Using a VPN service to get Hulu, Netflix, etc. What do you think? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 49 Old 10-26-2009, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I ordered a Dell 540s to use as my first HTPC (newbie here...) but currently my location limits me from accessing online services such as Hulu, Netflix, Pandora, etc. I have my Netflix account but since I'm stationed overseas (Colombia) my IP address gives me away and Netflix won't give me access to instant movies. Same thing applies to the Hulu, Pandora, etc. sites.

I tried a free VPN service like Hotspot Shield but that lasted a day before Netflix blocked me again although Hulu works fine. I'm considering paying a simple VPN service like Hidemynet.com which is $5 a month.

I'd rather not have to pay for a VPN that hides my location but can you guys suggest anything else?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 49 Old 10-27-2009, 03:38 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

..anything.
post #3 of 49 Old 10-27-2009, 06:13 AM

Liked: 10
there is no other way than using a US VPN. I tried many many free VPN... all slow as hell... you really have to pay.
If someone know a quick and reliable VPN, I'm also interrested !
post #4 of 49 Old 10-27-2009, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Or atleast what VPN services can you or anyone recomend?

Hidemynet.com seems reliable for $5. They even responded within 5-10 minutes to a question y e-mailed them.
post #5 of 49 Old 10-27-2009, 05:33 PM

I am from Saudi Arabia and I used to access all those services with gotrusted.com Give it a go on trial bases. I dont know if they blocked it or not.. It is fast..
post #6 of 49 Old 11-20-2009, 08:42 AM

Hulu.com blocked HotSpotShield

And FreeVPN trigger my anti-virus program

Any good VPN out there !?

Live free or die.
post #7 of 49 Old 11-20-2009, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Update: