc. the track is there and it is tagged forced. MPC also identifies it as forced it just doesn't play properly. Are thrre any settings I am missing? I also set the track as default. Should I change this?
alex014 is offline  
Old 05-23-2015, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex014 View Post
I tried reripping iron man and still no luc. the track is there and it is tagged forced. MPC also identifies it as forced it just doesn't play properly. Are thrre any settings I am missing? I also set the track as default. Should I change this?
What programme are you using to rip?
steelman1991 is offline  
Old 05-23-2015, 11:44 AM
Member
 
alex014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I usually use makemkv but this time I demuxed it with clown bd and put it back together with mkvmerge
alex014 is offline  
Old 05-23-2015, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Do you still have the demuxed sub file - if so you could check it in BDSub2Sub and see whether the sub is being ripped correctly.
steelman1991 is offline  
Old 05-23-2015, 12:21 PM
Member
 
alex014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did that and everything seems correct. Also when I play the movie in both mpc and kodi the subtitles will appear if I enable that subtitle track so I think the track ripped correctly. However it seems the forced option is somehow not being applied properly.
alex014 is offline  
Old 05-23-2015, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 87
If you want to upload a small sample (somewhere) I'll be happy to test using both kodi and MPC - see if the results are the same, otherwise I'm out of ideas (I use Kodi and certainly don't have any playback/sub rendering issues).
steelman1991 is offline  
Old 05-23-2015, 01:02 PM
Member
 
alex014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your help. I may take you up on your offer. I am going to try re ripping the avengers again and see if I have better luck. Honestly part of me is over the htpc thing.I spend more time tinkering than watching the movies lol.
alex014 is offline  
Old 05-24-2015, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,962
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Is the list on the first page up to date or updated every once in a while? I assume it is since Taken 3 is on it, but just wanted to know if I should go by that list or try and find another list elsewhere. Thanks!
Pain Infliction is online now  
Old 07-06-2015, 05:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I hope this is still being monitored. I'm a newbie here and have found the spreadsheet extremely helpful as I'm re-ripping all my DVDs into a higher quality. I mean, really, who would have realised Hancock had forced subtitles!?

Anyway, I've just registered to add anything I find as I go. So, The Eagle. I can't remember now which track I used to get the forced subtitles, but it would have either been the 3rd english track, if there is one, or the forced titles.

I'm sure I'll be back with more as I go
UncleBerty is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Oh, that's region 2 DVD BTW.
UncleBerty is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm very new to forums and dvd ripping, so some of the terminology is lost on me. Am I right in thinking that 'hardcoded' means I don't need to rip with a subtitle track as the subtitles are part of the picture anyway?
UncleBerty is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 09:19 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 25,427
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleBerty View Post
I'm very new to forums and dvd ripping, so some of the terminology is lost on me. Am I right in thinking that 'hardcoded' means I don't need to rip with a subtitle track as the subtitles are part of the picture anyway?
Yes.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
Old 07-19-2015, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
MisterWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You all rock. Thanks to everyone who is maintaining this list. You all have made my life much easier.

MisterWilson is offline  
Old Today, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterWilson View Post
You all rock. Thanks to everyone who is maintaining this list. You all have made my life much easier.

I have been popping into the spreadsheet now and again to clean up the mess. People like to leave blank entries or change existing ones.
Stryker412 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off