ATI Radeon HD 5800, 5700 and 5600 Series Thread: Supporting HD Audio Bitstreaming! - Page 100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 7498 Old 01-02-2010, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just went back to 9.11 64-bit and it dropouts are still there (Realtek 2.39 still being used). I can't recall this problem with the 4670, but if they're having it with 4000 and 9.12, it's likely there with 9.11 as well.

Interestingly, the Dynamic Range option in Avivo video which lets you choose 16-235 or 0-255 that some of us got pretty excited about with 9.12 hotfix already was there with 9.11.
Andy o is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 7498 Old 01-02-2010, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like maybe you didn't do a "DriverCleaner"

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #2973 of 7498 Old 01-02-2010, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I did, actually, after I posted that, and it's the same. Just didn't think it was worth coming back saying that I did, since there's no difference. CCC settings might get stuck in the registry, but this is actually an extra option on CCC panel (among other extras that were also there) for the 5000 cards, so it's very unlikely that not cleaning the newer driver would have gotten those options stuck, since CCC gets also uninstalled.

Right now I'm gonna be testing with Realtek 2.35 which was the driver I was using with the 4670. Lose bitstreaming of TrueHD and DTS-MA though.
Andy o is offline  
post #2974 of 7498 Old 01-02-2010, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, so getting pops also with Realtek 2.35. I'm going back to normal now.
Andy o is offline  
post #2975 of 7498 Old 01-02-2010, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
davedelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just posted this on the "guide to building" thread but then realized it is possibly better over here...

I am unable to get 8 channel LPCM out of PDVD9. I have ripped 3 of my Blu-Ray discs now with DTS-HD MA 7.1 and they all come over to the AVR as LPCM 6 Channel audio (can also see this on the status window of PDVD9). This happens whether or not I have the HDMI device set up for 5.1 or 7.1 output.

System is Win 7 32 bit and PDVD9. Video card is Sapphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 5750 and I have installed all new ATI drivers including 9.12 and hotfix for 9.12
davedelite is offline  
post #2976 of 7498 Old 01-02-2010, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Last I knew, PowerDVD 9 could not decode DTS MA 7.1, only up to 5.1 PowerDVD 8 (at least up to build 2217) could do it.
Andy o is offline  
post #2977 of 7498 Old 01-02-2010, 10:21 PM
Senior Member
 
davedelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

Last I knew, PowerDVD 9 could not decode DTS MA 7.1, only up to 5.1 PowerDVD 8 (at least up to build 2217) could do it.

Really?? I thought it could manage 7.1. That is a major bummer if it cannot as I based my software build around PDVD9. Is there another application you would suggest I use for BR playback if it DOES end up being the player?
davedelite is offline  
post #2978 of 7498 Old 01-02-2010, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think it was only DTS MA 7.1. TrueHD and LPCM 7.1 should be fine. Take it up to CL support! Not many people have realized this cause there's not too many movies in 7.1, plus not everyone is running a 7.1 system.

It's not only a feature they don't have, it's a (yet another) feature that previous versions had, but they took it out!

I'm assuming your AVR doesn't decode DTS-HD MA though, right? Cause bitstreaming would be one fix.
Andy o is offline  
post #2979 of 7498 Old 01-02-2010, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Holy crap guys.

I was just testing something and I pressed the "display" button of my monitor (Pio Kuro KRP-500) and noticed something new. This 5000 seems to be outputting 30-bit (10-per-channel) video. The 4000 series (and all other consumer graphics cards I know) only output 24-bit. Interesting.
Andy o is offline  
post #2980 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Yup. The 5xxx series supports Deep Color. I'm guessing it's only on Windows 7 though which supports Deep Color 30 and 48 bit.
vladd is offline  
post #2981 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 12:43 AM
Member
 
Sebastiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi i have made post on Doom9 about DPC Latency Checker :

LINK to DPC Latency Checker on Doom9
and
The url of software : DPC Latency Checker

It was a soft to see dropout, i think it was usefull to made quick test
Seb.
Sebastiii is offline  
post #2982 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 12:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Yup. The 5xxx series supports Deep Color. I'm guessing it's only on Windows 7 though which supports Deep Color 30 and 48 bit.

Nice. Did they mention this anywhere?
Andy o is offline  
post #2983 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 01:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Sebastiii, thanks for testing



This is where you change sampling rates and bit depth, just set it to 24-bit 96 kHz or 192 kHz, and 5.1. To test, please just play some stereo music in the background (without exclusive mode, just normally--your receiver should say it's receiving multichannel 96 or 192 kHz) and go about your computing. Sooner or later you should notice the music switching channels if you have the same problem. For me, the music goes to the surrounds, and then to the center channel.
LL
Andy o is offline  
post #2984 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 01:40 AM
Member
 
Sebastiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Andy o,

I have tested it.

I play MP3 file with WMP and MPC.

I have set 5.1/24Bit/96Khz and yes @ start ths sound is OK but after a while (1 minute maybe) the sound goes to Center and LFE with WMP and when i try MPC it goes to surround ans center and if i replay to WMP it goes suround and center and if i replay in MPC LFE and center !!!!!

I have set 5.1/24Bit/192Khz and idem !

It's crasy !!!!!! i have the same issue of you.

ATI 9.12 Hotfix and realtek HDMI driver 2.39.
Sebastiii is offline  
post #2985 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 01:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow, well thanks, good news is that it's not my mobo, but bad news is that it's happening at all!

Now that you've confirmed this, I think it's the driver. It was also giving me funky issues with my 4670, but it was a different behavior so I didn't know if it was connected. Now it seems so. Hopefully will get fixed in the next driver release.

Also, the 4670 didn't give me such troubles with the Realtek 2.35 driver, but this 5770 does have the same problems with that one.
Andy o is offline  
post #2986 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 03:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Andy o,
I played radiotime (2 channel) for quite some time the other night and no swapping. Played a cd of Traditional Japanese Music and no issues. But I'm set at 24/48. I'll check again.
Win7/32 5750

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #2987 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 03:50 AM
Member
 
UnDecoded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11


Well it sure looks goofy
Should be a nice lil card for 50-60 ish even able to run some madden 08 I hope..
Wouldn't mind them making a low profile, longer card though so that we could have some better coolers..
UnDecoded is online now  
post #2988 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 04:35 AM
Senior Member
 
davedelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

I think it was only DTS MA 7.1. TrueHD and LPCM 7.1 should be fine. Take it up to CL support! Not many people have realized this cause there's not too many movies in 7.1, plus not everyone is running a 7.1 system.

It's not only a feature they don't have, it's a (yet another) feature that previous versions had, but they took it out!

I'm assuming your AVR doesn't decode DTS-HD MA though, right? Cause bitstreaming would be one fix.

I thought DTS MA 7.1 and DTS-HD MA 7.1 were the same...I guess this is even move convoluted then I thought. What happens when a DTS-HD MA 7.1 track gets managed then by this "limited" PDVD9? Do I lose the two SB channels altogether (i.e. truncated)? Or, is it mixed into the other 2 rear channels? If the latter, than I am not as worried in the short term since I can matrix back out in my AVR.

Yes, my AVR does not process the newest codecs...this is why I look for my stand alone BR player or my HTPC player (in this case, PDVD9 to do it properly.

If it is not the frequent than it is very odd that the following 3 movies I have obtained all suffer the same fate. 7.1 (LPCM 8 channel) through my stand-alone Blu-Ray player but only 5.1 (LPCM 6 channel) through PDVD9: Valkyrie, X-Men Origins Wolvering, Ice Age 3.....
davedelite is offline  
post #2989 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 04:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,188
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 370
It looks like the relation between HD 5670 and HD 5570 is like that between HD 4670 and 4650.

Source

FYI

- HD 4670: Core 750MHz, Memory bandwidth 25.6GB/s (DDR3-1600/128bit), 320 stream processors.
- HD 4650: Core 600MHz, Memory bandwidth 12.8GB/s (DDR2-800/128bit), 320 stream processors.

So HD 5570 is enough for video playback. But it is available only on February 20th (HP also says so)?
LL

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #2990 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 04:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post


- HD 4670: Core 750MHz, Memory bandwidth 25.6GB/s (DDR3-1600/128bit), 320 stream processors.
- HD 4650: Core 600MHz, Memory bandwidth 12.8GB/s (DDR2-800/128bit), 320 stream processors.

These things are like supercomputers in their own right :-) Ludicrous the problems they have with basic things like syncing.
arfster is offline  
post #2991 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trailergod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
awesome development :-) going on here..


i'm just wondering whats the latest .... ffdshow. I am still using
ffdshow_rev3140_20091203_dbt_bitstream_beta46
trailergod is offline  
post #2992 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,188
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailergod View Post

awesome development :-) going on here..


i'm just wondering whats the latest .... ffdshow. I am still using
ffdshow_rev3140_20091203_dbt_bitstream_beta46

Here.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #2993 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by davedelite View Post

I thought DTS MA 7.1 and DTS-HD MA 7.1 were the same...I guess this is even move convoluted then I thought. What happens when a DTS-HD MA 7.1 track gets managed then by this "limited" PDVD9? Do I lose the two SB channels altogether (i.e. truncated)? Or, is it mixed into the other 2 rear channels? If the latter, than I am not as worried in the short term since I can matrix back out in my AVR.

Yes, my AVR does not process the newest codecs...this is why I look for my stand alone BR player or my HTPC player (in this case, PDVD9 to do it properly.

If it is not the frequent than it is very odd that the following 3 movies I have obtained all suffer the same fate. 7.1 (LPCM 8 channel) through my stand-alone Blu-Ray player but only 5.1 (LPCM 6 channel) through PDVD9: Valkyrie, X-Men Origins Wolvering, Ice Age 3.....

This has been one of my complaints about PDVD9 from day 1. Even their site lists PDVD9 as supporting only 5.1 for DTS-HD MA. TMT3 supports 7.1, though. And of course, bitstreaming avoids the crappy decoders altogether, but, as you said, it's not an option for you.
SamuriHL is online now  
post #2994 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
davedelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

This has been one of my complaints about PDVD9 from day 1. Even their site lists PDVD9 as supporting only 5.1 for DTS-HD MA. TMT3 supports 7.1, though. And of course, bitstreaming avoids the crappy decoders altogether, but, as you said, it's not an option for you.

Great...so after all this to do (the earlier problem where I had the suite instead of the "real" full versioned PDVD, etc.) now I bought the wrong product. Ugh. I know nothing about TMT3 and will need to research it.
davedelite is offline  
post #2995 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
davedelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

There's several problems there. Your standalone player does its own processing, and on the HTPC the decoder, video renderer and driver can also do their own processing and color space conversions. If you're not happy with what you've got, you're better off just running another calibration.

In case anyone else ever has this same question, I ended up doing a direct side by side calibration between my Samsung DMP-BD35 stand alone player and my Sapphire Vaporx HD 5750 through my Epson 6500 UB projector with an eye-one LT meter. Checked the calibration deviation with the same source test images for (i) brightness, (ii) contrast, (iii) grayscale, (iv) primary and secondary color accuracy vie cie diagrams, (v) gamma tracking, etc.

I was EXCITED to find that the images provided basicly the same exact measured image accuracy via the meter in all areas within the margin for measurement error except my gamma tracked consistently 0.03 lower via the ATI card. That is to say I had an average gamma of 2.19 out of the stand alone player and 2.16 out of the HTPC. Both are a bit lower than the 2.22 I wanted (my pj had drifted a bit since I had last calibrated it), so I readjusted my gamma through the pj controls itself to envelope 2.22 with these two sources (stand alone player and HTPC). But, I was surprisingly pleased, stoked, shocked how identical the signals were coming into the pj.

Note that before I adjusted my gamma in the pj, I tried to get the HTPC -0.3 difference in average gamma up by adjusting the gamma slider for all colors in the CCC but it seemed to have absolutely no impact. Hence, I just let all of the default color and picture management settings on the ATI CCC stand. The HTPC signal was created using PDVD9 and all defaults there as well.
davedelite is offline  
post #2996 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by davedelite View Post

Great...so after all this to do (the earlier problem where I had the suite instead of the "real" full versioned PDVD, etc.) now I bought the wrong product. Ugh. I know nothing about TMT3 and will need to research it.

That massively sucks. Since I'm bitstreaming these days I tend to forget about the 5.1 DTS-HD MA issue. This just gives another reason why I'm not a fan of the so called PC software decoders. People like to try and point out that they're equal to the decoders found on receivers these days, but, clearly....that would not be the case in this situation. TMT3 is a very solid piece of software and is by far my favorite. That is one PC software decoder that I *WILL* stand by and say that at this point it's on par with many receiver decoders. They've done a tremendous job cleaning up bugs in the decoder. Plus, not sure if you care, but, it also gives you HD DVD playback and playback from folders.
SamuriHL is online now  
post #2997 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

That massively sucks. Since I'm bitstreaming these days I tend to forget about the 5.1 DTS-HD MA issue. This just gives another reason why I'm not a fan of the so called PC software decoders.

Bitstreaming wouldn't help Davedelite either, since his AVR cannot decode DTS-HD MA.
Quote:


People like to try and point out that they're equal to the decoders found on receivers these days, but, clearly....that would not be the case in this situation.

There are many standalones too that cannot decode DTS-HD MA 7.1. And if they do, they often do not do correct DTS speaker mapping.
Quote:


TMT3 is a very solid piece of software and is by far my favorite. That is one PC software decoder that I *WILL* stand by and say that at this point it's on par with many receiver decoders.

WinDVD 2010 also seems to decode DTS-HD MA 7.1 (at least it outputs 8 channels on Dark City; I don't have 8 speakers though, so I am not able to check whether something is actually coming out of all 8 channels).
Rigby Reardon is offline  
post #2998 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
davedelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

playback from folders.

do you mean as opposed to only ISOs?

If so, I was wondering what was happening with my attempt at getting PDVD9 to play back from folders. While it appears that one can do that from their menu tree, I never go it to work. Hence, I have been leaving/maintaining as ISOs and using Daemon tools to emulate.
davedelite is offline  
post #2999 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rigby Reardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davedelite View Post

do you mean as opposed to only ISOs?

Yes. Of the 3 major commercial players, only TMT3 still allows playback of BD structures from folders. With PDVD and WinDVD you have to use ISO.
Rigby Reardon is offline  
post #3000 of 7498 Old 01-03-2010, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigby Reardon View Post

Bitstreaming wouldn't help Davedelite either, since his AVR cannot decode DTS-HD MA.

Right, I understand that.

Quote:


There are many standalones too that cannot decode DTS-HD MA 7.1. And if they do, they often do not do correct DTS speaker mapping.

The speaker mapping issue is one of my biggest gripes. Even if you can decode it properly, it doesn't exactly do you any good if the speakers are all mapped wrong. This has plagued the PC software decoders, as well.

Quote:


WinDVD 2010 also seems to decode DTS-HD MA 7.1 (at least it outputs 8 channels on Dark City; I don't have 8 speakers though, so I am not able to check whether something is actually coming out of all 8 channels).

That I didn't know. I've not let it decode anything so it never occurred to me to check on it. That'd be nice to have another option that works.
SamuriHL is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off