WARNING - Hauppauge Win 7 TV CD ROM - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
timdf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you've recently purchased a TV QAM tuner from Hauppauge and it came with a CD containing drivers and apps, do not throw it away thinking you can get the latest from their website.

I recently had a mega clear out of all sorts of old CD's including about a dozen Hauppauge CD's for the various Hauppauge HW I have owned or still use.

Hauppauge in their 'wisdom' now require you to have the original CD available if you wish to upgrade to latest apps.

So I was caught out !

If you don't have the CD they'll sell you a replacement :-(

Along with others I posted my distaste at this policy on their UK support forum - but my post was deleted as were other peoples - seems Hauppauge doesn't want to listen or comment to their customers who pay their wages.

This is a shame as I had recently been very impressed by their warranty service when one of my HVR-1600's started to fail.

Any suggestions as to alternate vendors who don't have such a retarded policy re drivers and apps ?

Sharp LC-45GD7U
plus a ton of other HTPC equipment :-)
timdf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mike_311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you should have taken the hint and gone right to media center and bypassed wintv altogether...

"If the world didn't suck, we'd all fly off."
mike_311 is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
timdf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Mike,

True.....

I've been running Win 7 MCE under Win 7 beta, then RC and now bought a copy and it works great - no need for any Win TV cr@p.

However the issue I have is with my other PC which runs XP for some legacy apps and from time to time I like to watch live TV on it using Win TV.

I must have spent well over $1000 with Hauppauge on a bunch of their cards including a HD-PVR which is hooked up to my HTPC - now only to find I can't up grade my XP box unless I buy a new CD.

Sharp LC-45GD7U
plus a ton of other HTPC equipment :-)
timdf is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 09:09 PM
Member
 
jjkusaf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Prattville, Al
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If you can find the WinTV v7 version 1.2a ... you can install that and then 1.2b.
Luckily I still had 1.2a when I installed Win 7 and wanted WinTV installed (to help me figure out why I wasn't getting QAM)
jjkusaf1 is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
timdf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yep - that's what I had to do - found a version available on the web then upgraded to 1.2b.

Going beyond 1.2b doesn't seem possible without an original disk.

Just seems odd as the SW is so tied to the HW why would they need to enforce this original disk nonsense ?

Maybe some to do with patents / licensing.

Sharp LC-45GD7U
plus a ton of other HTPC equipment :-)
timdf is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 09:56 PM
SHS
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjkusaf1 View Post

If you can find the WinTV v7 version 1.2a ... you can install that and then 1.2b.
Luckily I still had 1.2a when I installed Win 7 and wanted WinTV installed (to help me figure out why I wasn't getting QAM)

Do I an original disk NO
You can downlaod one older CD Kit I have on shspvr just look on the forum
Mainly this one
http://www.shspvr.com/ftp/download/h...W4_8_26351PPH/
Burn CD label as HCW4_8_26351PPH
Point the the new WinTV installer to the CD drive
SHS is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 10:02 PM
SHS
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdf View Post

If you've recently purchased a TV QAM tuner from Hauppauge and it came with a CD containing drivers and apps, do not throw it away thinking you can get the latest from their website.

I recently had a mega clear out of all sorts of old CD's including about a dozen Hauppauge CD's for the various Hauppauge HW I have owned or still use.

Hauppauge in their 'wisdom' now require you to have the original CD available if you wish to upgrade to latest apps.

So I was caught out !

If you don't have the CD they'll sell you a replacement :-(

Along with others I posted my distaste at this policy on their UK support forum - but my post was deleted as were other peoples - seems Hauppauge doesn't want to listen or comment to their customers who pay their wages.

This is a shame as I had recently been very impressed by their warranty service when one of my HVR-1600's started to fail.

Any suggestions as to alternate vendors who don't have such a retarded policy re drivers and apps ?

If have a Hauppauge CD just point it to the CD as long is fair new one with ver 6 on it just beware there are two CD type one MCE ver which has no apps
I all ready post this on shspvr forum.

I just look on UK forum I see lot people other ask about it you may want look a round they may move it in to one of other post
SHS is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 10:20 PM
SHS
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_311 View Post

you should have taken the hint and gone right to media center and bypassed wintv altogether...

Not really in min way WinTV is very useful
SHS is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 10:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post

Not really in min way WinTV is very useful

Not to mention that WinTV 7 is an entirely different animal from previous versions.
vladd is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 11-21-2009, 11:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
timdf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the tip / link- but there's a load of files there all about 34.8MB - would I need to download them all or just a certain one or two ?

Tim

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post

Do I an original disk NO
You can downlaod one older CD Kit I have on shspvr just look on the forum
Mainly this one
http://www.shspvr.com/ftp/download/h...W4_8_26351PPH/
Burn CD label as HCW4_8_26351PPH
Point the the new WinTV installer to the CD drive


Sharp LC-45GD7U
plus a ton of other HTPC equipment :-)
timdf is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 11-22-2009, 07:32 AM
SHS
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by timdf View Post

Thanks for the tip / link- but there's a load of files there all about 34.8MB - would I need to download them all or just a certain one or two ?

Tim

You need all 14 file it a full CD of ver 6
SHS is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 11-22-2009, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:


yep - that's what I had to do - found a version available on the web then upgraded to 1.2b.

thats exactly what i had to do. i threw away the disk since it was an older version anyway. great thinking on hauppauge's end if you ask me...
sitlet is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 11-22-2009, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
tima94930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_311 View Post

you should have taken the hint and gone right to media center and bypassed wintv altogether...

If all they're doing is making it more difficult to install WinTV, they're doing the people a favor.
tima94930 is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 10-10-2011, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
little.dread.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post

Do I an original disk NO
You can downlaod one older CD Kit I have on shspvr just look on the forum
Mainly this one
Code:
http://www.shspvr.com/ftp/download/hybrid_cd/HCW4_8_26351PPH/
Burn CD label as HCW4_8_26351PPH
Point the the new WinTV installer to the CD drive

OMG...you sir are an absolute life saver AND the links are still valid.


Thank you.


P.S. it seems that Hauppauge are still continuing this absurd policy until this very day
little.dread.1 is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 09-20-2012, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
philwire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by little.dread.1 View Post


OMG...you sir are an absolute life saver AND the links are still valid.



Thank you.



P.S. it seems that Hauppauge are still continuing this absurd policy until this very day

Still works to this day! Thanks!
philwire is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 03-21-2013, 11:40 PM
Newbie
 
yonnieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an FYI -- Hauppauge goofballs still sticking with this stupid policy. However thanks to the post above everything still works great. Download the RARs and EXE self extractor. Extract to a folder. Build an ISO file with the contents of the folder OR Burn a CD with the contents of the folder. Either way make sure the label is HCW4_8_26351PPH

Then insert or mount the disk to your drive and voila you can install WINTV 7 automatically!!!!!!


And to the user above who dissed the Hauppauge units. These are perfect for extraction of rare video from a household PVR. Or just clips of anything standard TV....

Spring 2013 everything works great and it still doesn't matter if you lost your silly Hauppauge CD...

THANKS SHS THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST 10$ I HAVE EVER SAVED!!!!!
yonnieb is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 03-22-2013, 03:34 AM
SHS
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Your welcome yonnieb
SHS is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 05-21-2013, 01:35 PM
Member
 
pressedmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
3 cheers to SHS! It appears that wintv is the only program that will allow me to recognize the s-video input on my hauppauge. I could not install Wintv because I was missing the disc, but you my friend have saved me time and money. Thanks very much!
pressedmeat is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 08-19-2013, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
Toni2012Berlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
'I used the HVR 1300 and now its on Ebay. But i couldnt find the old WINTV6 Software i needed to install WINTV 7 and use all features. Of course i can view TV via WIN MEDIA or other software but its not enough.

Perhaps somebody was in my rooms?!
Noboys home!?

12 US$ is the price.
Do you have a better solution for me?!

Answers to: toni@singles.ms
Toni2012Berlin is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 12-02-2016, 03:42 AM
Newbie
 
filter4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This link is dead. Can someone send me a new link? Not one of those "complete a survey" or "download a virus" please. Just tried one on my machine that runs on a RAM drive (like a reinstall every time it boots). I have an FTP to upload it to, drop box or onedrive works too. I'd sure appreciate it. Thanks!
filter4ever is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 12-02-2016, 05:10 AM
SHS
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by filter4ever View Post
This link is dead. Can someone send me a new link? Not one of those "complete a survey" or "download a virus" please. Just tried one on my machine that runs on a RAM drive (like a reinstall every time it boots). I have an FTP to upload it to, drop box or onedrive works too. I'd sure appreciate it. Thanks!
Sorry but I close down the web down some time ago.
SHS is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 12-02-2016, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
filter4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah well, I'll keep looking. $10 isn't a lot... it's the principal of it. Now a day, it's not enough to sell you a product, they have to try to screw you into paying for what you already have. This should be illegal. I mean, how would someone feel if they were sold a car, after a year they put sugar in their gas tank so they would buy a new one? How is this right?
filter4ever is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 12-03-2016, 07:12 AM
SHS
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by filter4ever View Post
Ah well, I'll keep looking. $10 isn't a lot... it's the principal of it. Now a day, it's not enough to sell you a product, they have to try to screw you into paying for what you already have. This should be illegal. I mean, how would someone feel if they were sold a car, after a year they put sugar in their gas tank so they would buy a new one? How is this right?
Give this a try just burn to CD which may still work with WinTV 7 upgrade it not for WinTV 8 upgrading
Attached Files
File Type: zip WinTV 7 Bypass Upgrade Check.zip (13.2 KB, 194 views)

Last edited by SHS; 12-07-2016 at 04:29 AM.
SHS is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 12-03-2016, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
ezio1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by filter4ever View Post
This link is dead. Can someone send me a new link? Not one of those "complete a survey" or "download a virus" please. Just tried one on my machine that runs on a RAM drive (like a reinstall every time it boots). I have an FTP to upload it to, drop box or onedrive works too. I'd sure appreciate it. Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Sorry but I close down the web down some time ago.
I still have the ISO (using the hauppauge on both linux and windows after so many years and i don't feel the need to buy a new one).
Here's a new mirror (remove white spaces):
Code:
http :// www . mediafire.com/file/4m289acmdmw199p/HCW4_8_26351PPH.ISO
ezio1984 is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 12-06-2016, 07:59 PM
Newbie
 
filter4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks!

Thanks for the ISO. I already bought a CD and code, but can use it for the next computer for sure. I finally decided it was worth $10, since Windows 10 doesn't come with Media Center, and there were features in WinTV 8 that I found most useful (like streaming), not just a viewer and the driver. Since I could get the driver for free, no hard feelings towards Hauppauge. Considering how much I paid for the card ($3.99) I'm quite content

If you need help getting into your TV service menu or anything, I'll return the favor. I built an IR receiver / decoder / transmitter out of an Arduino, an IR photo sensor and LED. Hooks up to the USB to a serial console, working on my remote program.

I like this card, Windows 10 doesn't bitch as much as with my TV Wonder 650 (Got a USB, a PCI, and a PCIe), but it's got hardware encoding which is nice. They stopped supporting it at Vista, and you gotta "Mickey-mouse" it to work with 10. Anyone have any ideas?
filter4ever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off