Need HDTV Tuner Compatible with Time Warner - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-04-2009, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
abar20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just built an htpc with windows 7 and an amd msi motherboard with hdmi out. I have time warner cable in los angeles. What can I do to start DVR on my pc.

My guess: -By a TV tuner
-install it in pci slot
- plug in my cable cord
-start recording with windows media center's record function?

If so, what the cheapest way to go about doing this?

PS: is there a way to get around the encrypted channels non clear qam format.. for instance the 'movie' channels?
abar20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-04-2009, 01:39 PM
Member
 
Ecidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You'll need to get an HD-PVR (http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hdpvr.html) and a cable box that outputs via component if you need something right now. Otherwise with a basic tuner you might as well ditch the cable and just put an antenna up on your roof to get OTA HD because you'll probably only be able to get the same local channels in clear-qam anyways.

The new Ceton cable card tuner in Q1 2010 could also work if you're willing to wait, but I have some doubts about it being able to record some channels.
Ecidious is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-04-2009, 03:51 PM
Newbie
 
Scott231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have several tuners to choose from. It depends on what type of signal you receive (include OTA captured via antenna or cable or dish) and how many tuners you want. Several nice dual tuners are listed on the infamous "page 85" tables.

The HD-PVR requires you to have a set top box and you do not need an internal tuner in your PC. Going this route allows you to capture many more channels (including premiums).

That being said, the cheapest route is a single tuner card ~$50. Dual tuners will double that. Capturing the premium movie channels requires monthly rental of a STB and an HD-PVR at ~$200.

HTH
Scott231 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-04-2009, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott231 View Post

the cheapest route is a single tuner card ~$50. Dual tuners will double that.

FYI,

If all you need is ATSC/QAM, the AverMedia dual tuner A188 is only around $60.
jrwalte is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-04-2009, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
setherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDhomerun FTW!!!

but if you want your encrypted stuff you need a HD-PVR until they release the update to allow OEM sales of ATI cable card tuners.

Take care,
Seth

AMD 5000+BE @2.6GHZ 2GB ram, 820GB storage
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G chipset
Nvidia DualTV, HDHomerun, MCE keyboard and remote. SageTV
setherd is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off