Looking for thread on RAID software comparison - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 52 Old 10-24-2009, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am building a storage server and looking for software RAID solution with following features:

Ability to spin down drives when not needed
Expandable array with different size drives
Parity protection

I tried to install Unraid but I am a linux novice and I can't seem to get the LAN card working. I have also heard of flexRaid but some threads suggested that it wasn't really ready for primetime.

Maybe you knowledgeable guys out there can help me with list of possible solutions and pros/cons?

Thanks!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 52 Old 10-24-2009, 07:18 PM

look into unraid again; it shouldn't be any harder to setup than anything else.

did you verify compatibility of your lan card? did you check the lime-tech forums for help?

once setup unraid is exactly what you want...
post #3 of 52 Old 10-25-2009, 04:57 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11
The only options for what you want are unRAID, FlexRAID-View + FlexRAID, or WHS + FlexRAID.

FlexRAID-View (the part that combines drives in a virtual RAID) and FlexRAID (the part that gives you parity-based backup) are both free, but View is still very new and not quite finished. I tried for several days to get View running on my server, and even replaced some hardware that I suspected to be causing problems, but even with help from the developer it just did weird stuff. I decided I didn't want to trust several TB worth of data to unreliable software.