ISO files...? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you guys get TMT3 or powerdvd to play ISO files?...I have been using m2ts and ts files with no issues in TMT3 and now for laughs I wanted to try out ISO files so I ripped a movie using dvdfab and converted the .m2ts file to ISO...but I can't get it to play or be recognized in any program?
dogone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
virtual clonedrive
Derek K. is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
el_kano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogone View Post

How do you guys get TMT3 or powerdvd to play ISO files?...I have been using m2ts and ts files with no issues in TMT3 and now for laughs I wanted to try out ISO files so I ripped a movie using dvdfab and converted the .m2ts file to ISO...but I can't get it to play or be recognized in any program?

Virtual clone drive or Daemon tools. Are you trying to play this through Win MC or Mediaportal etc?
el_kano is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by el_kano View Post

Virtual clone drive or Daemon tools. Are you trying to play this through Win MC or Mediaportal etc?

Maybe eventually...for now, I just want to play the file period.
dogone is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

virtual clonedrive

+1. I use MediaBrowser + Virtual CloneDrive. I have Auto Play enable in the extenders + iso configuration page of MediaBrowser. I actually just got this working glitch-free yesterday. Had it semi-working on Friday (that's when I started playing with Media Browser) but I was getting a "Cannot Play Video" error before the video starts playing. Enabling Auto Play fixed that. TMT basically just recognizes the ISO as a regular Blu-ray disc after mounting with VCD.

mikinho also created a Mount Image WMC plug-in for people who use the default Movie Library in Windows Media Center.
ilovejedd is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovejedd View Post

+1. I use MediaBrowser + Virtual CloneDrive. I have Auto Play enable in the extenders + iso configuration page of MediaBrowser. I actually just got this working glitch-free yesterday. Had it semi-working on Friday (that's when I started playing with Media Browser) but I was getting a "Cannot Play Video" error before the video starts playing. Enabling Auto Play fixed that. TMT basically just recognizes the ISO as a regular Blu-ray disc after mounting with VCD.

mikinho also created a Mount Image WMC plug-in for people who use the default Movie Library in Windows Media Center.

awesome...just got it working...thanks fellas...
dogone is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
dpak2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogone View Post

How do you guys get TMT3 or powerdvd to play ISO files?...I have been using m2ts and ts files with no issues in TMT3 and now for laughs I wanted to try out ISO files so I ripped a movie using dvdfab and converted the .m2ts file to ISO...but I can't get it to play or be recognized in any program?

Why are you ripping to ISO this way? Its literally a one click process. Put the Blu Ray disc in, load up AnyDVD HD and click Rip to Image. That's it. You don't need to go m2ts first. Then you have to use Virtual Clone Drive on the ISO.
dpak2005 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpak2005 View Post

Why are you ripping to ISO this way? Its literally a one click process. Put the Blu Ray disc in, load up AnyDVD HD and click Rip to Image. That's it. You don't need to go m2ts first. Then you have to use Virtual Clone Drive on the ISO.

I'm going to assume DVDFab which he uses does not support ripping to ISO's.
ilovejedd is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 12:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogone View Post

How do you guys get TMT3 or powerdvd to play ISO files?...I have been using m2ts and ts files with no issues in TMT3 and now for laughs I wanted to try out ISO files so I ripped a movie using dvdfab and converted the .m2ts file to ISO...but I can't get it to play or be recognized in any program?

If m2ts files are working, why are you wasting your time with ISOs?

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
el_kano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpak2005 View Post

Why are you ripping to ISO this way? Its literally a one click process. Put the Blu Ray disc in, load up AnyDVD HD and click Rip to Image. That's it. You don't need to go m2ts first. Then you have to use Virtual Clone Drive on the ISO.

He may not have AnyDVD HD. Also, he may be trying to get rid of any extra soundtracks, commentary etc. I extract the best soundtrack and video only to save space..

Although I definitely hear you as the one click way is VERY convenient
el_kano is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I am using dvdfab.
dogone is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

If m2ts files are working, why are you wasting your time with ISOs?

because m2ts files won't work in WMC.
dogone is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpak2005 View Post

Why are you ripping to ISO this way? Its literally a one click process. Put the Blu Ray disc in, load up AnyDVD HD and click Rip to Image. That's it. You don't need to go m2ts first. Then you have to use Virtual Clone Drive on the ISO.

I don't want to pay for anydvdhd. dvdfab will rip to ISO.
dogone is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogone View Post

I don't want to pay for anydvdhd. dvdfab will rip to ISO.

All I can say to that is, you get what you pay for. AnyDVD should be a required app for any HTPC that is used for Blu-Ray playback, whether you're playing from a ripped folder, m2ts file, or iso image. Don't be such a cheapskate. You'll soon realize it's the best investment you will ever make for your HTPC.
captain_video is online now  
post #15 of 17 Old 11-22-2009, 09:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
lstepnio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampa, Florida USA
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

all i can say to that is, you get what you pay for.:d anydvd should be a required app for any htpc that is used for blu-ray playback, whether you're playing from a ripped folder, m2ts file, or iso image. Don't be such a cheapskate. You'll soon realize it's the best investment you will ever make for your htpc.

+1
lstepnio is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 11-23-2009, 05:33 AM
Member
 
homesy68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so if i rip all my m2ts blu-ray films to iso using imgburn they will play fine in wmc,as i want to try out media browser but like its been said m2ts films are hit and miss in wmc,
homesy68 is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 11-23-2009, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mnn1265's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lstepnio View Post

+1

+2!

A lifetime subscription to AnyDVD is probably the best single investment you can make for your HTPC. What makes it even better is that support is great.
mnn1265 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off