ATI Radeon HD 5800, 5700 and 5600 Series Thread: Supporting HD Audio Bitstreaming! - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

Still waiting for the $40 passively cooled 5xxx

Q1 2010 they say.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 07:17 AM
Member
 
kobestonecold's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cool mate let me know they will ok...cheer
kobestonecold is offline  
post #543 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 08:14 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnusr View Post

The latest 9.10 beta driver on the rage3d forum. http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33953249

Rage3d still exists?

Wow, I have not been to that place in ages.
cybrsage is offline  
post #544 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 10:06 AM
Member
 
TeHaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the cards support S/PDIF Pass-Through?
Thanks
TeHaX is offline  
post #545 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yea, you can output S/PDIF through HDMI on even the 4xxx cards. The 5xxx cards do everything the 4xxx cards do and add a PAP to allow bitstreaming with software that supports it. As of today, nothing is released that'll do that. But PDVD9 will get a patch "soon" and we're still hopeful ArcSoft will support it in TMT3, as well. In any case, yea, you can bitstream DD/DTS with these cards through HDMI.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #546 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 01:12 PM
Member
 
kobestonecold's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so can the 5xxx card can really connect to 3 monitors?

i have 1 26 lcd monitor connect by HDMI
1 40 LCD tv connect by HDMI
1 HTCP silverstone crown 3 touchscreen connect by DVI-VGA adaptor

will i be able to do that?
kobestonecold is offline  
post #547 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 01:29 PM
Member
 
kobestonecold's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i went to website and they show some guide.

Your ATI Radeon HD 5850/5870 graphics card provides multi-display functionality
through its various display connections. The graphics card can output to a
maximum of three displays using the following set of connections:

Two DVI-I Dual Link connections and one DisplayPort connection.
One DVI-I Dual Link connection, one HDMI connection, and one
DisplayPort connection.
One DVI-I Dual Link connection, one VGA connection (via a DVI-I Dual Link
connection and DVI-to-VGA adapter), and one DisplayPort connection.
One VGA connection (via a DVI-I Dual Link connection and DVI-to-VGA
adapter), one HDMI connection, and one DisplayPort connection.

question is do the displayport cable come with the package? like SAPPHIRE
kobestonecold is offline  
post #548 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 02:05 PM
Member
 
pickled cabbage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: right here
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I got the XFX 5850 here, nice card so far, stable and good 3D performance..
Any news about bitstreaming with PDVD ?

best regards

Honk
pickled cabbage is offline  
post #549 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kobestonecold View Post

so can the 5xxx card can really connect to 3 monitors?

i have 1 26 lcd monitor connect by HDMI
1 40 LCD tv connect by HDMI
1 HTCP silverstone crown 3 touchscreen connect by DVI-VGA adaptor

will i be able to do that?

Yes, but, no. You get 1 hdmi, 1 display port, and 1 dvi which can be converted to hdmi.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #550 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kobestonecold View Post

i went to website and they show some guide.

Your ATI Radeon HD 5850/5870 graphics card provides multi-display functionality
through its various display connections. The graphics card can output to a
maximum of three displays using the following set of connections:

Two DVI-I Dual Link connections and one DisplayPort connection.
One DVI-I Dual Link connection, one HDMI connection, and one
DisplayPort connection.
One DVI-I Dual Link connection, one VGA connection (via a DVI-I Dual Link
connection and DVI-to-VGA adapter), and one DisplayPort connection.
One VGA connection (via a DVI-I Dual Link connection and DVI-to-VGA
adapter), one HDMI connection, and one DisplayPort connection.

question is do the displayport cable come with the package? like SAPPHIRE

Ah, yea, I guess you could convert the display port to HDMI. Mine didn't come with a converter like that, though. I have an XFX 5870.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #551 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pickled cabbage View Post

Hi,

I got the XFX 5850 here, nice card so far, stable and good 3D performance..
Any news about bitstreaming with PDVD ?

Last we heard it's still being tested internally and has not been released. No release date has been given.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #552 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

Last we heard it's still being tested internally and has not been released. No release date has been given.

Cyberlink doesn't have testers like @albain has.
Pity to Cyberlink

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #553 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

Cyberlink doesn't have testers like @albain has.
Pity to Cyberlink

Hey, they wanna toss a free copy of PDVD9 my way, I'd be more than happy to test bitstreaming for them on my extensive library of Blu-rays. I've preordered about 10 new discs in the next 3 months, as well, so, I'll have well over 60 BD's in my library soon. Actually probably more than that if I took the time to count them. So, Cyberlink, you wanna throw me a copy, I'll help you test it.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #554 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samuri,

I think James or Albain will release working ReClock or ffdshow (pass -through able) before Cyberlink.
When Cyberlink released her famous patch we will have been already watching HD audio with ffdshow or reclock even with our 4*** series cards

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #555 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
While I appreciate the enthusiasm and certainly what albain has already accomplished on ffdshow, there is a lot more to be done. Right now, when it is fixed, it will only bitstream TrueHD. DTS-HD MA still have to be tackled. That being said, it IS very promising. I'd still like to see bitstreaming in TMT3 with the 5xxx cards. I think Cyberlink will get it done in the next few weeks. It's just a matter of time.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #556 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fixing THD bitstreaming will open the gate; DTS-HD is based on MAT as well.
I bet one of them (albain or james) is gonna give us what we want before Arcsoft or Cyberlink.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #557 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would certainly have no complaints if that were to happen. If what we're told is true that the latest MPC-HC builds can open a BD disc structure and play even seamless branching titles with subtitles, then, um, yeaaaaa.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #558 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

If what we're told is true that the latest MPC-HC builds can open a BD disc structure and play even seamless branching titles with subtitles, then, um, yeaaaaa.

I gave it a go with Close Encounters BD, yes MPC-HC opens the BD structure and plays seamless branching BD. But subtitles? Dunno?
I have to do my homework
Anyway out of the thread, sorry.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #559 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

I gave it a go with Close Encounters BD, yes MPC-HC opens the BD structure and play seamless branching BD. But subtitles? Dunno?
I have to do my homework
Anyway out of the thread, sorry.

Andy_o says it can be done. I haven't played around with subs yet but he says it works. Given how far things have come, MPC-HC with bitstreaming will be a very viable solution IMO.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #560 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Subs are possible with the MPC-HC TS splitter and MPC's internal subtitle renderer, which means you would also need to be using EVR Custom or VMR9. If you use Haali I don't think it works.

EDIT: I just got Ratatouille to play with subs, full LPCM audio. The disc like most Disney discs has multiple m2ts. Get the latest SVN which is 1296.
Andy o is offline  
post #561 of 7498 Old 10-10-2009, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,939
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 314
renethx is offline  
post #562 of 7498 Old 10-11-2009, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
magnusr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can I choose which codec to use for True HD in media player classic? I have ffdshow_rev3097_20091009_dbt_beta13 installed. The only thing ive selected under ffdshows audio codec is pass through for the formats under output page.

I have ffdshow audio and video decoder added as external decoder in media player classic. I deselcted ac3 and dts under internal decoders in mp classic. But still it seems to use some other decoder for dts/ac3.

Receiver lights up digital when playing "TrueHD 7.1ch 96KHz.m2ts" clip from ealier in the thread.

Using windows 7 x64. 5870 > Pioneer sc-lx71 (05 elite) receiver.

AMP: Hegel H100, DAC: Arcam rDAC, Speakers: Tannoy Revolution Signature DC6T, TV: Panasonic TX-P65VT50, HTPC: ATI 280x, Windows 8.1 with blu-ray
magnusr is offline  
post #563 of 7498 Old 10-11-2009, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
B13 is going to try to bitstream TrueHD, but, it's not quite ready to do so yet. He's still working on that.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #564 of 7498 Old 10-11-2009, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tolstoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

While I appreciate the enthusiasm and certainly what albain has already accomplished on ffdshow, there is a lot more to be done. Right now, when it is fixed, it will only bitstream TrueHD. DTS-HD MA still have to be tackled. That being said, it IS very promising. I'd still like to see bitstreaming in TMT3 with the 5xxx cards. I think Cyberlink will get it done in the next few weeks. It's just a matter of time.

Since 70% of the title or buy these days are DTS-Ma, DTS -Ma is even more urgent than TrueHD.
Tolstoi is offline  
post #565 of 7498 Old 10-11-2009, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolstoi View Post

Since 70% of the title or buy these days are DTS-Ma, DTS -Ma is even more urgent than TrueHD.

Agreed. Baby steps. Let albain get TrueHD working first. DTS-HD MA is a bit more troublesome as it's not documented very well and may take some trial and error. TrueHD will at least prove the concept first and get all the foundation work out of the way, then he can concentrate on DTS-HD MA. He's making good progress.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #566 of 7498 Old 10-11-2009, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolstoi View Post

Since 70% of the title or buy these days are DTS-Ma, DTS -Ma is even more urgent than TrueHD.

Is it that much? I've not noticed that. In any case, TrueHD bitstreaming, to me, is not important in itself, since full decoding is already possible, but it might be an important step to get DTS MA working.
Andy o is offline  
post #567 of 7498 Old 10-11-2009, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

Is it that much? I've not noticed that. In any case, TrueHD bitstreaming, to me, is not important in itself, since full decoding is already possible, but it might be an important step to get DTS MA working.

It's dependent upon the studio. Fox almost exclusively uses DTS-HD MA. A LOT of other studios prefer it, as well. I'm not sure that 70% is accurate (wouldn't have a clue) but the number of titles with DTS-HD MA is significant. A large majority of mine have it.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #568 of 7498 Old 10-11-2009, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hmm DTS MA and HR are just about 36%, but then again that doesn't take into account popularity of the discs.



From blu-raystats.com (takes a while to load, it's a long list).

Also, I guess if you don't mind playing with PowerDVD 8 (Reports say 9 doesn't do 7.1 DTS MA) and TMT, you can take out from that "problem" list all 16-bit 48 kHz discs, which are a bit less than half according to that site too.
Andy o is offline  
post #569 of 7498 Old 10-11-2009, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A LOT of LPCM tracks are 48/16, as well. Nonetheless, yea, as a percentage of total number of discs, sure, 36%. However, I'm not buying every disc. It's used on a majority of discs I own, though.

As of right now, I have TMT2 131 installed side by side with TMT3 160. I've replaced the audio file in TMT2 to allow bit perfect LPCM. This gives me ReClock + bit perfect LPCM with my ATI card. No Xonar involved. Until TMT3 bitstreams (if ever) with my ATI card, this will be the solution I use on my main HTPC.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #570 of 7498 Old 10-11-2009, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, but there's no problem playing 24-bit LPCM anyway. The only "problem" right now that needs to be solved is playing DTS-MA 24-bit discs. 96 kHz discs too, but they're a negligible number really. I'm actually thinking of going simple now. Think I'm selling my electrostats and just put the DefTech 350's that I had before. I'm still getting buyers remorse after months with the M. Logans. The point is that maybe DTS core is already good enough for me. I'm toning down my whole audio philosophy.
Andy o is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off