Movies with forced subtitles - Page 31 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2016, 05:05 PM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes - there was only one English PGS file and no forced subs detected by BDSup2Sub that's what makes this one so perplexing. I even ran the non English PGS files as well and found nothing. Weird.
G1Nger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2016, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by G1Nger View Post
Yes - there was only one English PGS file and no forced subs detected by BDSup2Sub that's what makes this one so perplexing. I even ran the non English PGS files as well and found nothing. Weird.
What I'm saying is that BDSup2Sub will not always detect them. Did you load each track and look at it manually? It's usually easy to spot which track should be forced because it will be far smaller than the others.
ScottJ is offline  
Old 02-17-2016, 11:12 AM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I did exactly that and didn't find them. As I said I only found one English track. If anyone else has demuxed the disc I'd be interested to know if they found them.
G1Nger is offline  
Old 03-05-2016, 12:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
It does have forced subs but they do not show on the BD when ripping.
I just checked out this disc and it does NOT have any forced subs. The subs in the srt file you attached are not displayed when viewing the original disc.
ScottJ is offline  
Old 03-05-2016, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,067
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
I just checked out this disc and it does NOT have any forced subs. The subs in the srt file you attached are not displayed when viewing the original disc.
Are we talking about Bridge of Spies? I could not find any forced tracks or secondary sub track either (when ripping) with the dialog I posted in that .srt. I didn't create that .srt myself, I downloaded from subscene.com. Just recently, I read an article that said Steven Spielberg purposely left them out of the movie to give viewers the sense of confusion that comes with not understanding the language. How true it is I do not know, but I did read it while I was searching for an answer. I missed the movie in the Theater, did it have forced subs?

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
Old 03-05-2016, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Are we talking about Bridge of Spies? I could not find any forced tracks or secondary sub track either (when ripping) with the dialog I posted in that .srt. I didn't create that .srt myself, I downloaded from subscene.com. Just recently, I read an article that said Steven Spielberg purposely left them out of the movie to give viewers the sense of confusion that comes with not understanding the language. How true it is I do not know, but I did read it while I was searching for an answer. I missed the movie in the Theater, did it have forced subs?
I was also looking around for forced subs while watching it last night with no success and read that it is the intention here: https://www.quora.com/Should-Spielbe...ridge-of-Spies

Funny thing is of course that many millions of ppl do understand German (including me to some extent), so it's not like the effect is the same for all.
I was stomped on the Russian parts though....
andersa is offline  
Old 03-05-2016, 10:44 AM
Member
 
G1Nger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Glad to hear it wasn't just me. I figured there was a reason they were left out.
G1Nger is offline  
Old 03-06-2016, 06:45 AM
EVT
AVS Special Member
 
EVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Are we talking about Bridge of Spies? I could not find any forced tracks or secondary sub track either (when ripping) with the dialog I posted in that .srt. I didn't create that .srt myself, I downloaded from subscene.com. Just recently, I read an article that said Steven Spielberg purposely left them out of the movie to give viewers the sense of confusion that comes with not understanding the language. How true it is I do not know, but I did read it while I was searching for an answer. I missed the movie in the Theater, did it have forced subs?
I saw this in theaters but I don't remember any forced subtitles. Having said that, it's been a few months so I can't say for sure.
EVT is offline  
Old 05-23-2016, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Opie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forced Subs .sub/.sup

I want to create a .sub (or .sup) with just the forced subtitles for a given film. I currently have a .sup/.sup with all subs, and the forced subs are flagged. What is the quickest way for me to create a new .sub/.sup with just the flagged forced subtitles?
Opie is offline  
Old 05-23-2016, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opie View Post
I want to create a .sub (or .sup) with just the forced subtitles for a given film. I currently have a .sup/.sup with all subs, and the forced subs are flagged. What is the quickest way for me to create a new .sub/.sup with just the flagged forced subtitles?
BDSup2Sub can do that from the command-line or GUI (with Blu-ray sup at least).

Nevermind the name of the program; it can do lots more than just convert sup to sub.
Opie likes this.
ScottJ is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
Balema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hallo! The Excel file that I download from the first page it gives me the following (I have attached it) message and it isn't the same as in the internet when I proceed (it changes things like colours etc.), does anyone knows how I can fix it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	31
Size:	30.4 KB
ID:	1549649  
Balema is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off